? 7/5 Rosie AMPS 305 +5 160; precautions for "fresh" insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol in Chicago

Member Since 2017
Litter box situation has improved. Slowing down on dose increases while we continue ABs and find the balance between diarrhea and constipation (finding the right combo of Miralax, Cisipride, Probiotic, Pumpkin).

This month, the insulin vial we have been using since Rose was diagnosed in January will have been in use for six months. The insulin is clear and has been handled carefully since I opened it in January. I have no reason to believe it is bad, but it is getting old. What precautions do you take when replacing "old" insulin with fresh? She is currently at 4.5U and due for an increase, but I'm nervous.

Previous.
 
What precautions do you take when replacing "old" insulin with fresh?

What we would recommend is that you don't increase the dose at the same time you start the new insulin.....so if you're thinking about increasing her dose and also starting with new insulin, I'd go ahead and stick with the current dose for a few days using the new insulin before deciding to increase
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top