7/5 Ben AMPS 73

If Ben's numbers are below 100 for both cycles today, you can reduce his dose. Below is from the dosing methods sticky:

Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week
 
AM +5 is 62 PMPS is 70 shot 0.25U PM +5 is 59

I am planning on trying to give a reduction to 0.1U for the morning?

He's doing it! Today's treat was 1/2 piece Nitrate, Nitrite free BACON that is his favorite!
 

Attachments

  • bacon.jpg
    bacon.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 119
Last edited:
So far I think a mouth infection caused pancreas damage since he seems to be on the mend with numbers coming down so fast.
He is a lucky kitty MoM found his high glucose fast.
 
Last edited:
I've been practicing the 0.10U with water and syringe. I made 3 syringes of 0.10U Lantus.
I never had problems drawing syringes with the SEMGLEE glargine pens but I need to bleed the LANTUS pens quite often
I love using the B-D needle clipper instead of a bulky sharps container. The needle clipper fits in the drawer next to where I shoot Ben.
I bought one in the beginning. I am just ordering another 'cause the first one isn't working as well. But $7 won't hurt.
The spoiled best kitty ever has a food grinder, shipments of cases of food, a 31" saguaro cactus scratcher, and a 22" long sifting litter box coming tomorrow and Wednesday. I have been dealing with him going outside his box by the front door, and on the puppy pads lining the floor under his box. Come to find out he is too long for the 18" boxes, he has 2 of. His lil butt hangs over the end. I hope the longer box fixes this. No where while searching has anyone said "measure your kitty box may be too short".
 
Last edited:
What do you mean by this?
The Lantus pens get to a point suction won't allow the syringe to fill with insulin. I will "prime" the pen. I put on the
pen needle turn the dose knob to 2, tap, then push button. I will have to do this 3-4 times before I see
insulin at the tip of the needle. I am following instructions. They say repeat up to 4 times until insulin is
seen. SORRY, it is "prime" not "bleed" Bleed is a mechanic's term like bleed the brakes, bleeding air out
of brake line until brake fluid is seen. My daddy, my hero, was a mechanic and taught me to work on my
own cars. I couldn't do much these days with computers involved in everything.
 
I figured you meant prime but wanted to be sure :-)
That's strange, I've never had to do that with any of my Lantus or Levemir pens. They are supposed to work on negative pressure.
 
I thought so too. Was not sure what was happening at first. I soon figured it out.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top