7/4 Jack AMPS 220, +6/68, PMPS 135

Status
Not open for further replies.

KigerKat

Member Since 2011
Happy 4th of July!!

Jack's reading this morning this morning was 220, and after talking to the vet last night we will be giving him just 1 unit. He didn't exactly tell me what to do if his reading tonight is over 200, but I'm assuming I would also just give 1 unit.

Quick question for ear prickers: Can a lot of you see where you have pricked the ear previously? I don't know if I need to put more pressure on Jack's ear or if this is normal. It almost looks like little blotches of blood right under the skin.
 
Re: 7/4 Jack AMPS 220

Sometimes, our kitties' ears may look bruised. A bit more pressure may help. I usually see this subside if I'm not having a pokefest sort of day.

One comment on your spreadsheet (SS) -- even if you haven't given insulin, I would still get a before bed test. You really will need to get in the habit of testing at night.

I do think 1.0u is a much better place to start. Unless Jack's numbers dictate otherwise, you will want to hold this initial dose for 5 - 7 days in order to allow an insulin depot (aka "shed") to form.
 
Re: 7/4 Jack AMPS 220, +6/68

He's down to 68 now. It's amazing how much of a difference one unit can make.
 
Re: 7/4 Jack AMPS 220, +6/68

Hi Carrie: I don't think I've welcomed you and Jack to LL so WELCOME and Happy Fourth of July!!!

Nice to see that lovely green number for Jack today. Glad you got some input on the dose. It's probably smart to keep an eye on this number as the day progresses to make sure he comes back up a tad. I didn't look at Jack's SS to see what the lowest number you've shot is but if he gives you a number that's lower than you've shot before at PMPS, please do not feed, stall the shot, and post his number for some help.

Great to have you!
 
Re: 7/4 Jack AMPS 220, +6/68

great response to 1 unit!

It has been about an hour since your last post. It would be a good idea to test again now, to see if he kept going down after the 68 or if he has turned upward.
 
Jack is still doing well!! 135 before dinner, so no insulin tonight!!

We might have tested a bit more today, but with the holiday we've been all over the neighborhood and then Jack and I took a quick catnap around 3. I'm also starting school again tomorrow, so there won't be anyone with him from 10-5 Mon-Thurs. It will most likely just be AM and PM tests.

One thing I am noticing about when we test him: his ears are colder when his BG is in a more normal range. When it's been too low they have been pretty warm. Is this common with everyone else?
 
KigerKat said:
Jack is still doing well!! 135 before dinner, so no insulin tonight!!

We might have tested a bit more today, but with the holiday we've been all over the neighborhood and then Jack and I took a quick catnap around 3. I'm also starting school again tomorrow, so there won't be anyone with him from 10-5 Mon-Thurs. It will most likely just be AM and PM tests.

One thing I am noticing about when we test him: his ears are colder when his BG is in a more normal range. When it's been too low they have been pretty warm. Is this common with everyone else?


hi Carrie, welcome to Lantus Land, I see this is your 2nd day!
Preshot numbers are great, but I too would encourage you to grab at least a before bedtime test as Sienne mentioned earlier.

Some of us work days too, and we try to collect as much as we can in regards to numbers, just to get a better clear picture of how Lantus is working each day, and each day is different, so just putting that out there.
Have you shared a copy of the dosing protocol with your vet? here is a quick link to it.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

In our first year on insulin and home testing we noted ear warmth and coldness and saw some patterns with the numbers, but it's not definite, dont always assume, k? Kitties can be pretty tricky and pull a fast one on you. :lol:

hope to see you posting often, make sure you have print outs of the stickies, always useful in a pinch!
Have a good nite!
 
Just stopping by to say "Hi" and welcome to LantusLand!

It is tough to test when you have a job or are in school, but like the others have said, just grabbing random tests whenever you can fit them in will give you lots of info that, in turn, can help you make dosing decisions. Test before bed, when you leave in the morning, when you get home in the evening, if you get up in the middle of the night...you never know what you might learn!

This is the best place every for your diabetic kitty - I hope we see you here often!

Amy & Trixie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top