7/4, Susie, 215 @+2, 168 @+3, 165@+4, 129 @+5, 84 @+6.5

Summer and Susie (GA)

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-3-susie-277-amps-188-4-7-224-6-5.249375/#post-2813874

Fireworks? Dog stress? My stress? Did she go too low? I don't think so based on her pm cycle test. A failed reduction. What the heck? A 338 at AMPS?:arghh::arghh:

I'm at a loss as to why Susie is doing so badly. I probably should have increased her this morning but was too tired and brain dead to adjust the calipers. A bad night with fireworks. It started out good with a nice drizzle of rain until I went to bed. The rain stopped and the fireworks started. Another night, probably worse, ahead.

Will certainly increase. If not tonight it will be in the morning tomorrow. Unless I get a stunning turn around.

Happy 4th to everyone who likes the holiday. :arghh::arghh::banghead::banghead::eek::eek:
 
Hopefully this the high before she breaks the bounce. She saw nadirs in the 50s just two days back. She is bouncing from that. I would not call it a failed reduction yet.
 
Elise says: @tiffmaxee
Lc does not last longer. When the bg starts to go down rapidly, lc can sometimes slow the drop. Once a cat is under 50, it’s time for mc or hc to bring her up to a safe number. She needs to be up for 2 hours ideally without food because once the carbs are gone the bg can drop again. If very late in the cycle, you know your cat well, or the bg has come up dramatically you might not need a full two hours. However the directions for TR tell you to make sure the cat is staying safe without food for two hours.

Bhooma says: @Bandit's Mom
For future reference - reductions earned because there was no food on board often fail, which is why we recommend feeding them through the cycle to avoid one - to the extent possible.

Aren't these two conflicting statements???????????????
 
I don't see the contradiction? :)
Okay, so once the cat has come up and numbers are safe then you need to check for two hours, without food, in order to be sure she won't drop again? But we should feed to stop the drop? Then when safe, after around two hours without food, we shouldn't have to worry? Okay. I get it.
 
Okay, so once the cat has come up and numbers are safe then you need to check for two hours, without food, in order to be sure she won't drop again? But we should feed to stop the drop? Then when safe, after around two hours without food, we shouldn't have to worry? Okay. I get it.
Yes, you try to keep the cat at a good dose by feeding it to prevent drops below 50 and earning a reduction that could be easily avoided with some food (occasional MC, HC is also fine). When cat drops low and you have fed it HC or MC to bring it up, you want to ensure that it stays up after the carbs from the food have worn off (2 hours after the meal).
 
Another question for you, Bhooma (@Bandit's Mom). She just dropped 123 points from AMPS to +2. I fed a tsp of l/c. With a drop that big should I have fed a tsp of m/c instead?
Not yet. She is still quite high. I would intervene with LC only for now.
Just because she dropped 123 points in the first 2 hours, it does not necesarily mean she will continue to drop at that pace. :-)
 
Okay. I thought I was done with the pinks. Guess not.
Hi Summer, you sound so terribly frustrated. I totally understand. Elise has always told me with TR not to give higher carbs unless she drops below 50. This was for Dolly but would imagine for any cat. Unless… you give some higher carb at +2 to avoid a deep drop. Susie is too high I believe to suspect she could drop to a lime. I hope you get it all figured out with the help from the people like Bhooma and Elise that have the knowledge. Good luck with Susie today. Remember what Marje told you “we can change the music but the dance is what the kitty’s body wants to do”. We only have so much control.
 
Hang in there today! I get frustrated with higher numbers after I’ve seen low ones. I’m following this thread bc there’s some great advice and answers to questions I’ve had for a while too.
Hugs to you both! :bighug:
 
Hi Summer, you sound so terribly frustrated. I totally understand. Elise has always told me with TR not to give higher carbs unless she drops below 50. This was for Dolly but would imagine for any cat. Unless… you give some higher carb at +2 to avoid a deep drop. Susie is too high I believe to suspect she could drop to a lime. I hope you get it all figured out with the help from the people like Bhooma and Elise that have the knowledge. Good luck with Susie today. Remember what Marje told you “we can change the music but the dance is what the kitty’s body wants to do”. We only have so much control.
Thank you, Adrienne. I usually don't feed the h/c unless she drops below 50. I will give m/c when she is in the 50s to hopefully stop her from dropping in the 40s and then requiring a reduction. I had asked Bhooma if I should feed something more than l/c when Susie dropped 123 points from AMPS to +2. She said "no" because she was still too high. It is hard to predict if a cat will continue to drop or will come back up after a steep drop. Susie is a little frustrating but it is not her fault. I just need to relax when I have those days of yellows and the occasional pink. :arghh:
 
Susie sure can't decide what to do with this dose!
I agree, Melissa. It was like when she was on 2.5 after the reduction from 2.75. I couldn't figure out what was going on and was debating the 2.5 fat dose. She finally decided and went lower. Does seem like we are going down the dosing ladder but not without a lot of questions along the way.
 
I only "worry" about steep drops when still some time to go before nadir, and in the low 100s dropping into greens.

Like this morning, Mr Kitty had a decent drop from +2 to +3; his nadir is anywhere between +4 to +6 usually, so I took a risk and went with MC to slow that down (granted 70 is my reduction point). Based on +4 I might have given too much, but he's got a lot going on right now. +5 will give me better idea
 
I'm so sorry to hear that, Pamela. I remember you saying yesterday that some guy that lives near you launches them all year??????? :eek: That is horrible. Are they legal in your state?
THank you Summer Not sure if they are legal or not:confused: But he/she do not care they set them off all the time:mad: Sorry you also had a rough night:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I only "worry" about steep drops when still some time to go before nadir, and in the low 100s dropping into greens.

Like this morning, Mr Kitty had a decent drop from +2 to +3; his nadir is anywhere between +4 to +6 usually, so I took a risk and went with MC to slow that down (granted 70 is my reduction point). Based on +4 I might have given too much, but he's got a lot going on right now. +5 will give me better idea
I totally understand. I don't think you overdid the food at +3. Especially since 70 is your reduction point and you had gotten a 71. This is always the problem when they go a little low. It is hard to predict if you need to intercede with l/c or m/c or no carb because you don't know if they will go up or down. At least you have an idea of when Mr. Kitty's nadir is. Susie's seems to be all over the place these days.
 
Thank you, Adrienne. I usually don't feed the h/c unless she drops below 50. I will give m/c when she is in the 50s to hopefully stop her from dropping in the 40s and then requiring a reduction. I had asked Bhooma if I should feed something more than l/c when Susie dropped 123 points from AMPS to +2. She said "no" because she was still too high. It is hard to predict if a cat will continue to drop or will come back up after a steep drop. Susie is a little frustrating but it is not her fault. I just need to relax when I have those days of yellows and the occasional pink. :arghh:
They are so unpredictable. I thought I had Dolly’s numbers down but then she throws a curveball. I would like to cut back on Dolly’s testing and will once I get passed her nadir, whatever that is on a given day o_O. I hope you can have a relaxing day and just go with Susie’s flow :cat:.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-3-susie-277-amps-188-4-7-224-6-5.249375/#post-2813874

Fireworks? Dog stress? My stress? Did she go too low? I don't think so based on her pm cycle test. A failed reduction. What the heck? A 338 at AMPS?:arghh::arghh:

I'm at a loss as to why Susie is doing so badly. I probably should have increased her this morning but was too tired and brain dead to adjust the calipers. A bad night with fireworks. It started out good with a nice drizzle of rain until I went to bed. The rain stopped and the fireworks started. Another night, probably worse, ahead.

Will certainly increase. If not tonight it will be in the morning tomorrow. Unless I get a stunning turn around.

Happy 4th to everyone who likes the holiday. :arghh::arghh::banghead::banghead::eek::eek:
Stupid fireworks. Can you play some music in the house this evening to try and block the sound out at least a little bit? Poor Susie.
 
Yes, you try to keep the cat at a good dose by feeding it to prevent drops below 50 and earning a reduction that could be easily avoided with some food (occasional MC, HC is also fine). When cat drops low and you have fed it HC or MC to bring it up, you want to ensure that it stays up after the carbs from the food have worn off (2 hours after the meal).
Ohhh. 2 hours after no food. Good information here, I totally didn't realize that. Thought it was 2 hours after getting a higher reading. Makes complete sense.
And just to make sure I understand the reasoning, feed a TSP of food so that they don't fill up and aren't hungry enough if you need to refeed?
 
They are so unpredictable. I thought I had Dolly’s numbers down but then she throws a curveball. I would like to cut back on Dolly’s testing and will once I get passed her nadir, whatever that is on a given day o_O. I hope you can have a relaxing day and just go with Susie’s flow :cat:.[/QUOTE
They are so unpredictable. I thought I had Dolly’s numbers down but then she throws a curveball. I would like to cut back on Dolly’s testing and will once I get passed her nadir, whatever that is on a given day o_O. I hope you can have a relaxing day and just go with Susie’s flow :cat:.
And I hope for you that you find some peace with your Dolly. I know how hard it is to be constantly checking. I think you need a little break. Do you have someone that you can trust her with so that you can get away for a couple of days? I really feel that you need just a short break. Are you able to do that? Do you have someone who can help you with that, Adrienne. Just a couple of days? I know how much you worry about her but I am worried about you.
 
Stupid fireworks. Can you play some music in the house this evening to try and block the sound out at least a little bit? Poor Susie.
You are so sweet to visit my site. It has been pouring here and yet the fireworks just started at 6:30 pm.
Ohhh. 2 hours after no food. Good information here, I totally didn't realize that. Thought it was 2 hours after getting a higher reading. Makes complete sense.
And just to make sure I understand the reasoning, feed a TSP of food so that they don't fill up and aren't hungry enough if you need to refeed?
I think it is more to "feed the curve", Joey. When your kitty goes low you will always want to raise the BG a little. A little low carb in the 60s. A little medium carb in the 50s and, certainly, high carbs if your boy ever drops below 50. It is more important to raise a lower BG than to keep them hungry but that is important too. We are talking about teaspoons not tablespoons of food but your kitty could be different. He may need more than a tsp. This is where it is so important to do the testing and tract the feeding . We don't want to overdo the food but it is always best to give more in the beginning when we are first learning about how our kitties will adjust to carbs. Safety is the most important aspect so, in the beginning, give more - not less- until you learn how you boy reacts to the carbs.
 
I'm glad to see Susie is back to blues and a few greens.
I hear ya about the fireworks , some idiots are shooting a few off already!
I can't wait until tonight is over with, then you still have people doing them on Monday night ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You are so sweet to visit my site. It has been pouring here and yet the fireworks just started at 6:30 pm.

I think it is more to "feed the curve", Joey. When your kitty goes low you will always want to raise the BG a little. A little low carb in the 60s. A little medium carb in the 50s and, certainly, high carbs if your boy ever drops below 50. It is more important to raise a lower BG than to keep them hungry but that is important too. We are talking about teaspoons not tablespoons of food but your kitty could be different. He may need more than a tsp. This is where it is so important to do the testing and tract the feeding . We don't want to overdo the food but it is always best to give more in the beginning when we are first learning about how our kitties will adjust to carbs. Safety is the most important aspect so, in the beginning, give more - not less- until you learn how you boy reacts to the carbs.
Thanks for the detailed explanation. Still don't really know how the carbs effect him, but so far at least I have managed a nice flat curve with food when he got below 100!

Well at least nothing will catch on fire, so there's that. sigh. Hopefully it's over soon.
 
Back
Top