7/4 Gretchen's Trinka: Rest In Peace sweet Trinka

Status
Not open for further replies.
Do you know what antibiotic was given? If it was Convenia, it probably isn't the right antibiotic for the infection. Convenia is meant for skin conditions but vets use it for everything these days.
 
Amidst all else, he might be having an accumulated reaction to the convenia injections (if that is what vet injected).

Gretchen it's about time to retest. can you post the bg that needs to be done 30 minutes after the 134 bg about 1/2 hour ago? We have to see if he's beginning to hold his own or not.
 
Gretchen, it's been about an hour since the last BG check. It's CRITICAL that you get a reading ASAP to ensure Trinka's BG is staying in a safe range because that 134 may have been hugely influenced by whatever sugary stuff you gave him and he may be dropping again. Please update ASAP.
 
According to spreadsheet Trinka's BG is now up to 278. Please check him again in an hour just to be sure he is holding and not dropping again.

THE DOSE OF INSULIN TONIGHT HAS TO BE REDUCED! It's too dangerous to give the 2u at this point in time! Please post with the pre-shot number and get some advice about dosing. I'm leaning toward no more than 1u to be on the safe side right now as long as pre-shot is over 300. If it's lower, perhaps 0.5u. These huge and swift drops are just stressing Trinka's system too much particularly when he is not eating that well and he may drop more at night than he does during the day. With 2 cycles dropping to such low BG, caution is of the utmost importance right now and it's better to give too little insulin than too much.
 
I just got message from gretchen by message. And I've been internet inaccessible but heading home soon.

She got locked out of fdmb and hadn't been able to log in again.
I asked her to message me the latest bgs etc.
 
Last edited:
@MrWorfMen's Mom I copy and pasted yours above and messaged it to Gretchen.

Also asked to retest now if she hadn't done for the 1hr/ca 1:30pm retest time you asked for.

She messaged a few minutes ago that Trinka is "chilling on [her] feet in the kitchen."

Ok here is 2pm ET bg: 316
She Resumed spoon feeding him right now.
 
Ok good to know. I'm going to go get ready to go out now. It looks like Trinka's BG will be well above 300 at pre-shot tonight so I think 1u will be fine but I would caution Gretchen to get a test around +3 or at least +4 to ensure that he doesn't drop so drastically again and Gretchen has lots of time to bring BG up if the need should arise (fingers crossed it doesn't!). I'll try to check in when I get home but that will depend on time I get back.
 
Ok Linda. Thanks
Trinka messaged that Trinka eating liver shake just now.

Pm preshot time is in approx two hours ca 4pm. Test again at 3pm? Or hold til 4pm pm bg?
 
Update from Gretchen:
Nosebleeds have been recurring all day.
Trinka did have some liver shake since the 2pm bg. Going out quick to get honey and gravy cat foods. Back home by :2:45/3pm.
She will do 4pm (pmbg), another early one if any changes, post here or via message to me and wait for dosage amount verification from here.

Who can assist in her getting access to the forum since she was locked out today bc of too many incorrect passwords? @Jill & Alex (GA) ??
 
I don't know of anyone other than Jill to contact about lockout but whether she is available today or not is a big guess. I think as long as Trinka's BG is over 300, 1u should be OK. If it's lower, then we'd have to reconsider maybe 0.5u. I hate to reduce for fear of ketones but gees that poor cat is on a roller coaster and that can't be helping. Good she is getting honey and gravy food. I'm off now. Thanks for the help everyone! :D
 
Who can assist in her getting access to the forum since she was locked out today bc of too many incorrect passwords? @Jill & Alex (GA) ??
I have no idea how long a "lock out" lasts when too many incorrect passwords have been used. Under the circumstances, I would try again in an hour or two... if Gretchen feels confident that she knows the correct password. If not, the only other *possible* solution I know of is for her to "reset" her password:

Type in user name and then click on "Forgot Password".

FORGOT%20PASSWORD%201_zpsfw9ydmlo.jpg


Follow instructions on the next screen then click on "Reset Password":

FORGOT%20PASSWORD%202_zpsialay0r0.jpg


An email with instructions to reset her password will be sent to the email address she provided when registering.
 
Nosebleeds have been recurring all day.
Has an ER/vet been contacted about this? It's very worrisome.
I think as long as Trinka's BG is over 300, 1u should be OK. If it's lower, then we'd have to reconsider maybe 0.5u. I hate to reduce for fear of ketones but gees that poor cat is on a roller coaster and that can't be helping.
When getting insulin into a cat is imperative, it's ok to feed higher carb/high carb foods! Not only is it ok, but it's the safest way to do it.

ETA: Remember, developing ketones isn't about the numbers as much as it is about insufficient insulin.
 
Last edited:
@Jill & Alex (GA) thank you for the info and password reset instructions. I just them to Gretchen.
Re other: yes worrisome and very concerning. Idk about exact vet involvement today but aware to take to er.
Yes and she's returned from quick run to get more gravy foods and some honey.
 
Folks, with all this bouncing back and forth today, I mistated what I thought would be Trinka's pm t/f/s fir this afternoon. His morning shot was at 5:40 am (its usually been around 4am).
 
Gretchen's update as of 4:28pm (+11): 538

"538. Still nasally ate a few spoons of liver shake Sheba mix"

Pls advise.
 
gretchen just sent me some short videos but I can't upload them (never got the knack unless via YouTube).

She reports snoring right now and breathing hard. It's shy about an hour firvhus reduced dose (1u? 1.25? Other that's less than 2u.

But I'm very concerned about the breathing changes and the nosebleeds.
And his bg at +11 (4:30pm) is 538

Pls advise. @Jill & Alex (GA) @Yong @Sharon14 etc.
 
I'm broaching that now.
It's so close to pm reduced shot time (and needs to have a dose to lessen risk of ketosis but what amount depends on fud intake which hadn't been a lot) and I'm not qualified to do dosing advice.
The breathing and the recurring nosebleeds really worry me too.

Message from gretchen: er vet us 15-20 min from home.
 
In response to PM sent from HWright:

I am not qualified (never used N) nor do I believe in anyone offering specific advice for an insulin I/they have never used. That said, IMHO, the nose bleeding and breathing hard issues take precedence over insulin, but I'm not a vet. Neither are any of the rest of us.

I agree with Woodsywife: Go to the ER. Trinka needs help we are not qualified to give.
 
My feelings exactly. They also are the best to check lungs and heart and bp with all that's going on.
Will relay to gretchen who is standing by.
 
Ok gretchen on her way right now to er with Trinka.

I gave her my home phone # to call if can assist explaining things to er. This in part Bc she's not back to log in ability here yet.
If that's not kosher I'm sorry. Bjt it's what made sense under the total circumstances and urgency.
 
Ok gretchen on her way right now to er with Trinka.

I gave her my home phone # to call if can assist explaining things to er. This in part Bc she's not back to log in ability here yet.
If that's not kosher I'm sorry. Bjt it's what made sense under the total circumstances and urgency.
Just update by posting when you can so everyone is dealing with the same info.
Thank you, Sina!
 
Updating as I get info. so please bear with multiple posts.

Lost weight now 6#6oz
Temp normal
 
Just off phone with Gretchen, who is very distressed and upset, and talked with er vet Dr Fenwick.

Initial evaluation is kidney failure, severe dehydration and severe massive infection in nasal cavity area, source/cause of infection as yet undetermined. Said lungs ok and heart consistent with conditions described.

They're doing full panel right now. He will call back in about 20-30 min with results.
 
Was able to log in. At emergency vet getting bloodwork done. Doesn't look good. Trying to rule out kidney failure. Severely dehydrated emaciated and upper respitory. Fingers crossed
 
Have been spoon feeding him the last few days. Finished liver shake 1 can Sheba and 1 can fancy feast over course of day. Due for insulin now
 
Gretchen, glad you're back online here.
Crossing paws and heaps of vines for you and your Trinka.

Yes it is the time when Trinka would have his reduced insulin shot and supper. But at moment the lab work results and further evaluation have to take priority. So hold tight ok?
 
Ok gretchen on her way right now to er with Trinka.

I gave her my home phone # to call if can assist explaining things to er. This in part Bc she's not back to log in ability here yet.
If that's not kosher I'm sorry. Bjt it's what made sense under the total circumstances and urgency.
Bless you Sina. I've done it myself.
 
Dear friends, with heavy heart I share what gretchen just shared and more about our discussions, discussion with their er vet and the labs since their arrival at ER.

Gretchen said it was ok to share with you all. First, she and her husband Phil want to thank you all for your kindness, help, care and support.

The lab results, or rather the parts that could be read by the machine despite blood viscosity, confirmed even more so what the er vet was concerned about. After weighing the options of either overnight hospitalization for IV and observation or let Trinka go, the family has decided to let Trinka go.

Fly free sweet valiant and brave Trinka. I know that all the GA's are welcoming you at the Bridge. And our hearts are with you and your family during this your journey to the Great Beyond.
:rb_icon:cat_wings>o:rb_icon:
 
So sorry to hear the news Gretchen.....Nobody could have done more than you did for Trinka and letting him go was the last gift you could give him.
Fly free sweet Trinka and land softly.....there are lots of friends to greet you at the Bridge and keep you company until the one you love most comes to be with you forever cat_wings>o
 
((Gretchen))

I am so so sorry for your loss. You and Trinka fought a valiant battle, but you were wise enough to see that the fight was just too much for your precious boy.

You have given Trinka the greatest gift of love and allowed him to be finally at peace and pain free. Hold close all the special memories to give you peace and strength at this sad time.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Cat-elogie.jpg
 
I'm so sorry for your loss (((Gretchen and Phil))) :(
Fly Free Beautiful Trinka. Wait for your mommy at The Bridge.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top