7/4 Skooter AMPS 109 +3 95 +4.5 109 PMPS 137 +2.25 83 +3.75 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Skooter's one day trial condo (07/03)


07/03 RECAP - No Insulin:

AMBG - 98
PMPG - 120
+3 - 100

Trust me, I know how irrational I am being that I am so upset he is back on the 0.10 and I really do know it is for the best. I also get that his numbers are fantastic and I shouldn't be upset nor complain.

So I am not going to complain, but I am going to be upset, disappointed and frustrated. At least for now. Just very difficult to be so close, yet so far.

 
Molly, it's understandable that you're upset. We all wish our kitties could be OTJ. Hopefully Skooter just needs to be on the juice for a little longer. :bighug::bighug:
 
I don't think there's a single one of us that wouldn't feel like you do right now. The great news that I see is while off insulin the numbers were still mostly normal so I'm hoping it's just a matter of time and not too much of it. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
He'll get there, Molly. Yes, he will. But I so understand the disappointment, the frustration. So darned close and then the oh-boy excitement when you returned. But it's not defeat, just a delay.

Here's hoping that magic day is soooooon.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thank you to everyone for indulging in my frustration. His PMPS didn't really help either. I know it is irrational, but it is hard that he did so well at someone else's house with someone else taking care of him. It is really hard not to get the whole feeling like a failure out of my head. I also know that his numbers are in no way, shape or form bad. I really do get that, I promise.

I am also trying to keep in mind 0.10 is not a failure and even if he is on this dose for the rest of his life, I do know well enough that I can skip a shot and he will do great, now if only I could get out of my head the feeling selfish for doing that lol. There was just a little less stress knowing when I left him for a period of time when he wasn't getting insulin that he would be ok. Even on the 0.10, I know dropping too low is always a possibility, which leaves me a bit more uneasy.

My question now is:

Since his depot has probably been drained (he was without insulin for seven days), do I consider this like an initial dosing:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

or do I just hold this dose for 3 days and see what happens from there?

I am not necessarily anticipating having to do an increase, then again, I thought I would be doing a trial right now, so :P

Again, you guys are awesome for the amazing support even though you are all probably wondering why I am reacting this way lolol....I just need to remind myself his numbers are good, he did well on no insulin for a week and he doesn't really have THAT much insulin....

I was going to go out to grab a bit to eat, but the idiots in my neighborhood have already started the fireworks, even though it is still light out :rolleyes::mad: He jumps a little each time, so I really don't want to leave him....

On a side note, it was this weekend a year ago where the food shift from all dry to some wet began.....when I think about where we were then and where we are today, it does help put it all in perspective....he was on FIVE UNITS twice a day this time last year......but I am still gonna be a little bummed that we can't do a trial yet :P
 
Yes, you're back to the 5-7 day "loading the depot" phase

And since your sister did NOT test while Skooter was there all week, you DO NOT KNOW he was in normal numbers that whole time!

Hahahaha on that +2.25....He's BACK!! That's the Skooter we all know and love!!

Considering where he was a year ago, the IBD and all, he's really had an amazing year!
 
oh yeah on the not being tested that week.... forgot about that....
a distinct possibility that is the reason for the minor set back....

I think he'll get there.... remember he's leading ....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top