7/5 Punk's pmps~139 & BW

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fleapunk

Member Since 2009
Ok then, her bloodwork came back perfect ....except.....(and I hate when I hear that) except that she's got a hyperthyroid. This explains her weight loss and need for less insulin. Tomorrow I go back tot he vetty bean to pick up pills, Punk loves pills....almost as much as she loves going to the vetty bean :evil:
I was also reading about the radioactive iodine treatment.....so much more to research now :roll:

Who's our resident hyperT person?

Other than that, she's fine. Especially now that she's eating like the ever-elusive, deep-sea Lucy Shark. :lol:


Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46822
 
Sorry to hear that about the Punklet & her hyperT, but treatments are much better than before--Wish I could help--sure you will find them here! Hugs from us!
 
Fleapunk said:
Who's our resident hyperT person?

Other than that, she's fine. Especially now that she's eating like the ever-elusive, deep-sea Lucy Shark. :lol:

I'm sorry to hear that the tests came back positive for hyperthyroid. I think that a few people here have experience with it.

I used Tapazole (Methimazole) for Bear Man. It can cause stomach upset, so it is recommended to start at a very low dose (2.5 mg once daily for 2 weeks) and work up slowly to a therapeutic dose to minimize the risk of GI side effects. If Punkelshark doesn't like pills, it can be compounded into a transdermal form which may cause fewer gastric side effects, but which may also take longer to start working. In either case, you have to recheck the b/w quite frequently in the beginning to ensure that there is no anemia and that the kidney values are staying reasonably stable (treating hyperthyroidism may cause the kidney values to appear to worsen). After rechecking, the dose can be adjusted until the T4 levels are in the desired range.

I think that Marjorie and Gracie's civie had some other adverse side effects from Tapazole. Many kitties do fine on it. I know that a few people have had the radioactive iodine treatment done, and have been very happy with it.

When you start the Tapazole, you will get a good idea if her kidneys will tolerate treatment for the hyper-T. If they do, then you can look into a more permanent treatment.

http://maxshouse.com/Hyperthyroidism_in_Cats.htm
 
oh punk. Please take your pill like a good girl.

I find that I can bribe Danger to be better about pilling if I give him some honey ham before and after.

I think he also likes to bite my fingers as I feed him ham as a punishment.

Please keep us updated!
 
pm+3~133

Whoaa, there's a drop, 6 whole points! I was gonna up her dose but now with starting the hyperT meds, I don't know if that's a good idea. Dr. Vetty Bean is actually happy I test her BGs at home, he mentioned that with diabetic kitties, numbers often drop with the medication.
I did get in touch with Choy-Foong and she actually referred me to you Linda! And as you might imagine, WCF had oodles of researchy stuff for me, she cracks me up. :lol: Oh it's gonna be a long night.

I do heart you guys so verra much.
 
Hey Jackie..I was surprised to see you posting. Sorry to hear about Punks hyper-T. Im sure you'll get it under control.
I dont post often, usually for a Sat oldtimer post. Spike is the same (good) which I like. I'll be watching for your updates.
 
Re: pm+3~133

Fleapunk said:
I did get in touch with Choy-Foong and she actually referred me to you Linda! And as you might imagine, WCF had oodles of researchy stuff for me, she cracks me up.

:lol: Did Choy-Foong send you Jojo's big paw theory?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?18,912965,913728,sv=1#msg-913728

The most important things to remember with Tapazole treatment are start low/go slow, and recheck b/w early and often to monitor for rare serious side effects. Watch that HyperPunk for itching or loss of appetite.
 
I don't have experience with hyper-T in cats, but I do have experience with it in ME. The big paw theory is PERFECT!!! Why didn't my doctor explain it to me that way, it would have made so much more sense.

Cassandra/Sasha used to swear by the radioactive iodine treatment. Not every cat can have it, and it's expensive, but it's not as scary as I used to think it sounded. My mom's cat had it recently and she is perfectly fine now. I'm on methimazole (generic tapazole) and it's fine too. My only problem was that apparently in people the protocol is to start on a high dose and make you go hypOthyroid, which is really pretty much the opposite of fun. Starting low sounds like a much better idea.
 
Sorry to hear about the hyper-T, but hoping you get it all under control, and Punk is back to normal real soon.
It's nice to see a condo from you. Hugs.
 
i haven't met you yet so wanted to say hi. sorry about the diagnosis, but glad there are people here with experience to help. that's pretty much amazing, isn't it!?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top