7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +4 37 4.5 +49 +5 79 +5.5 80 +9.5 90

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56

Since Purrcee is at 56 I fed a little because he was hungry. Is there anything I need to worry about? More testing? I'm in/out today but can try to do more testing.

Thanks.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 Could use input??

Did you get a test after +4? If she drops below 50 she would earn another decrease.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 Could use input??

I would have tested again in 30 minutes from that +4 to see if Purrcee was going to surf, rise, or drop some more.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 Could use input??

Didn't know I should get a 4.5 after the 4. Is that the general protocol if he is in the 50's in the +4 range?
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 Could use input??

I would. Because if Purcee drops below 50 he gets a reduce! yay! Looks like he could be surfing green now.

My cat, I might test a reduction anyway to 0.75 assuming its likely he dropped below 50. Although its not by the book since you didnt catch it.

Wendy
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 Could use input??

I generally test a 1/2 hour later if my cat is in the 50's. I might also do that in the 60's if it's early in the cycle and she's diving fast. You do want to catch when they go below 50 and not let them stay there long.

Looks like Purrcee is doing really well on this dose. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 Could use input??

This is pretty confusing stuff when they are in green. Tonight PMPS I will probably totally need help. I have a feeling he probably dropped below 50 but no proof. I don't know how I can test hourly to see if it happens. What do other people do?

+2 +4 which is the best one if have to choose?
Then after? +7?

There seems to be no real protocol for some of these things and I think that's where I get confused. I don't want to screw up my cat especially when he is in the green and so close to below 50. I'm at a loss!
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 Could use input??

Mainly, it depends upon where in the cycle he is, and what the previous test number was, that determines when I test next. If my cat is diving down, then I test more often. If my cat is gently surfing along in relatively the same numbers, then I may only test every 30 minutes or every hour, as long as he is eating along the way.

You can always ask us for help, until you get used to it {inserts hugs smilie here}
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 Could use input??

Tonight, again depending upon his numbers, I would probably go with a +2 if I had to choose.
A +2 will generally let you know if the cycle is likely to be active, but ECID (Every Cat Is Different) and some have a later onset or nadir than others.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 Could use input??

An active insulin cycle is a normal downward U shape, instead of a bounce cycle. A very active cycle means going lower and more testing.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 +7.75 60 use input??

Sorry for all the questions and thanks very much for your patience. Is there anywhere I can find definitions that I can print out for active cycle, very active cycle, bounce? I couldn't find it in the protocols but I may have missed something. Lost one of my kitties today very unexpectedly. Went in for a dental and threw a clot which paralyzed his back end. No cure for that. Had an abnormal heart which we didn't know about. There is more to it but so upsetting and heartbreaking to lose one of my kids.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 +7.75 60 use input??

((((Julie))))

I'm so sorry. It is absolutely heartbreaking. I honestly don't know what to say. Your kitty will be with many of our who are at the Bridge. I hope that thought brings you some comfort. There are some very special kitties there who will keep your baby company.

Regarding definitions, there really isn't a vocabulary and I suspect we all differ. I consider a normal cycle what Wendy was describing as an active cycle. If you look in the New to the Group sticky, there's a timeline describing a "typical" Lantus cycle. This is a U-shaped curve. When I use the term "active cycle," I'm referring to a cycle where numbers are dropping and you may be busy testing. There's also the possibility of numbers dropping and a dose reduction is also possible. I would differentiate these from a "flat" cycle. If you look at Gabby's AM cycle from today, that's a flat, yellow cycle. Yesterday morning was a more typical Lantus cycle whereas the PM cycle on 6/25 was an (very) active cycle. On 6/9, the PM cycle was an (very) active cycle that was followed by a bounce.

As for the definition of a bounce, a bounce occurs for several reasons. Your kitty:
  • drops into very low numbers;
  • drops into lower numbers that s/he is used to spending time in;
  • there is a fast drop n numbers.
When this occurs, the cat's liver and pancreas go into a self-protective response to defend from what appears to be hypoglycemia. (Keep in mind that numbers do not have to be below normal range nor is it symptomatic hypoglycemia that's the trigger.) The liver and pancreas secrete a stored form of glucose (i.e., glucagon) along with counterregulatory hormones. These compounds cause BG numbers to spike upward into what we term a bounce.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 +7.75 60 use input??

Thank you Sienna for your kind words. I hope Stuart Little is with many friends both old and new. He was a big orange tabby with a few behavioral issues but after 8 years with me he was a good boy. I will miss him.

Thanks for all the info. It is very helpful and I will copy it and print for my binder so I can refer to it.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 +7.75 60 use input??

(((Julie))))

I am so very sorry about Stuart Little. How heartbreaking to have this happen. It's always so hard to lose them but to something like this...it's such a shock when an outwardly healthy cat crosses under anesthesia.

Fly free sweet Stuart.

Purrcee is doing fabulous!
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 +7.75 60 use input??

So sorry to hear you lost civie Stuart Little today. The unexpected can always happen and it is so devastating.



{{{{{Hugs}}}}} for you Julie.
 

Attachments

  • candle.jpg
    candle.jpg
    7 KB · Views: 2,198
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 +7.75 60 use input??

Thanks Deb and Marje. My heart is heavy for sure but everyone's kind words and thoughts are comforting. I'm lucky to have family and great friends to help me through the hard times. My sister Kathy and I are very close and she cried right along with me with the news of Stuart Little.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 +7.75 60 use input??

(((Julie))) So sorry to hear about your other kitty Stuart Little. I lost a kitty to the same thing a couple of years ago, also suddenly. It's such a shock. I'm glad your sister was with you.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 Help??

PMPS is 87 which starts to freak me out.
I think I should feed/shoot as usual but what next?? Test in 30 min. If lower than preshot?
I have plenty of strips, HC/etc.
AMPS 188 +4 56 +6.75 53 +7.75 60
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 Help??

If you are up to it, feed and shoot. Then test at +1 and +2. He went lower today so you know he's rising a bit.

Another option is to delay 20-30 minutes without feeding, then test again to see if he's rising more. That works if your schedule can accommodate a slightly later shot tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 Help??

Julie, I am so sorry to hear about Stuart Little. I know all of this FD stuff is sooooo overwhelming at first, and then to have to loose your baby too. My heart is breaking for you ♥ Just know that you are in the best place to make sure Purrcee gets the best care. This board is so awesome. They will hold your hand the whole way and never let you fall (Big Hug)
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 Help??

Yes, HC if under 50 is a great rule of thumb to follow. I and I'm sure others will be watching for your +1 and +2, Julie.

And very sorry to read about what you went through with Stuart Little today. It is never easy to lose a beloved furrie, espeically suddenly. My thoughts are with you.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 Help??

I'm around, Julie. Let's see what he does. If he goes below 50 early in the cycle, you might want to give a little bit of HC...tsp or so. If it's later, I'd try to bring him up with LC.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 Help??

Really thought he would be lower but glad not too low. I'll get a +2.
After the +2 if it's in the same range or higher, what number next?
Thanks!
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 Help??

The other time you shot a green preshot (PM on 6/30) it looks like you saw a lower number at +5. So I would say +4 would be good (this assumes his +2 isn't much lower). The higher +1, I am thinking, is his food kicking in and the insulin hasn't yet. Which is perfectly normal.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 Help??

I would....and if I was a good teacher like Carl, I'd ask the question back :lol:
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 Help??

+4 it is, then I want to sleep! Hopefully it will be okay.
I don't understand how people keep this pace up of constant testing especially if there is more than one pet in the house . I think that's why people go to just shooting am/pm a designated dose and hope for the best. I'm feeling this isn't something I can do day in day out. I know that sounds awful and I'm not sure how to handle it. You all are just wonderful but I look at some of the SS and you can't leave the house. And the cats are constantly being poked. I just don't know what to say or do any more. Sorry for the whine!
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 Help??

Julie,
If you look at the "typical lantus curve" this is "it".

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.

So, so far, so good :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37

Julie,
Did you retest the 37 to make sure it wasn't a "bad" test?

I can't stay up much longer, but do you know what to do?

Is he acting OK?
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37

I didn't recheck...didn't know I should! I will recheck in a few minutes and hopefully didnt mess him up.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37

There's no rule that says you have to recheck. It's just something I normally suggest on a low number. Just to make sure.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37

I am here, and I am not the best person at helping but I will try my best and I will be here to support you.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37

Hi Jamie,
You know the "routine" though. And that's what helps in these late nite adventures :-)
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49

4.5 +49...
just a little increase
more food or wait 30 min?
another insulin decrease?

Thanks for staying up!
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49

Another teaspoon of HC. You want to get him up to 60-70. And test again in 20 minutes?

Yes, this means another reduction. :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49

fed another tsp HC
If I get him to 60 or more what would be the next test?

Thanks!
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49

If it were me, I would get 2 rising tests above 50 before going to bed. Do you think you can do this?

You are doing great! :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49

OK, here's the plan...

If he's above 60 on the next test, feed one tsp of LC food. Then test again 30 minutes later.

If he comes up higher, then no food and test 30 minutes later. If the number isn't higher, then feed LC again.

It's called "lather, rinse, repeat"

If the number drops under 60, use HC instead of LC.

What you are after is two things.
Keeping his numbers from dropping back down.
And getting past "nadir" (usually +6)
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49

Jamie & Jupiter said:
If it were me, I would get 2 rising tests above 50 before going to bed. Do you think you can do this?

You are doing great! :-D

Jamie is right. You want to see two rising numbers. And you really want that 2nd rising number to happen without food pushing the number up if possible.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49

How long between rising tests...30 minutes?

Thanks Carl for the scenarios...helps a lot.

Not sure Purrcee will keep eating since I have already fed him twice.

Thanks Jamie.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49

And when you do go to bed, you can leave some food out in case he does need a boost. They seem to "know" when they are low, and will eat if food is available.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49

Yes, if you can test 30 minutes after the last time you fed, that would be perfect
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49

Some people say 20 minutes. But I usually go with 30, because I think it takes that long for the food to show up on the meter. Karo or honey will show up in 20 though.
 
Re: 7/5 Purrcee PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49 +5 79

PMPS 87 +1 127 +2 90 +4 37 4.5 +49 +5 79

feeding a little LC per the plan and will test in 30 minutes after that.
He didn't eat but a nibble.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top