7/4 Moses PMPS 89 +1~74 +3~53 +5.5~95 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Moses

Member Since 2010
Hello!!!

Happy Independence Day! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Long time no hear!

Moses is good! In fact, so good, that he might need a reduction. Getting the gravy quite often, including this morning. Check out his SS, what do ya'll think?
 
Re: 7/4 Moses AMPS 94 +4.5~132 Question

Hi there Erica!

Not going to comment on the dosing stuff, but wanted to stop in and say "hi". Glad to hear Moses is doing so well - hope you are too.
 
Re: 7/4 Moses AMPS 94 +4.5~132 Question

images
Happy 4th of July to you and Moses!
Nice seeing you again...I ditto what Heather said about not commenting on the dosing myself....
just wanted to stop by and say hello!

ETA: Is this your last post? just thought I'd put the link in... viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15535&start=0&hilit=erica+and+moses
 
Re: 7/4 Moses AMPS 94 +4.5~132 Question

Long time no condo! It does look like Moses is doing well.

You know it wouldn't be me if I didn't say that you need to get more spot checks in order to evaluate dose a bit better. Please try to get at least one spot check per cycle. That said, I think that 40 at +3 on 6/29 could have gone lower given how early it was in the cycle. I think you could shave the dose.

Just as an FYI, I think if you had posted for the PMPS on 7/1, we would have walked you through shooting the 78. Given how well Moses is doing, you are going to need to shoot low vs. skipping a shot. (Take a look at Gabby's SS on 7/2. I shot a 55.) Remember -- shoot low to stay low. It's unnerving but if you can test and if you have HC at home, you are in control of the numbers.
 
Re: 7/4 Moses AMPS 94 +4.5~132 Question

Hey Erica & Moses--Looks to me like Moses is doing really well--
Wait for dosing helpers, but I see you had a 40 on 6/29--
Could have asked then about dose crease, as it may have been warranted--Moonie does well with skinny & fat doses, as she is pretty sensitive with that--You could ask if that might be an option...But see what they have to say..
Have a great 4th--Hugs Roni :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/4 Moses AMPS 94 +4.5~132 Question

Yay!! So good to hear from ya'll :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Yes, more spot checks are in order. Moses is truly doing so great, talkative, active, catnip boy. I got him a catnip banana and he looooves it. He loves his nana. lol his numbers are looking good :mrgreen:

Life is still kinda hectic but I finally see a light at the end of the tunnel. :thumbup I hope to post more often about his great success! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/4 Moses AMPS 94 PMPS 89 Question

Alright, so dinner time has come. And Moses gave me a big whooping 89! I took your advice, Sienne & Gabby, and shot low. :? And b/c I don't have tons of test strips on hand, I fed some good ole gravy with his dinner. Slurp slurp, gravy train!

I'll check his blood in an hour. Hope he doesn't dip too much or too fast.

cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/4 Moses AMPS 94 PMPS 89 +1~74 +3~53

He's looking good, just ate a big snacky! 53 nailbite_smile

Wonder where he'd be w/out the gravy for dinner :?:
 
Well, for shooting Moses low tonight, he did a good job. Those fireworks really helped bump up his BG, I'm glad it worked out. Although he was panicky, like this :shock: looking out the window.

*Question - Was this the right protocol tonight, when shooting low? It seems he's been getting gravy with every breffis and dinner now. Will this be the routine until I see him get under 40 and he gets a decrease? Seems really risky and scary...

His numbers are good for the night, we're going to beddies. If you have a comment, I'll check it out in the morning :mrgreen: Goodnight!
 
Erica & Moses said:
Question - Was this the right protocol tonight, when shooting low? It seems he's been getting gravy with every breffis and dinner now. Will this be the routine until I see him get under 40 and he gets a decrease? Seems really risky and scary...

I completely understand your question. In theory, I was comfortable telling people to remember the "rule" of Lantus - shoot low to stay low. I was rather nervous the other night when Gabby handed me a 55 at shot time. She got a little gravy with dinner and for several hours after but she surfed -- there was no plummet into very low numbers. It can happen, but it didn't. Remember, a Lantus curve is flat.

If you're feeding gravy, it depends on why you are doing so. I'm not sure that you needed to intervene with MC at AMPS and PMPS. I definitely would have gotten a +1 and +2 when shooting a low number. If you are using food to manipulate the curve, you are trying to keep the greens but not get a dose reduction. The point being that it flattens out the curve and is helpful with kitties who do not hold their dose reductions well (like Gabby). Moses, on the other hand, is on a tiny bit of insulin but he's been there for a while. Moses' numbers look very good. I'd just like to see your pre-shot numbers, especially the AMPS numbers, come down. Keeping the dose and having to add some HC mid-cycle isn't a bad thing at all. I would hope that it will keep Moses in very good, pancreas healing numbers and get those pesty AMPS numbers to come down.

If you want Moses to earn the decrease, there are times when he's in the low 40s and you give him either MC or HC. Instead, you could re-test in 20 min. and see if his numbers drop below 40 before feeding if you want the decrease. Personally, I think you need to keep him in the greens but not take the reduction until you see his AMPS numbers start to come down a little.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top