7/4 Huey AMPS 128, +2 136, +5 78, 7/5 PMPS 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy & Huey

Member Since 2014
Waiting half an hour to retest, assuming he's on his way up the plan is to give him his 0.25u and test til i have to leave this afternoon. I'm going to be away tonight and probably past tomorrow mornings shot & I don't want to skip THREE shots in a row.
 
Re: 9/4 Huey new AMPS 128, +2 136

Here's your previous posts: 7/1 Main Health 7/3 TR

I reread some of your previous posts - newly diagnosed cats have a good chance of getting off of insulin if their blood sugar gets "tightly regulated" meaning held between 50-120 on a human meter. The newest PDF describing the TR Protocol and talking about this is on the yellow starred sticky at the top of this forum page called Tight Regulation Protocol. Look about 5 paragraphs down from the top for the PDF that has to be downloaded.

Use numbers from the previous test to help guide you in when you should test next. I'm seeing the 78 at +5 and thinking i'd have tested again in 30 minutes-1 hour, just in case he made it below 50. Today's cycle looks great. Hopefully he can stay on this dose a few cycles before needing a reduction.

Deb/Wink made a comment in one of your Main Health posts about why some cats go off and some don't - my guess is that there are 2 factors that make a huge difference.

One is if the cat has been in high numbers for a long time their body has gotten really used to those levels (that's called Glucose Toxicity) and they react to low numbers by bouncing, which sends them back high again. It can take some time to get them to stop reacting to normal numbers.

The second factor is whether or not the cat has some concurrent medical condition that gets in the way of getting them regulated. Can be any number of things, from infections, dental issues, pancreatitis, hyperthyroid, or a high dose condition. If it's something that can be addressed, then the cat might go OTJ.

Some cats don't go off and it has nothing to do with what the people are doing. Some cats go off of insulin in spite of the haphazard care they get! :lol:
 
Re: 9/4 Huey new AMPS 128, +2 136

All in all, a nice cycle today!

Hopefully Huey will be one of the lucky ones who can go OTJ quickly for you! He's looking great so far!
 
Re: 9/4 Huey new AMPS 128, +2 136

Chris and Julie, thanks for the advice and previous replies. I just got home and Huey came in at 139 so I gave him 0.25u. I'm figuring on probably skipping the AM shot and getting him back on schedule in the PM (unless he looks particularly high, in which case I will shoot at ~10am and gradually work back to 9am/pm).

I'd have tested after that 76 but it looked pretty similar to the previous few cycles and I had to run out the door to catch a train. You're saying I should see if that 78 was before or after the nadir? I left out food for Huey while I was gone though, took the advice on foodcicles, and it all got eaten. Now that his cycles are all screwy from me being gone, I'm gonna stick with 0.25u for a few days and try to get him back on track before making more adjustments.

I really appreciate all the feedback and support! I'm feeling optimistic for the first time since this all started!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top