7/5 Mary PMPS 314, +3.5 249, +8 94, + 9 99, +11 124

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Member Since 2012
Will continue with the 1u BID today.

Mary sends smoochies to everyone!

7/5 Mary AMPS 314,+4 299,+6 318,+8.5 321, PMPS 314,+3.5 249
 
Re: 7/5 Mary AMPS 314, +4 299, +6 318, +8.5 321, PMPS 314

Mary has been really good today. She perked up after the sub Q fluids yesterday and seemed to absorb them quickly so I spoke to the vet and we're increasing them to twice a day until her recheck. She is fine with BG testing, fluids and insulin shots but is an expert pill spitter so I'm going to try grinding them up and mixing them with her food. Luckily for me Mary never bears a grudge and I always feed her right after she gets all her meds so she has something nice to look forward to.

Mary sends smoochies to everyone!
 
Re: 7/5 Mary AMPS 314, +4 299, +6 318, +8.5 321, PMPS 314

Hi Lisa

I'm so glad Mary is better and is back home. Considering the DKA, I think it's important to stay on top of increasing the dose when the numbers are still high after six cycles. You can always ask us to take a peek at the SS but I wouldn't hold on to doses too long if they aren't getting her down into green.
 
Re: 7/5 Mary AMPS 314,+4 299,+6 318,+8.5 321, PMPS 314,+3.5

I'm with Marg, if you haven't seen some action within 3 days it's time to up the dose by 0.25U. So nice that Mary is a good patient for you, and she's a lovely smoocher :smile:
 
Re: 7/5 Mary PMPS 314, +3.5 249, +894, + 9 99

So I noticed something odd last night. Mary's blood glucose dropped into the greens last night and her AMPS this morning was 124. One thing that changed was that I'd mixed her antibiotics with her food and it must have had a funny/bitter taste as she only ate about 0.75 of a can vs her normal 1.5-2 cans. She's eating Fancy Feast classics that appear to be pretty low carb so I'm surprised it had that much effect (200 points in her BG). I know the info in the food charts is pretty old and I need to go back and take a closer look in case it is higher than I remember.
 
Re: 7/5 Mary PMPS 314, +3.5 249, +8 94, + 9 99

Mary is such a sweet kitty! Good luck with the dosecrease, but she is having good green figures now! :lol:
 
We also need to watch her food in take.
How is she eating today?
If she still isn't eating her full normal amount, or better, than ask, and we'll help you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top