7/5 Tiger AMBG 44;+3=57;+5=73;+9=103;PMPS 269;+2=310

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121251

Hope everyone had an enjoyable and safe 4th! I like the family picnics and such, just getting to hate the fireworks as they have always traumatized my kitties. So I took Marje's advice, I had music playing all night, Tiger safely cuddled on her favorite quilts in a spare bedroom, but during pauses between songs, another bottle rocket would explode. :?

I hated to do it, but I skipped the AMPS shot. :oops: Tiger had a very low AMPS-I tested 3 times, plus her appetite is very off. Typically, she is on her hind legs trying to get at the food dish, not the case lately. She did not cough up a hairball this morning, as I think that affected her appetite yesterday morning. She doesn't look "sick", I'm just worried because it's not like her not to eat. I hope this isn't another symptom of kidney problems, anyone have any ideas? I also can't understand how she could wake up and still have her BG be so low? I wondered if it could be her hypothyroid, but I don't know much about feline hypo.

Sending healing and appetite vines to all who need them, and again, congrats to the OTJ kitties!
 
Re: 7/5 Tiger +10=71;AMPS=44;+1=65

You did the right thing. Even the most experienced of us won't shoot a number that's below 50. You could have re-tested after 15 - 20 min and if numbers were rising, it might have been OK to shoot. However, given that Tiger's numbers had dropped between PM +10 and your AMPS, you have to decide on whether you're comfortable shooting a dropping number. It can make for a very busy cycle.
 
Re: 7/5 Tiger +10=71;AMPS=44;+1=65

Morning Ruth ~O) ~O) ~O)

I agree with Sienne, you did the right thing by skipping the morning shot. Shooting a dropping number can be quite the adventure, and often difficult to manage the cycle that follows. If the appy is off too, then better safe than sorry. Hard to say why the BG was so low this morning. Sure would be nice if they could tell us, huh.

It is hard to day why the appy is off. Maybe just one of those days? Maybe the fireworks bothered her? I dunno. I hope things improve as the day moves along. Eat your fuds Tiger, they are good for you.

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 7/5 Tiger +10=71;AMPS=44;+1=65

I agree that 44 is too low to shoot. Tiger's +1/65 is high enough, however, if you can afford to be an hour late shooting tonight. You could also do a token/reduced dose, just giving something.

has her appy picked back up yet? If yes, you could give the full 3.25 dose if you're ok being late tonight. if her appy is iffy, perhaps just give 1 or 1.5u to help her stay in decent numbers. that still has you being an hour late in your schedule.

if you can't afford to be late tonight, her appy is iffy enough (usually as long as a cat eats at least 1/2 of normal, it's ok to shoot), you can continue with the skip for this morning. Know that if you do that, you can shoot early tonight, whenever you want.

punkin had low thyroid from his radiation treatment to kill the acromegaly tumor - it affects everything. thyroid is so important. Are you giving something to replace it? at the right dose yet?
 
Re: 7/5 Tiger +10=71;AMPS=44;+1=65

Wow, a 44 pre-shot number. I was shocked at a 69!! Did you get a response from the thyroid group? Is Tiger on hormones? I bet her appetite is off from that. I hope you get it figured out soon. This happens more often than realized I've come to learn. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/5 Tiger +10=71;AMPS=44;+1=65

Can't help with the kidney, hypoT questions. But sure can send lots of feel-better vines, eat-your-noms vines to Tiger. Hugs to her Bean.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 7/5 Tiger +10=71;AMPS=44;+1=65

Hey Ruth!!

I"m glad the music worked a little bit for her. Poor baby!! I'm sorry she doesn't have much of an appetite this morning. I doubt very seriously it has anything to do with her kidneys or hypoT. Her kidney values are really pretty good; she's just showing the very early precursors. Gus was hypoT and never had any appetite issues. I hope her appetite has resolved now.

Good job not shooting! I hope she has stayed flat. BTW, if we don't shoot, we put "AMBG" instead of AMPS. I was afraid you'd shot that 44 and was so glad you didn't :-D

Sending healing thoughts to all in your household.
 
Re: 7/5 Tiger +10=71;AMPG=44;+1=65;;3=57;+5=73;+6.75=92

Thanks for the replies ladies! I felt really bad for having to miss that shot, however, Tiger's appetite continues to be off. Her vet's office is closed today and tomorrow; she isn't bad enough to take her to the ER vet. She did eat a little at +3 and +5; I coaxed her to eat when I tested at +6.75. This isn't like her so I guess we just see how she is tonight.

Julie, given her "iffy appy"(is that a word?), I elected to skip the shot. I am really stressing about tonight as well, what happens if she she rejects food and her numbers drop? :? Up until today, I wasn't that afraid because she would eat. Currently, our vet is waiting to hear from the vet who performed the radio-iodine treatment(vacation) before starting any hypoT meds. Strangely, I just learned that my thyroid score is the same as Tiger's. I know sometimes my appetite is off, yet how I don't lose weight is beyond me! :roll:

Elise, I am waiting for my membership to be approved, it's been a few days, but thank you for that reminder. No thyroid meds, we are waiting to hear from the other vet on vacation. Is there a group for kidney disorders on Yahoo I wonder?

Thank you Marilyn, diabetes itself is a super scary disease, but the other problems take their toll as well.

Thanks Marje, I hope you're right; she ate a little bit later this morning. However, the last time Tiger stopped eating, she ended up in the hospital for 4 1/2 days in April, that's why I'm worried. And I fixed my mistake, sorry about that.
 
Re: 7/5 Tiger +10=71;AMPG=44;+1=65;;3=57;+5=73;+6.75=92

What a morning for you! :shock: :mrgreen: Looks like a reduction to me. I hope Tiger decides she's hungry again tonight. Have you ever had to syringe feed her?
 
Re: 7/5 Tiger +10=71;AMPG=44;+1=65;;3=57;+5=73;+6.75=92

I hope she is not brewing something else. I'd be sure and check her ketones.

Thanks for fixing the subject line. You are most awesome.

If one is hypothyroid, one tends to have a very difficult time losing weight. HyperT causes a lot of weight loss usually. My doctor was very befuddled that I was hypoT because I'm 5'5" and weighted 114 lbs.....not the typical hypoT patient but my BP was so low that I was getting dizzy when I stood up. If you are hypoT, you can eat like a bird and it's still difficult to keep weight under control without either working out all the time.....or taking the thyroid supplement. Or both ;-)
 
Well, Tiger's appetite has returned. I had to go out for awhile, but when we came home around 3, she wanted to eat. So I fed her late in the day, and now we have the big bounce. :roll:

Thanks Wendy, I have never syringe fed Tiger before; I think they did that while she was hospitalized in April. I sure hope it never comes down to that though :YMSIGH:

Marje, I check for ketones religiously; and it's always been negative. I also have low BP, and I get dizzy if I stand up too fast also, even before this blood test though. I guess I always thought I ate like a bird, but no telling what kind of a bird it was, an ostrich or a chickadee :lol: I am seeing my doctor next week - I bet Tiger and I will have the same pills won't we.
 
There are two groups for kidney. Tanya's is way too active. I get several daily journals a day and delete many without reading. While Max doesn't have kidney disease Tiffany did at an early age of not even 10 and my other cat did as well so I like to keep up on the latest trends. I do the same with lymphoma. The other group is a yahoo one and is well moderated so you won't be bombarded. Maureen, Erika, and Pat are very smart ladies. I highly recommend that group.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top