7/4 Guinness AM 327|+3 260|+4 223

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good Morning Lantus Land!

Well, since I dropped is dose from 10u to 5u, I'm guessing his shed emptied and now I have to start climbing back up the ladder. I'm assuming the general consensus here is to start that climb again SLOWLY? No jumping back up to 7 or 8 at this point? I'm so sad that he's so high again this am, but I was so worried about shooting that low number last night.

I know I probably need more data about how he's going to react with such high units and low pre-shot numbers but I'm afraid now to drop him to low since his acro dx. If he didn't have that dx, I would have kept him at those units, earned my decreases the right way and dropped him down slowly. Is this how I am suppose to be handling this now? Dropping his dose if I think he might go too low? I know he is no different then he was before dx, but my approach has now changed and I feel I am starting over and hurting him in the process.

Happy 4th to all!
 
Re: 7/4 Guinness AM 327 Dosing help.

Please remember to link your condo's together. Here's yesterday's condo.

I'm not sure that such a drastic cut in Guinness' dose was needed. It will, however, give you the opportunity to collect some data, though. I do wonder if having your catsitter skip the AM dose will cause Guinness to lose any forward momentum. I'm hoping that Libby or Jill will have some observations on strategy.
 
Re: 7/4 Guinness AM 327 Dosing help.

I know I keep throwing reading material at you, but have you had a chance to read my 4/30 post on my thoughts about acromegaly? There are some spreadsheets there that you can study. Rather than typing it all again, I'll just add the link here. Recently I also asked one of the other new acro moms to read through Jazzy's spreadsheet and read all the notes in the Comments field too, because that can help you see how I arrived at some of my conclusions.

I have spent a lot of time with those spreadsheets. There are some who would disagree with me, but for the most part what I have learned working with Jazzy is that the protocol still works. I make some modifications (sometimes I reduce or increase by 0.5 or 1 unit instead of 0.25, and I don't necessarily wait for <50 to reduce but I also don't reduce at the drop of a hat). I will skip a shot if I feel at all hesitant about shooting, whereas with Lucy (non-acro) I would usually talk myself into shooting. You do have to have a healthy respect for the big shed, but you don't have to be afraid of it. I have actually come to really appreciate the gigantic shed - when I do skip a shot, sometimes it doesn't have any negative effect at all!

So, back to your dose. No, you don't have to work back up slowly. You can either consider the two 5u shots to be BCS doses and just go right back up to 10.5, or you can split the difference and see what 7 or 8 units do. One of the approaches used on another acro group is to find a "window" in which your dose fits, and work to narrow that window. For example, if 10 units is too much then try 5 units for a couple of doses. If that is too little then try 7. If 7 is too much, then you know your good dose is between 5 and 7. If 7 is too little, then you know your good dose is between 7 and 10. Then keep narrowing the window. Because Guinness has already shown pink on 5u, I think it's safe to say that the shed has emptied and this is where the dose leaves him - not enough insulin.
 
Re: 7/4 Guinness AM 327| +3 260 Dosing help.

Libby, thank you! That sounds like a perfect plan. I will go and study those spreadsheets. It's been a crazy holiday weekend with numerous family activities and I'm barely finding time to post as it is. I know I have to study, but I'm having trouble finding the time.

Sienne, I've basically already decided to skip the shots and have since scheduled my pet sitter with that in mind. I'm going to try and get him up into a fairly good place before I leave (yeah, good luck, right) and hope for the best. It's the only way I can leave and not feel too stressed out about the whole thing.I've mapped out 100 different scenarios and keep coming back to that one as the best for my situation. I hope I'm right. :?

I think I will move forward with the window approach and bump him up to 7 units tonight and so forth from there. He did drop to 260 at +3, so that's encouraging.

Thank you again for your help!
 
Re: 7/4 Guinness AM 327|+3 260

just saying good morning, linda! actually his numbers look pretty good considering the dose wonkiness. he'll get back on his feet again at least by the end of this week. sounds like this week is guaranteed to be a little crazy number-wise because of life, but that's the way it goes.

do you want your petsitter to be able to post here and ask questions if she needs help, or are you just having her call you? oh nevermind, i just remembered you said the sitter won't be testing. is that right?
 
Re: 7/4 Guinness AM 327|+3 260

Linda:

You have to do what's right for you. I'm glad you're weighing all of the options. IMHO, it's the best way to come to a good decision!
 
Pet sitter will call me if anything goes wrong. I'm not her only client, so she's really a pill, shoot, feed, fill feeders, scoop boxes and leave type of sitter. I may have a friend pop in randomly just to see how they are.

I plan to push his shot up to 7units tonight and see how that goes. Thanks for all the feedback all!
 
Good morning Linda,
So glad to see an update from you and Guinness. And forgive me as yesterday I believe I spelled your boy's name wrong! :o

In the beginning there's always so much to learn about our special kitties but everything you do will bring you more data - more info - and eventually it does all help you. You are doing great! Guinness is lucky to have such a great mom - anything you are doing now is tons more than some people would ever do! :-D :thumbup

Like libby said - reading all the info is really the best way to get ahead for your boy - overwhelming right now but it does all sink in eventually - and you have lots of people routing for you!

xxx
patti
 
Hi Linda!!! Sounds like you've had a crazy busy weekend!!! Guinness is looking pretty good if you ask me!! I hope you don't worry too much about everything. You're doing a terrific job....you couldn't do any better!!! Pat yourself on the back for taking this much time to do everything you can for Guinness!!!

I hope you've been able to get a little R&R in this weekend!! Take care!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top