7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288, +6 285, +9 311, pmps 276

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone ~O)

Yesterday’s thread: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74366&p=806177&e=806177

We are having about the same start as yesterday. I like the 200’s. Hoping we don’t end up as high as yesterday but I’m guessing we will.

Good day and good numbers to all, stay cool!
 
Re: 7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288

We haven't had a chance to stop by and say welcome to LL! Now Asher, let's go the other way and show your bean some blues today. Have a great day!!
 
Re: 7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288

It takes a few days for the depot to fill. Personally, I'd rather see Asher below renal threshold (below 220).

Also, could you update your SS when you have a chance?
 
Re: 7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288

Will update the spreadsheet now. I agree about getting Asher lower. It scares me that he has been so high for such a length of time.

I also just made us a profile blog. I will get a link on here in my signature once I figure out how to do that, but here is the link here for now:

http://asherthecat.wordpress.com

Edit: spreadsheet is current as of +3 this morning :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288

Yellow is pretty but blue is better Asher! Come down slowly!
 
Re: 7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288

I too haven't had a chance yet to welcome you to LL! A sunny yellow start for Asher - I hope maybe there will be some blues today - good luck Asher: you can do this! I can so understand the feelings regarding Asher being so high for so long. It was the same way with us.

Have a great day today!
 
Re: 7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288

donnahc said:
Will update the spreadsheet now. I agree about getting Asher lower. It scares me that he has been so high for such a length of time.

I also just made us a profile blog. I will get a link on here in my signature once I figure out how to do that, but here is the link here for now:

http://asherthecat.wordpress.com

Edit: spreadsheet is current as of +3 this morning :-D
Donna,
I think you just need the "" and "" code at the ends of the url. Just like in the link to the ss?
All the photos are amazing, but I like the shot of the boys as kittens best:-)

Carl
 
Re: 7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288, +6 285

Thanks Carl, I will try that. I can make pictures, but I am a pure idiot when it comes to html code/bb edit, etc. @-)
 
Re: 7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288, +6 285, +9 311

Stop! Breathe! and eat chocolate! ;-) Asher's shed is still filling, you will start to see the full effect of the dose in a few days. Love the pix, but my fave is still the "King of the Scratcher!" And Tess says that gray and white kitties are the coolest! :cool:
 
Re: 7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288, +6 285, +9 311

Thanks Ann, and Tess! We think the oreo kitties are da bomb too :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288, +6 285, +9 311

Hi Donna, Stopping by to check in on you guys. Asher is looking really good so far.

When we switched from PZI to Levemir (different insulin but similar concept) it was hard at first to adapt to the thought that a flat curve was actually a good thing. But it is, and as soon as the insulin overlap builds up and the "shed," for lack of a better word to describe it, forms, you'll be ready to make dose adjustments. And then the increases should gradually bring the entire curve down. To see this illustrated, take a look at Harley's SS. We started a lot lower dosage than you so we had a lot more ground to make up. It took from April of last year to June, but we finally got out of the pinks and yellows into the blues and yellows. Thanks to Harley's other health conditions we never got to the greens but that's not applicable to Asher.

Have faith, hang in there!
 
Re: 7/5 Asher amps 265, +3 288, +6 285, +9 311

Thanks Laura :-D Good things to hear!

We did ok on pmps tonight, 276. Tomorrow will be our 4th day on the new insulin. Fingers and pink kitty toes crossed for good things to come.
 
I love the photos of your boys!! Thanks for putting the Profile together.

What are the chances of your getting a PM spot check? If you can start getting a test before you go to bed each night, I'd give serious consideration to fast tracking Asher's dose and increasing. BUT..... you've got to get at least one PM test. With Lantus, it's not unusual to see lower doses at night. If you don't test, you don't know what's going on and you may miss a reduction. In addition, you're missing half of your data.
 
Sienne-

I did do 3,6 and 9 the night before, but last night I was pretty beat and it didn’t happen :sad:

+3pm is easy and I can usually get a +6 unless I have to get up early for work.

I see your point about going lower at night, and this has been a recent trend for Asher, at least on PZI. What pm numbers would be most helpful for you to see?...and I will try to get them.
 
To be honest, it's better if you don't test at the same time. The more you can vary when you test, the more you fill in the white spots on your SS. As far a PM tests go, a lot depends on your cat. It's still early to know what's up with Asher but let me use Gabby as an example. Being a testaholic, I know that Gabby has an early nadir and is prone to diving. I test early in the cycle since usually, all of the excitement is over by +4. If her numbers are running low, then I stay up.

For now, I'd suggest a +2 or a +3 and if that's before you go to sleep, get a test in before you go to bed. If the +2 or +3 are considerably lower than your pre-shot, you'll know it's an active cycle and you'll need to test that evening to make sure Asher is safe. Beyond that, it's up to you.
 
Sounds good Sienne. I’ll try to mix up the night tests a bit. Tonight we had a +3pm of 238 :-D
 
HEY, Donna and Asher!

I hope you're getting more comfortable with the insulin change and that Asher starts showing better numbers SOON! LOVE the pictures in the profile and finally got to see a picture of you!!!!!! :-D

Have a great evening -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Thanks Libby. Getting used to filling the syringe from the pens and shooting what seems like such a small amount of insulin (as compared to shooting PZI with the conversion chart).

We are doing well I think (touch wood). Anxious for better numbers but a little nervous to see what happens too. We’ll get there. Thanks for your support! :YMHUG:
 
If he doesn't come down tonight or give you a blue PS tomorrow, I'd increase his dose tomorrow morning as long as you can get some spot checks in both cycles.

Hers the link for how to do a profile and link it in your signature|. Let me know if you have questions.

profile.
 
Hi DOnna
Patience Danielson....
breathe and dont worry once Asher settles in he is going to do wonderful on Lantus
It just might take a little time to get there
Chin up!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top