7/4 Xena AMPS 310, +3 348, +7.5 268 / PMPS 263, +3.5 282

not much new other than what’s been going on, that being she was trending downward, seemed like we were possibly coming to her optimal dose, and now her numbers are back to where they were in week one. I know every cat is different, and things are not predictable as far as FD goes. It’s just a bummer. Maybe will get back on track who knows.

Yesterday’s post:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...eased-to-5-5-u-pmps-240-3-319-7-5-266.279155/

I feel your pain. Today we just went with the flow and cats had to eat in between fireworks. I have not even posted Allies numbers..way out of whack. Tomorrow is another day! Hang in there.
 
I feel your pain. Today we just went with the flow and cats had to eat in between fireworks. I have not even posted Allies numbers..way out of whack. Tomorrow is another day! Hang in there.
Everything’s a friggin mess. Her numbers are a mess. All of a sudden she doesn’t want me to test her. She’s been totally compliant for the longest time. No problems. Now her numbers are right back where we started and she’s all antsy. I’ll tell you when it rains it pours. I have so much stuff going on and it seems like everything is going wrong. The one small grace I HAD going for me is that this cat didn’t give me a problem testing at least. Getting up to test and feed her 1 AM, 4 AM leave gatherings skip parties… obviously I’m willing to do it. It’s just frustrating that I’m getting nowhere.
I think I’m going to have to cut down the amount of testing I do. At least until our numbers come down a little bit I feel like what’s the point of testing her that much. As long as I have an idea of where her numbers are at, and she’s not hypo.
Maybe she can sense the tension from the amount of stress I’m under
It also seems like the hungrier she is the less she wants to sit to get tested. For a while it was like she knew it was a routine I sit, I get tested, and then I’ll get food and now she’s just in such a hurry to get food she won’t hold still…. IDK
 
Take a deep breath....what we do for our sugar cats. First off give yourself a pat on the back and give yourself credit you are doing the best that you can (my mother's words to me). That is all you can do.
You sound so much like me. I just told a friend can't do something at 8pm because it's Allie's feeding time and shot time. If I have to leave the house I'm always worried is she going to go low and will I be home in time. (It is now 9pm and I am done until her next snack).
Right now I'm having the same issues with Allie. I always said Allie is like a star patient but lately she starts jerking and shaking (like she is afraid) of the poker. It doesn't help she has mostly black ears.
You are 100% right, they can sense your anxiety. I try to take a deep breath and any anxiety I have I try to push it aside. I pet her and tell her she is a good girl and just let her feel that it is going to be OK! Let's just do this thing.
She relaxes but as soon as I touch her ear lately with the lancet she acts like she is preparing to get stuck and it hurts..I feel so bad.
That is why there are gaps in my spreadsheet, I had to give her a break. If I know the cycle is fairly steady, I give her that break.
My other cat kind of looks like Xena, but Cassie is neurotic, truly. Ever since Allie's diagnosis Cassie's world got turned upside down. Cassie walked me to the pantry everyday for 11 years, every single day and that has stopped because Allie is now first, so much has changed in all of our woulds. My mom has lived with me for about 6 years and she is lucky if she gets to scratch Cassie back. Cassie is strictly a routine cat and here we are.
At the end of the day we do our best, you are doing right by Xena so don't be so hard on yourself. You can do it!

At the grocery store today I commented on all the canned cat food and I mentioned my cat was diabetic, the lady behind me asked if I gave her insulin and I said I sure do twice a day and I check her BS too. She had her son with her about he was about 7 years old ...she said my son is type one and I understand all that you have to do and that God Bless me for caring for my cat! I wished her and her son all the best.
 
Everything’s a friggin mess. Her numbers are a mess. All of a sudden she doesn’t want me to test her. She’s been totally compliant for the longest time. No problems. Now her numbers are right back where we started and she’s all antsy. I’ll tell you when it rains it pours. I have so much stuff going on and it seems like everything is going wrong. The one small grace I HAD going for me is that this cat didn’t give me a problem testing at least. Getting up to test and feed her 1 AM, 4 AM leave gatherings skip parties… obviously I’m willing to do it. It’s just frustrating that I’m getting nowhere.
I think I’m going to have to cut down the amount of testing I do. At least until our numbers come down a little bit I feel like what’s the point of testing her that much. As long as I have an idea of where her numbers are at, and she’s not hypo.
Maybe she can sense the tension from the amount of stress I’m under
It also seems like the hungrier she is the less she wants to sit to get tested. For a while it was like she knew it was a routine I sit, I get tested, and then I’ll get food and now she’s just in such a hurry to get food she won’t hold still…. IDK

Take a deep breath....what we do for our sugar cats. First off give yourself a pat on the back and give yourself credit you are doing the best that you can (my mother's words to me). That is all you can do.
You sound so much like me. I just told a friend can't do something at 8pm because it's Allie's feeding time and shot time. If I have to leave the house I'm always worried is she going to go low and will I be home in time. (It is now 9pm and I am done until her next snack).
Right now I'm having the same issues with Allie. I always said Allie is like a star patient but lately she starts jerking and shaking (like she is afraid) of the poker. It doesn't help she has mostly black ears.
You are 100% right, they can sense your anxiety. I try to take a deep breath and any anxiety I have I try to push it aside. I pet her and tell her she is a good girl and just let her feel that it is going to be OK! Let's just do this thing.
She relaxes but as soon as I touch her ear lately with the lancet she acts like she is preparing to get stuck and it hurts..I feel so bad.
That is why there are gaps in my spreadsheet, I had to give her a break. If I know the cycle is fairly steady, I give her that break.
My other cat kind of looks like Xena, but Cassie is neurotic, truly. Ever since Allie's diagnosis Cassie's world got turned upside down. Cassie walked me to the pantry everyday for 11 years, every single day and that has stopped because Allie is now first, so much has changed in all of our woulds. My mom has lived with me for about 6 years and she is lucky if she gets to scratch Cassie back. Cassie is strictly a routine cat and here we are.
At the end of the day we do our best, you are doing right by Xena so don't be so hard on yourself. You can do it!

At the grocery store today I commented on all the canned cat food and I mentioned my cat was diabetic, the lady behind me asked if I gave her insulin and I said I sure do twice a day and I check her BS too. She had her son with her about he was about 7 years old ...she said my son is type one and I understand all that you have to do and that God Bless me for caring for my cat! I wished her and her son all the best.
 
I agree with your strategy on testing. My motto was to test enough to keep Neko safe. Which meant learning her patterns so I could guess when she might be going lower and to know roughly where her nadirs were on a particular dose. You can always up the testing when she starts getting into blues and greens. Yes, she will get to greens, all cats do eventually. It's just waiting until you get to that dose that moves her.

One thing to keep in mind. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. It's not like you give a little bit more and the numbers get a bit better. Sometimes it's a lot of no action until you get close to that fitting dose. Frustrating for us - you bet!

Question for you, how is she reacting to the shots now? Some cats start to feel a still from Lantus' acid base when the dose gets high enough. Not all do, but some definitely do. Some people also note a personality change. Neko would often walk away in the middle of a shot. She purred through the Levemir shots. That's the other long acting insulin we suggest for people if their cats are getting a reaction to Lantus. Levemir acts a lot like Lantus, but the onset and nadirs tend to be roughly a couple hours later.
 
I agree with your strategy on testing. My motto was to test enough to keep Neko safe. Which meant learning her patterns so I could guess when she might be going lower and to know roughly where her nadirs were on a particular dose. You can always up the testing when she starts getting into blues and greens. Yes, she will get to greens, all cats do eventually. It's just waiting until you get to that dose that moves her.

One thing to keep in mind. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. It's not like you give a little bit more and the numbers get a bit better. Sometimes it's a lot of no action until you get close to that fitting dose. Frustrating for us - you bet!

Question for you, how is she reacting to the shots now? Some cats start to feel a still from Lantus' acid base when the dose gets high enough. Not all do, but some definitely do. Some people also note a personality change. Neko would often walk away in the middle of a shot. She purred through the Levemir shots. That's the other long acting insulin we suggest for people if their cats are getting a reaction to Lantus. Levemir acts a lot like Lantus, but the onset and nadirs tend to be roughly a couple hours later.


So… today has been a bit crazy and now I have another issue.
I was about to make a post when I saw your reply. I haven’t been on here yet today because I have not been around. My wife had to dose the cat this morning. So… as I’ve mentioned, she’s not been as cooperative with testing lately, therefore, there’s been more air pricking, and I’ve noticed some slight scabbing, so I put some coconut oil on her ears last night then again this morning, which seemed to be fine I took her blood sugar this morning like usual, but then I went to feed her, and she jumped on the couch because that’s part of her routine. I noticed her ears looked very pink, and when I went to touch her ear, she pulled her head away, and when I tried further, she swatted at me and hissed. … aside from her ears, being pink and her being defensive of them she’s acting normal, but from what I read diabetic cats can be prone to ear infections. Then I’m wondering if maybe I put too much coconut oil on her ears it’s “fractionated coconut oil“ so it’s more liquidy.
My wife wiped her ears off with water in case it was the oil, and we put Cortizone cream on. Not sure if that will help. Her ears feel red and hot. I don’t know if that’s because they’re irritated or if she’s getting a fever. Money is an issue so I can’t run to the vet for every little thing, but obviously if it continues it’s going to be an issue because how can I test her? She won’t let me touch her ears. I was planning on testing less but I wasn’t planning on skipping her pre-shot test. She was due for another .5 increase, but that’s gonna be put off for sure if I can’t test her I’m really hoping it was a reaction to the coconut oil and it will clear up, what do you think ? anyone else that might have some insight?
 
I agree with your strategy on testing. My motto was to test enough to keep Neko safe. Which meant learning her patterns so I could guess when she might be going lower and to know roughly where her nadirs were on a particular dose. You can always up the testing when she starts getting into blues and greens. Yes, she will get to greens, all cats do eventually. It's just waiting until you get to that dose that moves her.

One thing to keep in mind. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. It's not like you give a little bit more and the numbers get a bit better. Sometimes it's a lot of no action until you get close to that fitting dose. Frustrating for us - you bet!

Question for you, how is she reacting to the shots now? Some cats start to feel a still from Lantus' acid base when the dose gets high enough. Not all do, but some definitely do. Some people also note a personality change. Neko would often walk away in the middle of a shot. She purred through the Levemir shots. That's the other long acting insulin we suggest for people if their cats are getting a reaction to Lantus. Levemir acts a lot like Lantus, but the onset and nadirs tend to be roughly a couple hours later.

sorry… to answer your question. She’s fine with the shots. She hasn’t had any issues. At the testing that’s become an issue especially with this new development.
 
sorry… to answer your question. She’s fine with the shots. She hasn’t had any issues. At the testing that’s become an issue especially with this new development.
Hope her ears clear up, poor girl. Coconut is pretty begin but then you never know it is a nut product.

Allie has done that to me too, she swatted a few times after the poke and hissed once. She wasn't out to hurt me, it was more of an "I AM TICKED OFF" swat.
That is only one of the reasons I had to go back to SLGS.
 
Back
Top