? 7/5 Post DKA Millie PMPS 288, +9 542, AMPS 576. Dosing input????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
Millie is post DKA with two hospitalizations. She also had an episode of moderate ketones which was resolved with help from the Board (thank you, thank you). I've been made aware of needing to increase her dose a bot sooner to avoid insulin resistance. Millie also bounces big tome. Millie's dose was increased (from 2.5 to 2.75) on 7/1. I was thinking of increasing again to 3 units. We are not around today so I will do it tomorrow (we are in and out tomorrow but I will test her each time). Just looking for feedback as to whether it is too soon and she may still be bouncing or if it's probably alright to do so?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...2-amps-491-upset-stomach.180090/#post-1993722
 
I think you can go up to three units, if you don't see green by tomorrow. However, you really do need to get a second test every cycle on TR, especially the night time. Even if Millie is really high at preshot time. We have seen cats go from black to green, earn a reduction, then back to red or black in the same cycle. And that is on a human meter where the numbers aren't as high as the AT.
 
One more thing, when do you feed Millie? It is possible she is bouncing so high because of fast drops. The night of the 1st she went down 120 points in two hours. You may want to try several small meals earlier in the cycle to try to slow her drops.
 
One more thing, when do you feed Millie? It is possible she is bouncing so high because of fast drops. The night of the 1st she went down 120 points in two hours. You may want to try several small meals earlier in the cycle to try to slow her drops.
I think you can go up to three units, if you don't see green by tomorrow. However, you really do need to get a second test every cycle on TR, especially the night time. Even if Millie is really high at preshot time. We have seen cats go from black to green, earn a reduction, then back to red or black in the same cycle. And that is on a human meter where the numbers aren't as high as the AT.
Nighttime is a bit difficult since my medication knocks me out. The last few nights when I forced myself awake (once at 2:ooam) I never went back to sleep and then didn't feel well the next day. It's a bit of a balancing act with her medical needs and my own. I am trying to do it though whenever I wake up on my own.
 
One more thing, when do you feed Millie? It is possible she is bouncing so high because of fast drops. The night of the 1st she went down 120 points in two hours. You may want to try several small meals earlier in the cycle to try to slow her drops.
Even a +2 test can help, if you are up that late. Or if you get up earlier, a +10. I am guessing you don't sleep for 11-12 hours.
Yes, this morning I got a +9. Last night I din't bother with the +2 because she was eating on and off the whole two hours after her shot, lol!
 
In spite of eating, the +2 can still tell you something. If they are down in spite of eating, it's a cycle that needs more monitoring.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top