7/4 Morgaine AMPS 209,+4 154,+6 168,+8 162,PMPS 167 Feeding?

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
HAPPY 4th to ALL in the USA!!

yesterday

Steady as she goes. That is my Morgaine. Today I am going to take Sienne's advice and not feed her past +6. We are going to have to get her food squeezed into a smaller window but I am sure she will adjust. Maybe it will show some different numbers. I know patience is the key to Lantus but I am seeing a slight worsening in her PD/PU and not any real change in her numbers. In fact, since I started her on insulin, her numbers have gotten a little higher most of the time. I do understand there is this period of adjustment and the liver may have a part in this. I am just grateful she remains below 200 for the most part.

Hope everyone is havinbg a nice day!!
 
Re: 7/4 Morgaine AMPS 209

Morning Rosalie!! Aren't we all hoping for more rain in Tucson today!!!

Morgraine is looking great...nice AMPS. I hope her PU/PD will ease soon. If it doesn't, I would suggest bloodwork if you haven't had it done in the last couple of months and see if something else is causing the PU/PD like thyroid or kidney issues. I would think it should be stopping by now especially with the numbers she's had.

When we first started out, it was suggested we feed at +9. Then Jill told us that feeding after nadir can and often does result in higher PSs. So Gracie's last feeding is at +4 with sometimes a little snack at +5 if she's hungry. I hope you will be able to tell a difference.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 7/4 Morgaine AMPS 209

Morgaine has had a lot of blood work done and I mean a lot in the last several weeks. Everything looks great except for her triglycerides and her blood sugar. There may be some early kidney issues, not apparent from the beautiful numbers on her blood work but I have maintained all along that she has a low renal threshold because she is spilling glucose at these numbers and has been for a while. That is why I started insulin. I just think she is one of those ECID examples and I am hopeful that we will see lower numbers on a consistent basis and less PD/PU but I guess time will tell. After reading the Queensland study, I realized that Morgaine falls within their range for diabetic cats who are doing okay with an increased PD. She is drinking about 75-80 ml per kg. of wt. including water from food. A normal cat would be drinking about 40. Yes, the drinking at this point does concern me.

And...rain would be nice. We haven't had much of anything at all in town.
 
Re: 7/4 Morgaine AMPS 209 Feeding ?

I am wondering if some of you could share your feeding schedules with me and how much you feed at each meal.
 
Re: 7/4 Morgaine AMPS 209,+4 154 Feeding?

mine's too complicated to explain, but have a look at our "current SS" link in my signature and you'll get an idea of what we do.

we do go thru 1 (5.5oz) can a day, split that up, as per SS, thru the day,
he has been teating that much since his first run on Lantus in 2009/early 2010.
A lot of food experimenting, a lot :lol:

I see you are keeping notes in your SS, continue that, overtime you will get a better picture of what + times, how much etc, affect Morgaine.
 
Re: 7/4 Morgaine AMPS 209,+4 154 Feeding?

I feed at pre-shot, +1, +2 and +3. Gabby gets a total of 1-1/2 3oz cans of food per day. She gets 1/4 of a can at pre-shot and +1 and 1/8 of a can at +2 and +3. (She actually gets less that what I noted but I'm not sure exactly how much less.)
 
Re: 7/4 Morgaine AMPS 209,+4 154,+6 168,+8 162,PMPS 167 Feed

Thanks for the feedback on feeding and I will leave the question in case anyone else would like to share.

I noticed another flat curve with numbers a bit lower today after her AMPS of 209.

I tried a different feeding schedule and ended up giving her two small snacks with no carbs at all in them. Morgaine has a great deal of difficulty getting through a long period without food, especially if I am eating and I eat several small meals a day too. I have also managed to create a combo meal for her at +6 made up of 1/4 can higher fat, 2% carb Pro Plan and an oz of chicken FF appetizer with no carbs and a tiny bit of fat. That makes it low fat and low carb and it seemed to work well for her at +6. From looking at all of her numbers thus far, I think she goes lowest in the +4 hour and then seems to hold steady. I will hold this dose for two more days and then, if things remain the same, I am going to go up to 1 unit bid.

I have tested myself on my Freestyle, Morgaine has her own meter, and I also test myself on a Precision X-tra. The Precsion XTra does run about 30 higher consistently so Morgaine's numbers may be a bit higher. I know it really is about the overall trends but at this point, because she may be so close to the renal threshold, I think it is important for me to be aware of that and try to get her down into the low blues/high greens and try to keep her there for a while to see what happens with the PD/PU. Incidently, my vet believes that her numbers are running a little higher than indicated by the Freestyle but she is okay with my doing things this way as long as Morgaine is not running high numbers or on a roller coaster.

I thank you all again for your input and advice. I do see how I need to explore the feeding schedule and find the right balance for Morgaine's needs. Food has always been a major motivator for her. Heck, she had an URI as a kitten, was all stuffed up and she never missed a meal. I am quite sure she couldn't smell a thing but she ate like her usual self.

In a normal meal Morgaine eats about 40 calories with 10% from carbs. Her snacks are about 15 calories with 0% carbs so I am going to stick with this for a few days and see how she does. As we all know, carbs are the biggest culprit and require more insulin. Slowly but surely I am finding my way through all of this. Thanks for your help and your patience in helping us chug along the Lantus Land path. We are very happy and honored to be here with all of you devoted cat lovers. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top