Re: 9/4 Huey new AMPS 128, +2 136
Here's your previous posts:
7/1 Main Health 7/3 TR
I reread some of your previous posts - newly diagnosed cats have a good chance of getting off of insulin if their blood sugar gets "tightly regulated" meaning held between 50-120 on a human meter. The newest PDF describing the TR Protocol and talking about this is on the yellow starred sticky at the top of this forum page called
Tight Regulation Protocol. Look about 5 paragraphs down from the top for the PDF that has to be downloaded.
Use numbers from the previous test to help guide you in when you should test next. I'm seeing the 78 at +5 and thinking i'd have tested again in 30 minutes-1 hour, just in case he made it below 50. Today's cycle looks great. Hopefully he can stay on this dose a few cycles before needing a reduction.
Deb/Wink made a comment in one of your Main Health posts about why some cats go off and some don't - my guess is that there are 2 factors that make a huge difference.
One is if the cat has been in high numbers for a long time their body has gotten really used to those levels (that's called Glucose Toxicity) and they react to low numbers by bouncing, which sends them back high again. It can take some time to get them to stop reacting to normal numbers.
The second factor is whether or not the cat has some concurrent medical condition that gets in the way of getting them regulated. Can be any number of things, from infections, dental issues, pancreatitis, hyperthyroid, or a high dose condition. If it's something that can be addressed, then the cat might go OTJ.
Some cats don't go off and it has nothing to do with what the people are doing. Some cats go off of insulin in spite of the haphazard care they get! :lol: