7/4 Templeton AMPS 430, +5 330, +5 304, PMPS 287

smorgasbord

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-3-templeton-amps-342-2-372-4-321.249396/



Happy 4th all!

Anyone doing fun activities today?

With Templeton's high 300's yesterday, I managed to be productive and not sit on the couch with him all day, even made it to Walmart for more Relion strips. Hopefully today gives us lower numbers.

Here's the little munchkin helping me work, boxes are always a cat's best friend.
upload_2021-7-4_11-20-38.jpeg
upload_2021-7-4_11-20-51.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-7-4_11-20-38.jpeg
    upload_2021-7-4_11-20-38.jpeg
    68.6 KB · Views: 112
  • upload_2021-7-4_11-20-51.jpeg
    upload_2021-7-4_11-20-51.jpeg
    45.5 KB · Views: 113
I'm glad you took time out for yourself when kitty in high numbers. That's a good thing to do. Time will come when you have to hang out closer.

Did you dose 1 unit this morning? The SS entry is blank for units. If so, this is the sixth cycle on this dose, the old larger depot should be gone, and this is clearly too little insulin. I'm not sure why you went all the way back to 1 unit. If you had been starting TR from the beginning (which you aren't) you could do a 0.5 units increase tonight as his nadirs are all above 300. Or you could just say the reduction has failed and go back closer to the previous dose, maybe 2.0 units? Which still might be too low.
 
I'm glad you took time out for yourself when kitty in high numbers. That's a good thing to do. Time will come when you have to hang out closer.

Did you dose 1 unit this morning? The SS entry is blank for units. If so, this is the sixth cycle on this dose, the old larger depot should be gone, and this is clearly too little insulin. I'm not sure why you went all the way back to 1 unit. If you had been starting TR from the beginning (which you aren't) you could do a 0.5 units increase tonight as his nadirs are all above 300. Or you could just say the reduction has failed and go back closer to the previous dose, maybe 2.0 units? Which still might be too low.
Yes, I did 1U this morning. I was advised by members here to go to 1 unit.
 
I'm not sure why you went all the way back to 1 unit.
Hi Wendy, Templeton was on high carb wet and dry prescription food till 4 days back and he was seeing greens on 3U (with high carb). Joey has since switched him completely to FF.
We were giving it 6 cycles on 1U to see how he does on it. Also time for the bounce to clear (this is cycle 6 of the bounce as well).

Do you think we should go up to 2U (considering the food change) or more like 1.25U or 1.5U?

@tiffmaxee
 
Alrighty, PMPS is in, 287.
Exactly 120 minutes after his last food. To summarize, today AMPS we had 430, +3 330, +5 304, PMPS 287.
 
Watch him tonight. If he clears the bounce, there may be additional downward momentum. Some cats also react to the dose increase in the first cycle.
 
Ok, just to be clear, define watch him?
LOL. Do a +2 and if he is lower, get another test later in the cycle. I will watch out for your +2.

Btw, are you guys night owls? 10:15 is pretty late in the night for shot time. Once he starts to see better numbers you may be up till +5/+6 testing him!
Most people shoot between 5 and 8 am/pm. But whatever works for you :-)
 
LOL. Do a +2 and if he is lower, get another test later in the cycle. I will watch out for your +2.

Btw, are you guys night owls? 10:15 is pretty late in the night for shot time. Once he starts to see better numbers you may be up till +5/+6 testing him!
Most people shoot between 5 and 8 am/pm. But whatever works for you :)
Ok, good. That's exactly what I was thinking was protocol. And then you scared me into thinking I might have to be up past nadir.

Night owls for sure. Trying to get on a better schedule. But if it has to happen that I need to stay up until +6, I'll do it. Worth it.
 
I think 1.5 was fine. I too wondered about shooting so late. I shot at 6 and sometimes was up,until 1 or 2 at f Max decided to drop under 50 m
Thanks. Yeah, you're totally right. Can end up being a long night and you want to be clearheaded.
 
Back
Top