7/5 Frank AMPS 414, Need to make DPS understand!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delma and Frank

Member Since 2009
Hi everyone! Happy 4th! ( a day late!)

I am planning a week vacation and of course, I am very nervous to leave Frank in the hands of the DPS.

I am in the process of adjusting his dosage. I think he will need to settle at 2U for a while...(his BG was 35 a couple days ago at 2.25U) Not only is he back to bouncing after lowering his dose, yesterday his BG was 49. I think his happy place is near 80-120ish and wonder if I'll be lowering again to try and keep him near that happy place...?

nailbite_smile This is on my mind, with a vacation coming up in 3 weeks. How should I dose him with no one being here to test during the day, DPS comes only 2x/day. I definitely will appreciate ANY thoughts or comments you have regarding this.
 
Re: 7/5 Frank AMPS 414, DPS Help!

Hi Delma

nice to see you and Frank. I was having a zombie moment trying to remember what DPS was and then I saw the big HELP - lol

Don't be scaring us k? :razz: You got lots of time to cover what you need to know and prepare for your trip and Frank's care.

Listen thou - your trip is coming up in 3 weeks? A lot can happen in 3 weeks.
By the way - I can't open your spreadsheet - check it out ok? Might just be me on this end.

But anyways, if you keep us posted, mark your SS with the VACATION under "comments" - and keep us up to date on Frank for the next 3 weeks, post as often as you can - the experienced eyes can review Frank's SS as the date approaches.

So where ya going for vacation? :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Frank AMPS 414, DPS Help!

I can't see your spreadsheet either. :sad:

Ronnie is right, as you get closer to your vacation we can help you figure out a safe dose for DPS. It's too soon right now, too much can change before then. It will be ok, though.
 
Re: 7/5 Frank AMPS 414, DPS Help!

Ronnie & Luna said:
So where ya going for vacation? :-D
nowhere fancy....just a trip to the nearby New Jersey shore. A change of scenery is always nice....looking forward to it.
 
Re: 7/5 Frank AMPS 414, DPS Help!

I agree that closer to the date will be better with respect to figuring out an actual dose.

I use a petsitter when I travel and she's here twice a day. What we do is lower Gabby's dose to a level that's safe enough for her to be left unattended all day.
 
I am guessing that I will need to lower his dose to go away comfortably. But I do understand that things change and I must wait to know what dose.
I just received an "ok, I can make make it that week" from the DPS. With Lantus, she has only come for one time visits, so I tell her she can shoot 1/2 hr before or after a specific time. Now I will need to ask her to have a more strict timing, since it is a week that I will be gone. I know if she shoots early it's like an increase but I don't really understand why....I'll need to explain to her so she really listens to me..How do I know she will shoot on such a tight schedule as I do.
 
I'll need to explain to her so she really listens to me..How do I know she will shoot on such a tight schedule as I do.


If you're paying her to do this, then she should comply completely with your instructions, written too.
 
Take a look at the sticky on the shed.

The reason for the early and late shots is that unlike other insulin, because Lantus is a depot drug (i.e., the "shed"), there is an overlap between doses. Most of the other types of insulin are not as long acting as Lantus or Lev. By the end of the 12 hour cycle, the shorter acting types of insulin are out of the system. This is not the case with Lantus. Instead, there's this storage shed that allows doses to overlap which keeps Lantus as a gentle insulin (i.e., no big spikes at the end of the cycle as the insulin is wearing off). So if you shoot early, there's more overlap between the dose you are shooting and what's in storage. The greater the overlap, the more the early shot is like a dose increase. If a shot is late, you're borrowing a little from the shed to make up the difference and as a result, it's like a decrease in dose.

Does that make sense?

And Ronnie is right. You are paying this person to be there when you want her to be there. Your DPS needs to know that coming 30 min. late in the morning and 30 min. early in the PM doesn't work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top