7/4 Sampson AMPS 398 +4 403. Fur shot. PMPS 401 nadir ar +4 of 91 Have Qs about feeding on the curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn

Member Since 2015
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...e-advice-protocol-advice.140424/#post-1448658

Yay a fur shot. That foiled my plans for having him bounce at night instead of during the day. -_- I have some questions about feeding during the cycle. Sam eats balanced raw and his nadir seems to be about +5. I know the only way to figure out when/what to feed is by experimenting but I only have 4 cycles left until I leave for work for 12 hours. I will have off Wednesday so I can do more experimentation then but then I am gone Thursday and Friday for a 12 hour work day.
I do know that 4 teaspoons of Fancy feast gravy pulled him up from 42 at +5 and if I had fed it all at +4 he may not have gone so low. Would it be reasonable to have this as my plan b if I cant find a good feeding schedule before I go back to work? For plan A, to find a good feeding plan, how should I test it out? I assume I will just try feeding at different times with different amounts? How long after that cycle do I need to wait to try something else. So if tonight I fed him 1oz raw at the shot then 1oz two hours later (normally he gets 4oz a day) and he still went low and I had to supplement with hc or of food how long does that effect last?
 
it's an each cat is different thing. And each food will have a different effect so you have lots of trial and error to try. Take notes as you go because you can forget pretty fast especially as you have to run off to work.

the variable that they are dropping adds some confusion to the mix.....
some kitties get bumped up with the food for a few hours and some can drop back down in an hour ( or less)
I would put out the medium carb an our before leaving, and then leave some out right as I was leaving if numbers were low enough that I wanted to boost him for a while.....

I don't know if I said that clearly...... ( i just woke up)
 
Problem is, his feed/test/shoot is just before I walk out the door normally. When I have a timed feeder I can do that but until then I will have to have my brother doesn't it. How long can it take for the carbs to clear their system?
 
Another option is to make "catsickles". Mix Sampson's food with enough water so it's soupy and then freeze it. I've used ice cube trays to freeze the food. You can then leave them out. Unless Sampson is like Gabby who seems to like licking frozen cat food, it will be cold for a couple of hours. You can also put them in the feeder when you get one.

How quickly carbs clear your cat's system depends on your cat and where in the cycle you're feeding. Later in the cycle, there's less insulin available to help clear out the carbs.
 
Sam would chew it frozen, I'm sure. If I set the foxy capsule in front of him, he will just eat it. Lol never seen anything like it!

Had a pretty good curve tonight, nadir at +4 was 91. Plan on getting a +11 and+1-6 tomorrow. I may try feeding, not sure yet.
 
The idea with feeding is that you don't want to feed more volume total so that your kitty gains weight, you just want to time the food he regularly would have so that it does what you want.

The trouble with us trying to give you a particular plan is that you'll only know if it "works" by testing to see what its effects are on Sampson's blood sugar. I know you can't do that, so I'll just throw out an option, knowing that it might or might not be just right for Sampson.

So for example, if Sampson eats 5oz per day, like 1 Friskies can, you would give 1/2 of that can in the morning cycle and 1/2 of the can in the pm cycle.

You could start with giving 1/3 of the 1/2 can (his daytime food amount) at preshot, then having your brother give another 1/3 each at +2 and +4. If you have a lower preshot than normal, maybe your brother could give medium or high carb food at +2 and +4.

Perhaps you can find an incentive for your brother to learn to test! That would be ideal.
 
I missed my alarm this morning so I didn't get to try feeding but he was also high this am, as opposed to last night. Figured he was bouncing. His normal food is no carb raw, 4 oz a day. Friskies for him would be a can a day. So 1/4th can Friskies is equal to 1oz of his raw. So what if I tried 1oz raw at shot and 1/8th can at +2 and +4. Or should I maybe start lower and work my way up? I would rather give him too much for the two days I work but I could experiment more at night so I don't want to load him up too much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top