7/4 Tigger AMPS in 2+ hrs +9/275 - Hold dose? (Day 4)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Happy 4th Everyone!

Today is Tigger's 4th Lantus day. I think he likes it!

I've been happy with his lantus start so far, pretty level, with some nice blues Day #2, then leveling off. Since I don't know whether he has a full deppot yet (altho his Day #2 AMPS was low for him), I'm inclined to hold the dose, even tho' his numbers are starting to rise a little after the Day #2 bounce.

What do you think?

With the good input I've been getting re. feeding times, I'm going to try feeding more at AMPS & PMPS, as was Tigger's habit before DX, & see if that makes any difference in the cycle.
Tigger's Day 1-2 Condo

Thanks & have a great day! ~O)
 
You're inclination to hold the dose is right on target.
[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581:36o6d5fk][b:36o6d5fk]Tight Regulation Protocol sticky[/b][/url] said:
"General" Guidelines:

  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

I noticed on your spreadsheet that you were wondering if there was residual Lantus at AMPS. Lantus duration is longer than either Glipizide or Prozinc. In fact, because there is an insulin depot (also a difference between the insulin you've used previously), there is overlap between doses. This is what contributes to the duration. A highly desirable Lantus "curve" is flat. This is why, at least in theory, you can shoot much lower numbers with Lantus.
 
Nice to see that Tigger is responding so well! :-D :-D There is a lot to take in when you are first starting. I hope you've been keeping cool up in the hills, it was hot even down here, but lovely now.

Didn't you say you had a cat w/ stomatitis? I'd like to talk to you about that again. The prednisolone helps but hasn't totally cleared it up and I'm not sure we want to use it long term.
 
Hi Ann, Good to hear from you!

I think Tigger likes the Lantus. He had a number of level curves with the Prozinc, so Lantus may be well geared for his system.

Yes, it was HOT here, but cooling off now - whew! Do you still have my phone #? If not, let me know & I'll PM you. Call anytime! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top