7/5 Checkers pmps 65+1/80 +2 112

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74369
Yesterday recap
amps 188 sk.5 lev
+2~219
+3~177
+4~137
+6~77
+8~73
+9~97
pmps~143
+2.5~77
+3~83
+4~62
+5~83
+6.5~55
+8~98
+11.5~106
Did not write food given, in journal....duh.....kept giving little gravy at tests.

Today:
amps 98...very sk.5....no line showing. Ate ff lc
+1/120
+1.5/78....gravy to go out
+2.5/88
+3.5/64 teas gravy
+4/57......half teas gravy


This morning certainly hasn't been boring. Cats woke me early again. They all feigned starvation. Checks ate a tiny bit at 11.5. I don't know how much it affected his amps.

I wanted to get some grocery necessities early, while still cool out. At that point, he was down to 78. Hmmm, can I drive the ten miles, shop, and be back before he drops some more? Gave some yummy gravy food, and took off.

Yay, got back in one hour, to a nice 88.

Last night, I was giving gravy every hour, to keep him up. I know it doesn't look like a big deal, but I was afraid to go to sleep.
Nobody was here to party with, when I was, so turned off 'puter, and tried to catnap between pokies..
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+1/120+1.5/78+2.5/88+3.5/64 +4/57

Wow what a great 24 hours for Checkers! Bummer that no one partied with you last night though. He is just humming along. Glad you got your errands done quickly and are back home. Have a great day Barb!
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+1/120+1.5/78+2.5/88+3.5/64 +4/57

Seems like Rosy is here to party with Checkers! :mrgreen: You're ready Barb?
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+1/120+1.5/78+2.5/88+3.5/64 +4/57+5/

amps 98...very sk.5....no line showing. Ate ff lc
+1/120
+1.5/78....gravy to go out
+2.5/88
+3.5/64 teas gravy
+4/57......half teas gravy
+5/43....fed about 2 teas gravy, and a little food

Gravy is slow to bring him up. I don't know how low he would go without my help, but I don't want to experiment to find out.
He doesn't feel well with low bg.
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+1/120+1.5/78+2.5/88+3.5/64 +4/57+5/

Hi guys .. these are beautiful numbers!! I just looked at Checkers SS again .. have you taken the time to look at it and enjoy all these beautiful blues and greens barb? I think Lev was definitely the right choice for checkers .. he is doing so awesome on it!
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+1/120+1.5/78+2.5/88+3.5/64 +4/57+5/

Devon, I do love the colors. I wish I could see a pattern. On lev, I still don't know a nadir, from an onset, and carryovers.
It all looks like a big scramble, unlike Lantus, which was easy to figure out.
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+1/120+1.5/78+2.5/88+3.5/64 +4/57+5/

wow, look at Checkers go!!! hope he starts getting used to the low numbers and feels beter soon! he sure seems on a mission!!!! hope you get to catch up on your sleep sometime soon!
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+1/120+1.5/78+2.5/88+3.5/64 +4/57+5/

Checkers, love your gravy? Surf on!
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+1/120+1.5/78+2.5/88+3.5/64 +4/57+5/

good boy, letting the bean go out to get fuds! Now on to bidness! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Barb, Checks SS really is looking great! When did you make the switch to Lev? I really do think it is great for the long timers!
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+2.5/88+3.5/64+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/

amps 98...very sk.5....no line showing. Ate ff lc
+1/120
+1.5/78....gravy to go out
+2.5/88
+3.5/64 teas gravy
+4/57......half teas gravy
+5/43....fed about 2 teas gravy, and a little food
5.5/53....no food...thought he was coming up
6.5/46....gave few drops Karo on tuna.....don't want another drop

Still wonder just how low he'd go without carb. The gravy at +5, didn't bring him up.
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+2.5/88+3.5/64+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/

I know it's hard to judge when we are feeding to keep numbers up. Technically Tess gets a reduction w/ 3 under 50 numbers, but in reality we do it when the follow each other rapidly and it becomes really hard to get her back up. You may need to start thinking about it! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+2.5/88+3.5/64+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/

Thank you for input Ann. The thought of reducing to .25 doesn't thrill me, 'cause I have a hard time being patient, when he doesn't respond to reduction as quickly as I think he should :roll:
I think it was Marje? that just said Gracie, takes a good 3 days to respond to a dose change. Sorry if it wasn't Marje. :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+2.5/88+3.5/64+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/

I think you are going to join the drop counting club! At this point shaves better for cats who don't hold reductions.
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+2.5/88+3.5/64+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/

:lol: Counting drops is what got me yelled at by new vet, last Sept. He waved his hands around and 'informed' me, that insulin is dosed in units, not micro-drops...DUH! :lol:
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+2.5/88+3.5/64+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/

Barb & Checkers said:
:lol: Counting drops is what got me yelled at by new vet, last Sept. He waved his hands around and 'informed' me, that insulin is dosed in units, not micro-drops...DUH! :lol:

They must have came from the same vet school! My vet was also asking why would I need those syringes! ( I cannot find half markings in drug store & asked him if he can source for me). It's simple to just inject from the pen! I felt like a stupid woman standing in front of him! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+3.5/64+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/46+8/67

amps 98...very sk.5....no line showing. Ate ff lc
+1/120
+1.5/78....gravy to go out
+2.5/88
+3.5/64 teas gravy
+4/57......half teas gravy
+5/43....fed about 2 teas gravy, and a little food
5.5/53....no food...thought he was coming up
6.5/46....gave few drops Karo on tuna.....don't want another drop in bg
+8/67

Still wonder just how low he'd go without carb. The gravy at +5, didn't bring him up.




Helen, 'they' want us to feel stupid. It makes them feel smarter. I've learned more on this board, than I ever did from my vets.

Someone please tell Checkers, it's frightening to the bean, for a kitty with low numbers, to start using new hidy holes. :roll:
The mind plays nasty tricks on the mama. Finally found him in utility room, in shelving unit, on pile of blankets, next to AC :lol:
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+3.5/64+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/46+8/67

Checkers, time to come up now, and get out of hiding. Your bean won't poke you so much if you come up just a little. 80's maybe would be good?

Poor Barb, you must be exhausted. Hope you have lots of ~O) ~O) Checkers is looking fantastic!
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+3.5/64+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/46+8/67

Oh, Barb, you must be so tired. Checkers will be fine, you are on top of it, so he eventualy will use up some of his insulin in his shed, so I'm sure he will not keep going too much longer, but thats just my uneducated opinion, and just because I know my Daphne, she eventually will come up and stay there after she gets to about +8 or +9. But thats just my Daphne, I don't know how it is with every kitty. Oh and you are on lev. too,right? So that may be different.

I do think its great that Checkers is showing some fabulous numbers today. :mrgreen:

Hang in there, … hope you can get some rest soon!
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+3.5/64+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/46+8/67

I know it's hard to tell when we are giving carbs all the time , but Checkers often nadirs around + 8 or 9. I hope so today, and you can get a little rest. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/46+8/67+9/41

I'm more nervous than tired. This is uncharacteristic of Checkers. He's got 3 hours to come down for shot.
I don't know how he stays at these numbers with all the gravy he's eaten today. Okay, it's only a teas or two at a time, but still, he is soooooo sensitive to kibble carbs, what is the difference?

I tried giving a little Karo on mc turkey dinner, this time, and he rejected it, so I had to open yet another can to get gravy.
I never ever had this much trouble getting him up. Well, I guess if I gave more gravy at a time, but don't want him to soar.

Sorry, I get yacky, when I'm nervous.
Why am I nervous? Cause I'm me :lol:
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers amps 98+4/57+5/43+5.5/53+6.5/46+8/67+9/41

and an earned reduction???? to what? isn't he on a teeny dose already???? methinks you'll soon be able to catch up on all the sleep you want!!!!!!!!!!!! (shhhhhhhhhhh!)
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers +8/67+9/41+10/72+11.dose help please

amps 98...very sk.5....no line showing. Ate ff lc
+1/120
+1.5/78....gravy to go out
+2.5/88
+3.5/64 teas gravy
+4/57......half teas gravy
+5/43....fed about 2 teas gravy, and a little food
5.5/53....no food...thought he was coming up
6.5/46....gave few drops Karo on tuna.....don't want another drop in bg
+8/67
+9/41
+10/72 ate little mc
+11/68....forgot to make note...don't remember


I'm not sure what to do about dose tonight. If he had been blue all day, I'd stall and see if he comes up.

He has been green all day. I've been carbing him all day, and he comes up in response, but goes right back down.
Now it's +11, and he's gone down yet again.

Do I dare shoot tonight, a reduced dose? Skip, and let shed drain a little?

I am emotionally and physically drained. Checkers wakes me early every day now. I moved his shot time up a half hour last week, so he doesn't have to wait so long for breakfast.

He is not a good eater, so trying to carb him all day, like today, is frustrating, and frankly I'm getting angry.
I'm trying to help him, and he fights me where it's most important.

I cannot take another night of testing every hour. I just can't do it.

Sorry to rant, but I don't know what to do for shot tonight.
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers +5/43+8/67+9/41+10/72+11/68 Dose Help Pleas

Barb...postinv from my phone so pls forgive errors.

Reduce his dose. If you are working this hard to keep him up, he needs a reduction. He would probably earn one shortly anyway. I can't see his spreadsheet but if he has not gone below 5050 three times then you can either shave or go ahead and try a full. 25u reduction snd see what he does. You can always go back up. Sometimes it helps to letthe shed drain.

I hope this helps.
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers +5/43+8/67+9/41+10/72+11/68 Dose Help Pleas

I agree with Marje. If you are having to work this hard to keep Checkers' numbers up, then shave the dose.
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers +5/43+8/67+9/41+10/72+11/68 Dose Help Pleas

Thank you Marje and Sienne. He was below 50, twice today. I will shave. He is already on sk .5, so reducing by .25, would be too much, I think.

Shot time......thanks. :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers +5/43+8/67+9/41+10/72+11/68 Dose Help Pleas

Appy issues drive me crazy too. :evil: Probably because my appy is always so good. :roll: Good luck with the reduction, paws crossed.
Liz
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers +5/43+8/67+9/41+10/72+11/68 Dose Help Pleas

Barb, so sorry you are so exhausted, I do know how you feel, especially when you are both tired and scared at the same time. I do think our kitties could just drive us over the edge somedays.

I'll send some good surf vines to Checkers and hope he will come up for you and stay there, so you can rest tonight!
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers pmps 65

Thanks Liz and Barb.
I feel bad about being angry due to sleep depriv. He is just doing the things that normally make me laugh. He's so darn cute and funny.
He is very thin already, and eating is so important in relation to insulin. It's frustrating.
I gave HC before injection and he licked the gravy. Sheesh!

He was already getting skinny .5, so the shave brings him down to what? Fat .25? Good grief, what do I call that on SS?
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers pmps 65

Congratulations on the reducie! I hope the shave will be a good fit for Checkers:) Hoping you get some good sleep tonight so you can re-charge your batteries. You deserve it, good job :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers pmps 65

I'd call it a f0.25u on the spreadsheet. We think that Zener has cramping and motility issues that decrease his appetite. We give him zantac, ondansetron and cerenia regularly. We give him cyprohexadine when he needs a little appy stimulant. This combo seems to be working for him now, paws crossed. Any idea why Checkers doesn't eat? We sure do know how challenging and frustrating that is.
Liz
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers pmps 65

Liz, Checkers has always been a bad eater of canned food. If he could have dry kibble, he'd be a round piggy. He was overweight at one time. He has no medical problem relating to food/eating, he's just a pain!!
 
Re: 7/5 Checkers pmps 65

I'll try and send Rupie over to keep him in the blues for you tonight so you can get some sleep! silly Checkers - you are just showing off now! maybe an evening of partying with Rupert will get his appetite going!
 
Checkers ate a little gravy food at shot time. Threw up an hour later. I gave 1/4 Pepcid AC in a little plain yogurt.
Daphne mentioned hairballs yesterday, when he had soft stools. I think I'll give some hairball goop tonight, just in case.

I need sleep, sorry I can't get to condos tonight. My brain is fuzzy.
 
WOW - What an exciting day you've had!! I know you're exhausted, but you've done great today!!! Congrats on the reduction!!!

Hope you have a restful night!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Congratulations Barb! Good luck with the reducie.
Take a rest before doing anything, our old brain is malfuntioning now :lol:
 
Wow, Checks has kept you so busy. I'm glad to see he's heading up just a bit, so hopefully you can get some much-needed rest. Don't go too high, Checks, but surf safely!!!

(I've got several civvie who refuse canned...needless to say, I'm keeping my fingers crossed that they don't become you-know-what.)
 
REDUCIE!!!!!!!WHHHOOOOO HOOOT!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
This is great Barb- we are so happy for you--Yes the drops are tough, but you can do it...just go down from the 0.5 line one drop--It's a pain, but we do this too..Moonie is on 0.4U...when I drop her for any reason it's 0.3U(3 drops) It just seems hard--I use a big Magnifying glass & reading glasses--Next I will have a seing-reading eye dog :lol: :lol: :lol:
Great Job & again we are so Happy for you & Checks!!! Hugs & Love from us--Ni Ni!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top