? 7/5 AUSTRALIA BONNIE PMPS 5.4

Deborah Jordan

Member Since 2021
Bonnies figures have been dropping. I stopped testing too much as she was really stressed and hiding from me and running away from food to avoid the prick. Everytime I get to this number I freak out, give her high carbs and her number shoots up again.
Tonite I have given her 2.75 as I was supposed to do that a while back but the high carb food raised her BG for over 36hours.
I will monitor her hourly to check she is coping.
Tomorrow i will be out at medical appointments from 11am - 4.30pm and am worried about what to do. If its higher tomorrow should I go back to 3? I cannot miss these appointments as I risk infection in my new knee and wont be good to anyone if that happens.

WHAT SHOULD I DO?

Edit at +1 13.1
Interestingly on 28/6 her numbers were almost identical at this time. Unfortunately I didn't write down what I did!
 
Last edited:
Debbie, what dosing method are you following?
I am assuming you are following SLGS as you are not testing enough for TR.
If you are following SLGS you must reduce the dose if the BG drops under 5 (90)
Try and get at least one test in every cycle.
If you are unsure of the dosing methods, they are at the top of the Lantus page in one of the yellow stickies. When you decide, can you write the dosing method into the signature and the top of the SS please.
6 days ago you got 3.3 (59) which is too low on the alphatrak meter and you should have reduced the dose.
I would stay with the 2.75 U dose moving forward because of the 3.3BG even though it was several days ago.

Tomorrow you should have time to test a couple of times before you have to go out at 11 am. If you are concerned you need to post and ask advice. If the BG is not high enough for you to be comfortable, you can always leave out some higher carb food for Bonnie when you go out.
 
Last edited:
Thank you for that info. When I was supposed to lower her dose I couldn't bcoz in Australia we don't have the needles to measure that low. I am buying callipers as measuring it out with a ruler and glasses is too hard but financial necessity dictates everything atm.
I don't know how often I should test and which numbers are the best to get. She was seriously stressed by every 2 hours to the point that she hid under the table and would not come out to eat (I measure BG before her first bite and shoot as she eats) Her numbers were becoming erratic so I stopped every test except the PS.
I read in some of the literature that the best numbers are 2 hours before and after eating and insulin but I don't know if that's correct as for the last 2 years the only testing was a curve before the vet would prescribe the insulin and at the last curve I did for him he wanted her on 10U of Lantus and $1000 of tests measuring kidneys and all sorts of things bcoz she was drinking a litre of water a day (it's now that a week!!) That's why I came here as I couldn't afford that AND as he confessed she's only the 2nd cat he's treated long term for diabetes I decided owners knew more than the vets so came here!
That brings me back to what are the best readings to get in a day ? Every 2 hours isn't possible except on a weekend but I have some flexibility to be able to duck home to get a few more.
Thanks. Debbie& Bonnie
 
HI Debbie,

I read in some of the literature that the best numbers are 2 hours before and after eating and insulin but I don't know if that's correct )
That is not correct that the 2 hours before and after insulin are the best times to get a test done.

I don't know how often I should test and which numbers are the best to get. She was seriously stressed by every 2 hours to the point that she hid under the table and would not come out to eat (I measure BG before her first bite and shoot as she eats) Her numbers were becoming erratic so I stopped every test except the PS.
It is not necessary to get tests in every 2 hours, unless you are doing a curve.
If you can always get a preshot test every time and then another test sometime ( it can vary) between +4 and +7 each cycle. That will give us a good idea what is happening.
*** If/when you shoot a lower than normal preshot, than it is a good idea to get a +2 to see how the cycle is going.

When I was supposed to lower her dose I couldn't bcoz in Australia we don't have the needles to measure that low.
I could not get 1/2 unit syringes here in Australia and I used to give doses that were 1/4 unit difference. I just used a good light, a magnifying glass and estimated where the dose should be, by mentally dividing the 1 unit space into 4 to get the 1/4 unit.
It is important that you always reduce the dose when Bonnie earns a reduction. Other wise you risk her dropping too low.
 
Back
Top