? 7/4 Gus PMPS 376 , @+3 462 and in pain

Status
Not open for further replies.

elizabeth and gus

Member Since 2015
Previous post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-02-gus-green-but-had-rough-start.140377/

Since January Gus had several episodes (lasting ~ 4 hours) passing drops of urine or urinating outside of LB. Often he would throw-up, didn't eat seemed unwell/pain. We took him to the vet and initially it was suspected UTI that was later ruled out based on urine analysis (Lab included in SS) and urine culture. X-ray were done at this time. In March while he had next episode he was diagnosed with pancreatitis and treated with meds and got better.

On 7/2 Gus throw up and was passing drops of urine on the floor and later urinated outside of LB. Unlike in past episodes he eat well and appeared content. We took him to the vet. He didn't get any meds. only fluids. Just like in the past episodes no more urinating outside LB or unusual behaviors after returning from vet.

Reminder of 7/2 and 7/3 Gus eat well and was content however his nice green BG turned blue last night so we increased his dose this morning to 0.2U from 0.1U. This morning Gus had good appetite but it seemed like he was drinking lot of water. Reall surprise was his PMPS 376 so we injected 0.2U. He had normal BM this afternoon. This evening Gus started to look tired and peed outside LB while standing in it.

Vet suspect UTI or stress causing his problems and recommended urine analysis and culture again. This problem is ongoing and in March UTI (crystals) were ruled out. We spend lot of money and will continue to do so when necessary. I was wondering perhaps doing ultrasound would help diagnose this problem.
 
Just to add to it BG @ +3 462 and clearly in pain. @ 8:00 PM administered Buprenor for pain and will go to vet in the morning.
 
I'm sorry to hear this Elizabeth, it may be pancreatitis again, although I haven't heard of pee issues being associated with that, it's a bugger of a problem when it's chronic :(:bighug: glad you had some Bupe there to give that should provide some relief.

The .1 increase probably isn't going to touch the sides in this situation. I think I would be giving him a full .25 increase and be prepared to increase every few days to try and get on top of the BG. Let's see what others think - you may wish to add dose question to your subject line.

Sending vines for Gus.
 
Sorry to hear that Gus is feeling unwell.:bighug:

Urinalysis and clinical signs are what they use to diagnose cystitis. Note that often it is termed idiopathic cystitis, meaning, they don't know what caused it. My civie Theo has idiopathic cystitis. Here are a couple of papers describing symptoms on Veterinary Partner and Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery. When Theo is having an episode, he does multiple small pees in different boxes and licks himself (sign of pain). There can be spasms of the urethral wall, so good on doing the bupe. Theo will also get Cerenia for it's anti-inflammatory properties and prazocin to for the spasms, and liquids. There is some thought it is stress induced. Anything recent in Gus's life that could cause stress? I also have Feliway plug-ins going. The articles I listed as well as Dr. Lisa's page on Urinary issues talk about preventative actions, including low carb/ low phosphorus wet food.
 
Yes, they look for inflammatory cells. Sienne what do you think about Gus' dose?
Thank you so much for taking your time to respond.

I am totally confused:
The peeing happens every so often but it stops. Urine is clear no blood or meowing in the LB.
Sorry to hear that Gus is feeling unwell.:bighug:

Urinalysis and clinical signs are what they use to diagnose cystitis. Note that often it is termed idiopathic cystitis, meaning, they don't know what caused it. My civie Theo has idiopathic cystitis. Here are a couple of papers describing symptoms on Veterinary Partner and Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery. When Theo is having an episode, he does multiple small pees in different boxes and licks himself (sign of pain). There can be spasms of the urethral wall, so good on doing the bupe. Theo will also get Cerenia for it's anti-inflammatory properties and prazocin to for the spasms, and liquids. There is some thought it is stress induced. Anything recent in Gus's life that could cause stress? I also have Feliway plug-ins going. The articles I listed as well as Dr. Lisa's page on Urinary issues talk about preventative actions, including low carb/ low phosphorus wet food.

Wendy thank you so much for the info. He he had urine analysis (crystals negative) twice in past episodes. I am lost and so is my vet. hopefully tomorrow he will be. I only have one more dose of the pain meds but I have Cerenia and fluids.

Gus looked like he is in lot of pain and now after meds. he is better. Drinking lot of water and urinated in LB.
 
Another kitty on the board (@Bron and Sheba ) has some occasional bouts of frequent tiny pees that resolves itself within a few hours. The cause is unknown. I don't recall Sheba having other symptoms concurrently but maybe Bron will have something to contribute on this topic.
 
Another kitty on the board (@Bron and Sheba ) has some occasional bouts of frequent tiny pees that resolves itself within a few hours. The cause is unknown. I don't recall Sheba having other symptoms concurrently but maybe Bron will have something to contribute on this topic.


Gus just throw up white foam. So what ever is going on is now progressing. I give him 4 mg Cerenia.
 
He he had urine analysis (crystals negative) twice in past episodes. I am lost and so is my vet.
The obstructions can also be caused by urethral plugs, not necessarily crystals. Any signs of blood or protein in the urine? Found another article talking about symptoms and diagnosis. I haven't had to go the X-ray/ultrasound route yet though the vet has mentioned it as a possibility.

Vines going your way. :bighug:
 
Both Mikey and DK have had cystitis. Our vet treats it with bupe, so if that's what it is, you'll have a head start on treating it. Poor Gus Baby. Sending him hugs.
 
I have a civvie, Kibby, who was having issues straining to urinate and blood in the urine, which I know is different than what Gus is doing. He had a urinalysis done several times, and they never showed crystals. I did get an ultrasound done, and his bladder was about half full of crystals! For some reason, it just wasn't coming out in his urine.
 
I don't know much about this, but wanted to just send you some encouragement, Elizabeth. I hope Gus feels better soon.

On the spreadsheet it doesn't shot anything in the pmps dose column night before last. Would you put whatever in there? Did you skip or was it 0.1u?

The pink and red numbers tonight almost look like a bounce, but I can't see what it's from. Just something to watch for as I'm sure more time will show if it is or not.
 
Coincidently, I just went through this with my Tiger- occasional peeing outside the LB, drinking more water. I took her in for a urinalysis which showed blood in the urine, but the Culture & Sensitivity was negative for bacteria. Tiger's bloodwork showed elevated WBC, elevated neutrocphils and monocytes, so imflammation or infection is present... Vet thinks we are looking at cystitis as Sienne and Wendy have mentioned. Vet gave us mini-half doses of bupe for pain, more cerenia and recommended as much water as she wants with her food. I'll get her in for a re-check in two weeks.

Vomiting of white foam can be an early symptom of Chronic Kidney Disease, has Gus ever had Bloodwork showing elevated kidney levels? Or had an Ultrasound? We had an Ultrasound done in February, which showed CKD and chronic pancreatitis.
 
Hi Elizabeth.
As Serryn mentioned above, Sheba has occasional bouts of visiting the LB and squatting to try and pee. She had an episode the other day........she was just recovered from a bout of pancreatitis at the time. She had no other symptoms with the frequency of visiting the LB. She did not appear to be in pain, but she clearly wanted to pee. Most times she either did a tiny drop or nothing.
I moved the LB up into the lounge room because she had to go down past 2 droolers I was minding every time to pee and they were barking at her. After a couple of times she went back down to the old spot and I found her trying to pee where the LB usually is kept, so I moved it back and shut the door on the droolers. That is very very unusual for her to not use the LB so she was clearly uncomfortable. I gave her extra fluids and she eventually settled down after a couple of hours. I have mentioned it to the vet before and he said to give her extra fluids....that it was probably some irritation of some sort. He said very unlikely a blockage because she is female. The only thing I did do which was different was I cleaned her rear end up with wipes a short time before this happened because she had passed a loose poop.
Hope it can be sorted out for you.
 
Thank you all for the info and guidance.
Gus appear to feel better this morning. He eat little bit, used LB and much better BG 231. I am watching him and have meds ready. Vet is open at 8:00 and I hoping that they can do ultrasound. I am hoping for proper diagnosis for this ongoing problem. In January when DX with diabetes we changed his to wet and after first episode vet suspected CKD because his BUN was elevated but with next episode all blood and urine results were normal except pancreatitis test so he was treated for it. Pancreatitis seemed to be his primary issue but as I am reading my notes it happen several times that I found BM or urine paddle on the floor in the area where his LB is. Prior to this Gus newer in 16 years done it. It is very difficult for me to watch him suffer.
 
It looks like Wendy and I both sent you the link to the article on Veterinary Partner. There's also info on Dr. Lisa's site about urinary track problems. The first bit is on cystitis. I hope all does well at the vet and you get some answers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top