7/4 Orange AMPS 107, PMPS 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74207


Happy 4th of July everyone!!!!! I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday! We are relaxing today, probably going over to a friend's house to crash their pool, and maybe catching some fireworks tonight. I'm loving the day off! :-D

I'm wondering if its time to try reducing Orange's dose from 0.1 units to just a drop? Its been just over a week since we have had any readings over 120. Earlier in the week we were getting a lot of green PS numbers so I was thinking I would reduce after a week of those. The past few days though they have gone up a little. I've been getting blue PS numbers between 100 and 119. Should I still try the dose reduction since he has stayed in normal numbers? Or are you really supposed to be seeing all greens before reducing?

Thanks!
 
Re: 7/4 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try a dose reductoin?

Personally, I'd like to see more of those green pre-shot numbers. Let's see what others have to say, though.

Are you giving Orange a snack at +9? If not, I'd give that a try to see if it lowers the pre-shot values.
 
Re: 7/4 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try a dose reductoin?

Hi guys and happy fourth of july! No dosing advice from me, but orange's numbers sure are looking nice! have a great day!
 
Re: 7/4 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try a dose reductoin?

I've tried the +9 snack a few times and I don't think I've seen a noticeable difference. It won't really fit into our schedule on a regular basis. The PM +9 is in the middle of the night and I can't wake up every night to tell him to eat. Also, I am usually at work during the AM +9. Even if I did an autofeeder Orange isn't the type to run to his foodbowl and scarf everything down as soon as it appears. He's more of a grazer... there is no way he'd wake up by himself in the middle of the night for a snack and I'm sure he'd be picking on the AM +9 snack up until I get home right before his shot (or nap right through it) - I would never know if the PS test was food influenced.

The days when I am around for an AM +9 I can give him a snack and start marking it on the spreadsheet comments.

He hasn't done well with dose reductions from here before, so I'm good leaving him at this dose for a while longer if that''s what we should do. Do you think it was the skipped shots over the weekend that brought us back into the blues?
 
Re: 7/4 Orange AMPS 107 - Should I try a dose reductoin?

It's certainly possible that the skipped shots had an effect. Next time, if you need to skip, try to get a spot check or two in. It will let you know where Orange's numbers are heading.

Gabby doesn't get up to eat -- or at least I don't think she does -- so I understand. Try experimenting on days when you're home and do keep notes. Even if there's food out and Orange is grazing, if you can get some sense of when the bowl is empty, it will be good data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top