7/4 Zoe amps 309 +7 277 pmps 278 Cautiously optomistic

Sybil and Zoe

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...g-a-new-bottle-of-lantus.216126/#post-2397723
LOL--I meant optimistic.:facepalm:
I don't want to jinx things, but it just seems like Zoe's numbers are a little lower overall with the last increase. Tonight she was due for another increase so I tried to go up .25 instead of .5 this evening(its tough to be sure on the syringe since its such a tiny amount). She was being uncharateristicly shy and I had to seek her out. She hid partially behind sofa in living room, which she has not done in a while. Maybe the slightly lower BG after running high for so long has her feeling a little off? She is@ 7u approaching the 8.5 u threshold I have read is the time to consider acro. But it seems when bumped to 7 she started showing a little promise that I might be approaching a good dose.Yellows started to appear...don't want to get my hopes too high though. :nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
I am glad you are starting to see a little progress. :) However, at this point, you should be always thinking of 0.5 unit increases, unless you are tweaking a dose that is already showing some green. Think of the increase as a percentage of the total dose. At one unit, a 0.25 unit increase is 25%, up at 5 units, it is just 5%. You want to keep at least 10-15% increases now, which means a larger increase once you hit 5 units, or by 1 unit if you should have to go over 10.

Zoe has some sort of insulin resistance happening, we suggest getting tests done for high dose conditions when you reach 6.0 units, not 8.5 units.

Kitties can feel off when they start to see lower numbers. In the beginning, Neko was happiest and played when she was low pink. :( I was so happy when that changed to low blue. But the first time she saw green, she hit under the bed.:rolleyes:
 
It must have been another article/website I was looking at about the acro that said 8.5 She more than likely got the 7.5 units because it is so hard to judge the inbetween area on the 1/2 unit syringes even with a magnifier. I was thinking the TR said .25 if nadirs are <300 and .5 if they remain>300. Granted she has not had many in the <300 at this point. Oh well I will just keep hoping she is going to show me some sign she does not have a tumor somewhere.
 
My vet told me I had to wait for 10 units to test for acromegaly, never got that high. In the 2015 research paper by the Royal Veterinary Clinic that described their study showing that 1 in every 4 diabetic cats has acromegaly, they found the average dose was seven units, some as low as one unit, and as high as 35 units. We have seen even higher here. More importantly, as long as the cat is eating low carb food, I have yet to see a cat here on over six units not test positive for one of the high dose conditions. And note that we have seen cats with acromegaly, insulin auto antibodies, and Cushings, the three “high dose” conditions, on more like three units.

There is no reason to wait for testing. With knowledge comes power, and possibly a different approach to dosing, to get Zoe into good numbers sooner.

TR does say 0.25 increases for nadirs under 300, but practical experience here is that doesn’t work when you are fighting insulin resistance and with higher doses.
 
Back
Top