Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)
Member Since 2019
Yesterday 7/4: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-248-10-75-260-pmps-157-2-5-131-7-266.231926/
Well, Disco got up to his old tricks today (Sunday) and while he seemed like he was going to have a similar day as Saturday, he threw a surprise BG of 30 at me! He had a LC snack before I got on the river with him for a short 15 minute float in a quiet part of the river. He did great and seemed to enjoy the breeze and sniffing the air--photos to follow!
I tested him at +5 with a 210 result and maybe should have tested him again in 2 hours as I often do when I'm at home with him, but I got to visiting with my mom and deflating the kayak and loading up my car and so he went 3.5 hours between afternoon tests, and you could have knocked me over with a feather when he gave me a 30! I fed him 2 tsp HC and tested again in 15 min and he was 33, so the first reading wasn't a fluke! He gradually came up with steering with HC to 115 at his normal PMPS time and I'm about to head to bed and got a 244 at 2.5, but will check him again a couple of times during the night.
I gave him his usual 3.5 in the PM but then thought as he got a 30, I should have reduced it when I reread the sticky, "If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended" so I will reduce in the morning unless someone with experience advises otherwise, or maybe 'shave the dose' etc. We reduced on 6/29 when he got 'tricky' and we skipped his PM dose as advised and he'd had some nice greens and blues, but still his SS kinda looked like the rainbow! I would have thought maybe I held this dose too long until he threw that 30 at me. Any experience and advise appurrciated!
Today's Daily Disco photo is from our float today!
Well, Disco got up to his old tricks today (Sunday) and while he seemed like he was going to have a similar day as Saturday, he threw a surprise BG of 30 at me! He had a LC snack before I got on the river with him for a short 15 minute float in a quiet part of the river. He did great and seemed to enjoy the breeze and sniffing the air--photos to follow!
I tested him at +5 with a 210 result and maybe should have tested him again in 2 hours as I often do when I'm at home with him, but I got to visiting with my mom and deflating the kayak and loading up my car and so he went 3.5 hours between afternoon tests, and you could have knocked me over with a feather when he gave me a 30! I fed him 2 tsp HC and tested again in 15 min and he was 33, so the first reading wasn't a fluke! He gradually came up with steering with HC to 115 at his normal PMPS time and I'm about to head to bed and got a 244 at 2.5, but will check him again a couple of times during the night.
I gave him his usual 3.5 in the PM but then thought as he got a 30, I should have reduced it when I reread the sticky, "If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended" so I will reduce in the morning unless someone with experience advises otherwise, or maybe 'shave the dose' etc. We reduced on 6/29 when he got 'tricky' and we skipped his PM dose as advised and he'd had some nice greens and blues, but still his SS kinda looked like the rainbow! I would have thought maybe I held this dose too long until he threw that 30 at me. Any experience and advise appurrciated!
Today's Daily Disco photo is from our float today!
Attachments
Last edited:

