7/4 Podo AMPS 329,+2 319,+7 264,+11 PMPS 278,+4 283

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seattlebrian

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18212

Starting the change to Lantus. Gave only 1U this morning. You can really feel when you give 3U or 2U of the U-40 insulin. Giving just 1U of the u-100, the plunger just doesn't move that much. Pre-shot BG was 329 (second test was 331), then fed her and gave her a shot all at ~9am.

Podo has been on Vetsulin since March, home monitoring for the last couple weeks, and is eating 2 5.5oz cans of Sophisticat pate foods that are 0-3% carbs on "the food chart list" a day (spread out to 4-6 feedings). She is ~12-14 years old and has lost 2 fangs and the teeth behind them for the most part. No outward signs of any problems. If I wasn't home monitoring, then I would say she was in remission already.

Her morning BG (before her first meal), consistenly seems to be highest of the day (since the low carb food). Should I try getting up 4 hours before her morning shot and feeding her? Not sure I like the idea of getting up at 5am to feed the kitty, but I'm sure she would be happy. 1/2 can @5am, 1/2 can @9am (with shot), 1/2 can 5pm, 1/2 can 9pm (with shot)?
 
Re: 7/4 Podo AMPS 329 (First day and feeding question)

They say AMBG is the last thing to come down. Don't look at Tess's spreadsheet, she's the exception that proves the rule.

Some of us get up to give a "snack" at +8 or +9. If the pancreas is working at all this stimulate it to make insulin on it's own and help heep the end of the cycle from rising too much. I only give about 1/4 oz., defintely not a full meal. I don't know if Podo is at this stage yet. Wait for an answer from an advisor.

Nice first report, Welcome! :-D
 
Re: 7/4 Podo AMPS 329 (First day and feeding question)

Hi Brian:
Good job that you linked....all you have to do is go back though and correct it to read
[url=link][/url] add the =http..etc in the link
the equal sign plus the copied link...know what I mean?
Or you can just post the link by itself so it looks like this: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18212

Some people freeze portions of food in ice cube trays and leave that out at night. It defrosts about the time the kitty is hungry for a snack. Other people have invested in an automatic feeder that they sell which opens at a time that you set it for. A more experienced person will be along to address that question, k?
For now though...I wouldn't worry too much yet. Let's see how she does....
many kitties have the higher number at AMPS (it's called Dawn Phenomenon)

So glad you decided to start today...Yay! I wish you both all the very best! Welcome....so nice to see you here!!
 
Re: 7/4 Podo AMPS 329 (First day and feeding question)

oh today is the first day! :lol: ok, got it.

Welcome to your first day!

lemme fix up your previous link...
Podo's previous thread

So I know you've been doing a lot or reading and learning, which is great.
A lot here use timed feeders for overnite and when you're away for the day. You can also freeze wet food pucks in an ice cube tray and put them in Podo's bowl before you go to bed, overnite the puck will melt away and he will have a little snack to tie him over.

Others will help you along as well, so ask all that you want.
Good luck with Lantus!!

EDIT TO ADD: :lol: Pat - are u reading my mind? :lol:
 
Re: 7/4 Podo AMPS 329 (First day and feeding question)

Guess we were mind melding Ronnie! :lol:
I also want to add to Brian that you are doing such a great job....I know you will do very well with the Lantus. You have come so far already with the switch from Vetsulin. I am just SO proud of you and happy for Podo too! :mrgreen:
Edited to add: If you can get some checks in today and post them it would be good Brian. Also, we like to see a before-bed check also so we know where they are heading for the PM cycle.
 
Re: 7/4 Podo AMPS 329 (First day and feeding question)

The meal/snack at +8 may help to drop pre-shot numbers. Everyone else has said what I would about feeding so it doesn't bear repeating.

Welcome (again) to LL. The shift to Lantus may require a change in your thinking about dosing so let us know how we can help.
 
Re: 7/4 Podo AMPS 329 (First day and feeding question)

Higher ambg is often referred to as the dawn phenomenon. Good luck, lantus is a great insulin. We ofteen feed a mid-day and mid-evening snack. Welcome to LL.
 
Re: 7/4 Podo AMPS 329 +2 319 +7 264

Bad me, 5 minutes before her second test at +4, I fall asleep on the couch and wake up 3 hours later. Oh well, can't unscramble and egg.

+7 264
 
Re: 7/4 Podo AMPS 329 +2 319 +7 264

Not to worry...naps happen....and that +7 is really nice! A nice yellow!
ByTheWay, we call this place Lantusland or lalaland.... :lol:
I see you gave your info for the SS...good job!
And Brian, it's when they go low that we need to keep awake for sure! :lol: That's when the excitement begins. So, for now it's great that you can catch up on your sleep.
:-| I just realized that I didn't take my nap this afternoon. Oh DARN! grr_red I seriously do need to nap!
My Shadow goes low at night...lots of kitties do....so that's why we need a bedtime check. Sometimes, we have a pajama party in the wee hours. Giving High Carb gravy to our low BG kitties....
But, more about that later. Podo is looking great!
 
Re: 7/4 Podo AMPS 329 +2 319 +7 264

Well that yellow is a nice surprise!

Oh yea, we have many moments here of falling asleep at the helm!
My motto became - don't lay down, don't lay down on the couch :lol:

Doing good here Brian!

PAT!! we did it again! :lol:
 
Re: 7/4 Podo AMPS 329 +2 319 +7 264

Just wanted to say hello and welcome to lantus land!

We may be perceived as 'hard core' but it's all in good spirit and we are looking out for Podo. Podo will likely do fine on lantus... however, you, my friend, will need a good brain sweep and re-programing to get used to lantus.... really... that's the hardest thing.

Take it day by day and.... be patient!

Again, welcome and we look forward to your daily post.
 
Re: 7/4 Podo AMPS 329 +2 319 +7 264

+11 278, trying to get on a 8am/pm rotation, so giving her shot an hour early. 1U and last food going in for today. Wheee.
 
Re: 7/4 Podo (AMPS 329) (+2 319) (+7 264) (+11 PMPS 278)

Just as an FYI, you're best advised to not move a shot time by an hour unless numbers are high (e.g., over 300). Time shifts are made either by 15 min. at each cycle or 30 min. during only one cycle per day. With Lantus, because of the overlap between shots, an early shot functions like a dose increase and a late shot is like a decrease. I'd suggest getting a test or two in tonight just for safety's sake.

Also, be patient while starting Lantus. It takes about 5 - 7 days to get the depot/shed established. Podo's numbers may not be as good as you like during this period since some of what you are shooting goes toward building the shed vs. being available for use.
 
Re: 7/4 Podo (AMPS 329) (+2 319) (+7 264) (+11 PMPS 278)

+4 283 Could hear fireworks outside, so it might be a little high from that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top