7/4 Jupiter update-vet appt/surgery - antibiotics

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

I think a lot depends on his appetite and how he does on the ABs. I wouldn't want you to have to fight to get him to eat or have him eat, get a shot, and then upchuck.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

Makes sense. Just hard for me to post in the mornings before shot time.


Thank you to everyone for the birthday wishes!

Thank you everyone for the prayers and thoughts for Jupiter!

And thank you to all for your support, guidance, and advice
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

I really hate seeing Jupiter like this. I think Jupiter was hiding all day - because of him not feeling well. His appy is weird. He would not even eat a treat at test time one of the times I tried giving him a treat, he sniffed it and turned his head and laid down. He has NEVER turned down a treat before.

I know the antibiotics are probably making his appy weird and I am sure they are upsetting his tummy a bit. I tried to give him a little bit of Forti Flora... sprinkled a little on top of a small pile of food... and used another pile of food and mixed some in... he would not eat either pile of food so I tried giving him a little bit of food without the Forti Flora and he ate it. I dont really quite understand this because the first time I gave him Forti Flora he acted like he loved it and gobbled his food right up.

Hes on amoxicillin 100mg twice a day. Does this antibiotic dose seem a little high?

I just cant help but worry about him, and worry about the surgery. He is my baby. Jupiter and I had such an incredible bond even before the FD, and now the bond has only grown stronger. I just want him to be ok.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

I get the same response sometimes and we aren't on antibiotics.
Sometimes Shadow loves the stuff and sometimes she doesn't.
Glad he ate some....

I think they are just trying to get ahead of the infection before the surgery.
I don't think any cats really like many medications they get. He's with you and he's okay.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

I get the same response sometimes and we aren't on antibiotics.
Sometimes Shadow loves the stuff and sometimes she doesn't.
Glad he ate some....

I think they are just trying to get ahead of the infection before the surgery.
I don't think any cats really like many medications they get. He's with you and he's okay. Try not to worry. You need rest.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

One trick I've seen some people do is to add meds to meat baby food. That seems to be an especially tasty treat and then they don't associate pills or other meds with their main meal. It does seem pretty common here for clavamox or amoxicillin to impact the appy.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

I give him the meds in pill pockets - yeah i know they are probably HC... but this seems to be the only way we can do it... he gets an anxiety pill every morning and we use about a third of a piece of pill pocket for that. The antibiotic is a large pill which I have had to break into 4 pieces and put each piece in a piece of pill pocket. I tried putting the whole pill into a pill pocket but it was too large for him to eat and he kept trying and gave up and wouldnt eat it so we had to break it up.

I guess I could try getting a jar of baby food and putting some forti flora on that to see if he will eat it? Hes really picky but its worth a try. He doesnt like "people food" like he likes freeze dried chicken treats but wont eat regular cooked chicken most of the time.

He loves the fancy feast appetizers so I tried mixing a little bit of forti flora with a scoop of his favorite appetizer and he wouldnt eat it. maybe he was full... will try again tomorrow and will try to get a jar of baby food and try that

thank you for the suggestion. at this point anything is worth a try
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

I would also talk to your vetty about trying a different AB. Last January, my civvie, Petey, was given Clavamox for a broken tooth situation (he started the meds a few days before his dental); after one dose, I could tell he wasn't feeling well, and after the second dose, he wouldn't even consider touching food. Vetty told me to take him off, and within 24 hours he was back to himself. They ended up giving him a shot of good ole penicillin after the dental procedure, and he was fine.

I hope Jupiter is feeling better...poor little guy.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

Okay should I give it another day to see how he is before I call the vet? This morning he seems to be doing fine
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

If he's doing fine today, then yes...I think you'd be OK on holding off calling the vet.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

Remember, it's a holiday weekend so your vet office hours and availability may be limited. Just saying you may want to call the vet sooner than later.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

I am thinking maybe he was feeling okay because it was just an hour or two before the next dose of antibiotics.... its been a few hours since the antibiotics and hes hiding again.... he hid ALL day yesterday.... he usually only hides when he is scared... like if its thundering or something....

could him hiding constantly be an indication of him just not feeling well? he did eat today and he ate treats at test time




didnt get a chance to make a condo for today yet... but I shot .5u since amps was 78... and it looks like he is gonna have a nice surf today :-D
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

I would call your vet if for no other reason than you'll feel better. Amoxicillin is not the only AB out there. If the FortiFlora isn't a big hit, try picking up some Pearls at the pharmacy. They are a probiotic my vet recommended. They are small and will work easily in a pill pocket.

The usual dose is 5 - 10mg per 10lbs of body weight. Side effects can cause abdominal pain and nausea.

The other issue may be that it's not advisable to cut all pills. I'd call your local pharmacy and ask about cutting the amoxicillin.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

the dose for the probiotics or for the antibiotics? sorry confused a little
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

On the phone with the vet. Called to ask them about it. Told them hes been hiding ALL day, and that his appetite is a little off, and that he has even refused a treat at times - which he has never ever done.

update: they are going to call back as soon as they talk with the vet
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

They called me back and they said as long as he is eating something... even a little bit... then they want me to keep giving him the antibiotics. they said they really want him to get all of the antibiotics since he is having surgery on the 18th they want it to heal up some more and make sure no infections. they said they dont think changing the antibiotic will help, she said if this antibiotic is making him feel a little sick then they will all probably make him sick. she said keep giving it to him unless he completely stops eating or starts vomiting a lot


she said maybe he is just acting weird because of his diabetes. she asked me about the insulin and stuff and I just told her that his numbers have been really good recently and we have skipped a few shots and gave a reduced shot today. She said sometimes their blood sugar level can effect their appetite. I told her I REALLY dont think it has to do with the diabetes though
 
they said they dont think changing the antibiotic will help, she said if this antibiotic is making him feel a little sick then they will all probably make him sick. she said keep giving it to him unless he completely stops eating or starts vomiting a lot.

BUNK!! When Tess was given Clavamox after a day she would refuse to eat for a day or two and then like clockwork one hour after the antibiotic she would throw up. Our vet changed her to Orbax and she didn't refuse her food and did not throw up. Many cats react to some antibiotics and not others.

If Jupiter won't eat food w/ the Fortiflora in it try the other probiotic that you have, it may not be flavored and put him off. Antibiotic can kill off the good bacteria in the gut just like the bad ones and Jupiter need the good bacteria in order to digest his food properly.
 
Oh My, I've been reading thru your posts and realized Hoot and I have never been by to say Hi! So Hi and Happy Very Late Birthday. I am so sorry to hear about Jupiter. I just wanted to send Jupiter some healing vines and you some calming vines ;-) Poor thing, you have been thru alot but you are doing a GREAT job!!! Hang in there and know you are in great hands here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top