7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63 +3/54 +4.5/47!!!!! +6.75/57

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99176&p=1059921#p1059921 (surgery explained/vet update)

I ended up deciding to shoot 0.5u this morning. Even with 3 skipped shots recently, and a reduced dose, he is still in great numbers. I didn’t want to shoot more, and then have to struggle all day to get him to eat to keep him above 50, so I felt like a small dose or a skip was the best option. I am thinking that maybe if his numbers stay in the greens all day, and don’t go too low, maybe I will continue with the .5u dose for now? Guess we will see how the day goes and decide a little later.



Jupiter is still acting weird. He has been hiding constantly. He usually only hides when he is scared, like when its raining and thundering – or when someone knocks at the door – or when someone he doesn’t know comes here. But he is just hiding all day long for no reason and that worries me. His appetite is off. He has even turned his head away from a few treats. He LOVES his treats and has never ever ever rejected a treat before.

So I called the vet to ask if there was anything I could do for him… is there any other antibiotics we could try? Is this the right dose for him? Etc… told them I tried giving him some forti flora and he wouldn’t eat it.

They said they would talk to the vet and call me back. They called me back and they said as long as he is eating something... even a little bit... then they want me to keep giving him the antibiotics. they said they really want him to get all of the antibiotics since he is having surgery on the 18th they want it to heal up some more and make sure no infections. they said they dont think changing the antibiotic will help, she said if this antibiotic is making him feel a little sick then they will all probably make him sick. she said keep giving it to him unless he completely stops eating or starts vomiting a lot

she said maybe he is just acting weird because of his diabetes. she asked me about the insulin and stuff and I just told her that his numbers have been really good recently and we have skipped a few shots and gave a reduced shot today. She said sometimes their blood sugar level can effect their appetite. I told her I REALLY dont think it has to do with the diabetes though

Ugh I really don’t like seeing my sweet baby boy like this. I just want him to feel all better!




I really want to say thank you to everyone who visited Jupes condo yesterday. Thank you for all the birthday wishes. Thank you for all of the thoughts and prayers for Jupe and his surgery. Thank you for all of the support and advice. Want to say a few special thank you's although you all deserve so many thank yous because you have all been so kind with your advice and support.


A special thank you to Marje for all of the kindness, advice, and support you have given to both Jupiter and I. Through this whole FD experience with Jupiter, you have been here for both Jupiter and I – and there is no way for me to express how much I appreciate that.

I also want to say a special thank you to Deb & Wink (Jupe’s FDMB Godmother). Deb, you have been so kind and supportive. Thank you for taking the time to always give me great advice and support, and thank you for being there and always watching out for my sweet baby boy Jupe. You are amazing!



Todays Numbers:
AMPS-78
Shot 0.5u @ 9:04am
+2-73
+4.5-74
+8-53
+8.5-57
+9.5-56
+10-62
+11.5-61
PMPS-63
Shot 0.5u @ 9:01pm
+1.5-56
+3-54
+4.5-47
+5-55
+5.5-69
+6.75-57

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-157
Shot 1.5u @ 9:00am
+2.25-112
+4.5-65
+5.5-65
+7-52 coaxed Jupe to eat some LC
+7.75-46 gave some 15% HC gravy
+8.25-53
+9.25-61
+10.5-59
+11-57
PMBG-48
SKIPPED SHOT
+0.5-50
+1.5-58
+2.5-64
+4.5-85
+6-77
+9-64
+11-82
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 response about antibiotics from vet

Looks like Jupe is surfing nicely in those greens today. Even on that reduced dose.

Let's see how he does for the rest of the AM cycle.
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 response about antibiotics from vet

Drat I meant to comment yesterday.

Happy Late Birthday!! *insert party cat here. The view more smilies window isn't loading the smilies. :( *

I'm hoping Jupiter feels better so he can eat more. And that the surgery goes well. Too bad its such a long wait until then.

He is giving you really nice numbers.
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 response about antibiotics from vet

This is one of those times that I would push back if Jupiter still is feeling crummy. Ask to speak to the vet, not a tech and not the receptionist. A different class of ABs will have a different side effect profile. Likewise, is there anything you can give to Jupiter to help him to feel better? Telling you to not worry unless he's vomiting a lot is (pardon me) BS. Protracted vomiting can be an emergency. Not eating for a couple of days can be an emergency. Why should it get to that level?

If you're talking to anyone except the vet, if you ask a question, they are only going to have to go and ask the vet and call you back. It's not efficient. You may have to wait until the end of the day for the vet to call but you can get your questions answered and have a discussion vs. playing whispering down the lane. You have no idea what the person speaking to the vet said or how accurately they expressed your concerns.
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 response about antibiotics from vet

Jupiter just ate and he even ate a little bit of food with some forti flora on top. He is out and about at the moment, not hiding. I think I will give it until tomorrow (when I called I asked if they are open tomorrow and they are there in the morning) and if hes doing better I will keep giving antibiotic and if he seems to be feeling any worse I will call them again and ask to have the vet call me. If he vomits even once though, will stop the antibiotic until I talk to the vet? and I agree I dont want it to get to that level.

thank you for your advice and suggestions i appreciate them so so much
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! response from vet-antibiotics

a 53!?!? wow! such amazing numbers again today. okay so I still do not understand how the lantus works like the depot and dose and all. So does this mean that the 2units was like WAY too high of a dose for him? or are these numbers still good from some depot?
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! response from vet-antibiotics

It may have been that you were propping Jupiter up so much with the HC food, that you missed some earned reductions. I'm not sure any of us realized exactly how much propping up you were doing with the high carb food.

Jupe may have been ready to come down the dosing scale and we did not realize it.

I would say for now, let's see how that 0.5U dose does. He may bounce higher this evening or overnight or even not until the morning. He may stay in these low numbers. If you look at Lucky (Linda - mtncat88) you can see how all of a sudden Lucky decided to come down the dosing scale. Sometimes, it just clicks and the reductions happen fast and furious.

Are you still propping his numbers up with HC food? I think at this point, when he is in the 50's you only want to be giving him some LC food to keep him surfing in the 50's. Only if Jupe drops into the 40's would I say to give a bit of MC food, maybe low 40's at that.

Depot may still be draining a bit. Jupe may need less insulin these days. Or a combination of the two.

Patience pants available in various assorted colors. Which color may I send you?
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! response from vet-antibiotics

I have not fed any HC today. I was only giving him HC food when he went 50 or below. I was only keeping his numbers up with LC before... like for a few days I was giving LC every hour or two so he wouldnt drop really low.

besides those nights that are marked on SS that I said I left out HC all night.... before that no HC.
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! +11.5/61 need dose advice plz

+11.5 was 61. Figured I would test and post so I could get opinions since shot time is in 25 mins from now. Would it be okay to shoot 0.5u again tonight? Any other suggestions? Any comments, advice, suggestions always greatly appreciated. Thanks!
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! +11.5/61 need dose advice plz

Hi Jamie,

Wow, look at those pretty green numbers today... no advice from me, but sending HUGS and support and vines. I'm sorry that Jupiter is acting weird and appy is off too. You know Jupiter best, and you know when something isn't right....

Have a good night,
Kathie
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! +11.5/61 need dose advice plz

He's surfing along nicely, and he didn't go too low today. I think it's your call. You can give 0.5 or skip. What does your gut say? Do you need to sleep tonight? Is he eating well and feeling better?
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! +11.5/61 need dose advice plz

I think I can shoot .5u ... I need sleep but am having a hard time sleeping anyways. I have just been so worried - I barely slept at all last night. I dont have that strong bad feeling telling me to skip or anything. His appy decreased a lot with these lower numbers recently. I noticed I think all the cats here are eating A LOT less. I think its because they are hot and miserable - its 87 degrees inside of the house. I think he will eat a little... I could try getting him to eat and as long as he eats I can shoot? I think the antibiotic is making him not feel well... but before this he was acting fine, so I would like to keep his numbers regulated.
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! +11.5/61 need dose advice plz

I think that's a good idea to see if he'll eat first.
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! +11.5/61 need dose advice plz

He did eat a little so I went ahead and gave him a shot of .5u..... going to give his antibiotic in 1 hr.
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! +11.5/61 need dose advice plz

Mainly wanted to make sure .5u was a good amount to shoot. I am glad I opted to shoot .5u this morning I think it ended up being a good amount for him today. Perfect numbers. Not too low and not too high. :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! +11.5/61 need dose advice plz

I agree with Dyana. I'd see if he will eat and if so, give him the 0.5u.

I also agree with Sienne. There are alot of a/bs out there and I would not settle for the response I got. First of all, it's not good for a cat to even have a substantial reduction in calories and second of all, he's diabetic and you need him to be able to eat.

I'll be around tonight if you need any help or company.

Feel better Jupe!!!!
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 +8/53! +11.5/61 need dose advice plz

Hi Jamie,
This awful, hot weather could certainly be affecting Jupiter's appetite. I have often noticed with Rusty, and Stu before him, that numbers go lower when they are not eating their usual amounts. Keep a close eye on him and keep trying to entice him to eat something. Will he eat baby food? (Beechnut stage 1 is only meat and broth and very tasty).

We are sending lots of vines to Jupiter tonight. I hope that you can get some answers from your vet.

Hang in there,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63

Oh darn I forgot to try to go to the store today to get a jar of baby food. Someone suggested that. Completely slipped my mind :sad:

going to see if Dane will take me to the store now to get it
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63

I posted in yesterday's condo by mistake so I don't know if you saw it. Sienne and marje are right on. When Tess was given Clavamox after a few days she would refuse to eat and then like clockwork one hour after the antibiotic she would throw up. Every time she would have a new UTI it would happen earlier in the treatment. Our vet changed her to Orbax and she didn't refuse her food and did not throw up. Many cats react to some antibiotics and not others.

If Jupiter won't eat food w/ the Fortiflora in it try the other probiotic that you have, it may not be flavored and put him off. Antibiotic can kill off the good bacteria in the gut just like the bad ones and Jupiter need the good bacteria in order to digest his food properly.
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63

I just bought some baby food. gonna try to give him a spoonful of that and if he likes it I will add in some forti flora... dont want to waste the forti flora so gonna see if he likes it first
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63

Okay I just gave him his antibiotic and gave him some chicken baby food the beechnut kind and he ate some
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63 +3/54

a little nervous about even taking a nap when hes below 60...... +3-54 and hes eating a little bit of LC right now! yay so glad hes eating :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63 +3/54

Hi Jaime - just a pop in to wish you the best. It's nice that Jupiter is eating. I used BF alot too when Mannie as on the AB's. He really liked the stuff. It's great that Jupiter does too. Surf well tonight little one.
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63 +3/54

Thanks Michelle.


Thank you to everyone for the visits today. The support you have all shown us is incredible. Thanks!!!
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63 +3/54 +4.5/47!!!!!

Good idea.

There is a chance this can still be the depot from the 1.5u but I think if you want to reduce in the morning to .25u, it's fine.

You can always go back up.
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63 +3/54 +4.5/47!!!!!

You can always go back up.

I agree wholeheartedly. Too little is far better than too much when you're dealing with nothing but green numbers.
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63 +3/54 +4.5/47!!!!!

okay i think i will shoot .25u in the morning unless his numbers are pretty high in the morning?

if hes below 60 should i still shoot or should i skip
 
Re: 7/5 Jupiter AMPS/78 PMPS/63 +3/54 +4.5/47!!!!!

I am scared that if hes 60 and i shoot what happens if i cant get him to eat since his appy is bad
 
Then skip Jamie. If he's too low for it to be comfortable and appetite is a concern, just skip the shot. Any green number is "normal" BG for a cat. Anything below 120 is for that matter.
I don't think he's going to skyrocket to yellow or pink numbers if you don't give insulin in the morning.
The next shot he gets, according to tonight's cycle, should be .25u. If he's over 120, give him his shot. If not, I would withhold insulin until he is over 120.
 
Well my plan was to withhold the insulin if he was 60 or under at shot time. I figured 60 was a better 'no shot' number then 50 especially because I usually dont pick up his food 2 hours prior to the morning shot so I didnt want the PS to be influenced by food- plus I was worried about shooting a 50 and then him not eating since his appy is really bad at times from antibiotics.

I tested him at +10, then coaxed him to eat a little, and my plan was to pick up the food after he was finished, but unfortunately I was watching tv and forgot, then fell asleep. My plan since I was up and able to test and pick up food was to let him eat then pick up the food, so at AMPS I would know if the number was food influenced or not - I would have felt much more comfortable shooting a 55 had I picked up the food and known that it was not food influenced. So since he was under 60 (and this number could have been food influenced) I went with my original plan to skip, worried that if I shot I may not be able to get him to eat during the day.

I hope I made the right decision by skipping. I feel really bad about not following the Tight regulation protocol and skipping a shot at 55(and skipping the other times I did and reducing the dose so much at once), when I am only supposed to skip under 50. I just really want Jupiter to be safe though and I worry about his appetite because of the antibiotics- although his appetite does seem a little better since last night
 
Jupiter's numbers are looking beautiful, Jamie. I'm so very sorry that you guys are going through such tough times right now. Please know that my thoughts and prayers are with both of you.

xoxo Caryl
 
I hope I made the right decision by skipping. I feel really bad about not following the Tight regulation protocol and skipping a shot at 55(and skipping the other times I did and reducing the dose so much at once), when I am only supposed to skip under 50. I just really want Jupiter to be safe though and I worry about his appetite because of the antibiotics- although his appetite does seem a little better since last night

It was the right choice, Jamie. And don't feel badly about anything. The protocol is a terrific resource. It makes the whole treatment routine "logical". But it is a set of "guidelines", not "rules". Our cats don't seem to care about guidelines, rules, or logic.

Your primary concern is obviously Jupiter's safety, and it should be. Right now, Jupe is in charge, and if that means you need to do things differently, then that's what you do. And I'm glad you were able to get a nap at least, even if it wasn't intentional ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top