7/4 Maggie PMPS 96, +2 139, +3 187

Status
Not open for further replies.
She's doing so good after just a short time :).
We do have to try and remember to take care of us too so we're good to care for the kitties :bighug:
 
Yes, I'm very pleased with how well she's responded to the insulin. I can tell she feels better.

I just wish she had normal vision. She lost much of her sight due to undiagnosed high blood pressure. It was gradual, and I thought it was just from growing older. I found out too late that the degeneration might have been stopped by starting her on amlodipine when the vision problems first started. The loss so greatly affects her quality of life. She gets disoriented easily, needs help finding the box, and doesn't do anything beyond sleeping in her bed, eating, and using the box. She doesn't even enjoy having her ears rubbed anymore after extensive dental work made her head overly sensitive to touch. Sorry, guess I needed to vent.
 
Venting is always permitted :). For her vision impairment, just try not to move the location of anything, she may start to remember where things are. I had a friend with a blind and deaf cat who was able to get around their house, they just couldn't re-arrange furniture ;)
 
Thanks Yong. Yes, we haven't moved things around since before the vision problems, but she still occasionally runs into things and sometimes winds up stuck in a corner. She really uses her whiskers for navigation now.
 
Maybe she would appreciate pets in another location. I know my J.D. liked having the pads on his toes and in between his toes gently massaged. Or some other massaged area may feel good to her.
 
Thanks Dyana. Oh, toes and legs are a big no-no! It makes her :mad:. She likes having her sides massaged, and sometimes likes the base of the tail rub too. We do what we can to show her attention and love, but she has a lower threshold now.
 
I am happy you got some rest last night. :)

That is far enough Maggie. No need to go any lower.

:bighug:I am so sorry about her eye sight. Venting is always allowed here. :bighug:
 
Thanks for the update! Wow, she is on the reduction mission today for sure!
I'd feed some high-ish MC now if you haven't done so yet. It is mid cycle but Maggie seems to do late-in-the cycle dives like on 6/30.
 
Yeah, I guess she's all about getting it done fast and exciting rather than slow. But I know, this is TR, and that's what I may get, I just didn't expect it! Hope this doesn't carry over through the PM. :nailbiting:
 
So Maggie's started the day in green, dipped a little too low and so this evening's dose was reduced by .25. Her BG has risen to 187 as of about 30 minutes ago. She been bugging me for food for 3 hours. Does this make sense? What should I do? Do I feed her more than I have been the last few days? HC or LC?
Thanks...
 
I would feed a little LC if she is hungry. No harm in that.
Is it very unusual for her to be hungry at this time?
Do you feed to maintain weight or to loose or gain?
 
I feed to maintain. I feed her small portions through out the day, but this evening she's just not satisfied and wants more 15 minutes later.
 
I would feed a bit LC if she wants - a few tsp would not put too much calories, I think.
She endured so many ear pokes today maybe a little reward is in order?;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top