7/4 Gretchen's Trinka: Rest In Peace sweet Trinka

Status
Not open for further replies.
Will stick to human meter less blood. 454 at 6 am spoon fed him liver shake. Waiting to hear from vets hopefully soon have to get ready for work
 
Ok thank you Gretchen.
I hope your vet will appreciate that 2.5u has been too much for Trinka. And that you will try what Linda (@MrWorfMen's Mom) and Chris (@Chris & China ) have urged above about doing the lower dose for the next few days and continued monitoring.

I'm glad you tested early at pm +4 last night, checked in here and fed and retested. Had you waited to test later in mid cycle, Trinka's numbers could have dropped further and might not have been able to come back up enough with food to be safe.
 
Well obviously we got no mid cycle today and then that horrific black pre-shot tonight. Wonder if that is indicative of yet another significant drop/bounce or lack of food/carbs through the day. Too many unanswered questions! I hate black pre-shots....they are not a good omen. :(
 
Well obviously we got no mid cycle today and then that horrific black pre-shot tonight. Wonder if that is indicative of yet another significant drop/bounce or lack of food/carbs through the day. Too many unanswered questions! I hate black pre-shots....they are not a good omen. :(
Idk
Hey Gretchen. How is Trinka tonight and can you fill us in too on his food intake and times?
 
Finished liver shake with Sheba added at 6. Offered water down ff he is finishing it now. 2units insulin at 6. Sounds congested and nose bleeding. Sneezing. Bg is 85
 
Last edited:
Ready to nap with mommy
20170704_011153.jpg
 
Good morning Gretchen. Thanks for updating about Trinka. Heartened to see that Trinka's am bg is lower and looks to be stabilizing after last night.

The extremely high pm preshot last night, as Linda described, might have been bc of bounce with not enough food during day to help counter a bg drop during the day.

I know it can be hard to be sure he's got enough food in him on days when both you and hubby's work schedules mean that neither of you are home to be sure Trinka eating enough.

How is Trinka this morning?

Has Trinka had nosebleeds before? Was the bleeding bright or dark red?How is his breathing, congestion? How is his behavior this morning?

Sending vines for a feel better day.
 
Gretchen, if you can, it would be helpful to get a reading at +4 or +5 instead of +6 for today and tomorrow's cycles to see how early/fast Trinka is dropping. He dropped a lot last night and that lower pre-shot this morning was nice but a bit unexpected. I am wondering if the dose is too high in relation to the amount of food Trinka is taking in. Until he will eat enough on his own, it's important to make sure he is not dropping too much especially when he is on his own and you can't ensure he's getting any nutrition during the peak drop in the cycle.
 
Gretchen, I think that test is around +4. and Trinka is very low, still safe now but may drop further. That reading was on the Relion meter, correct? I would suggest you either rub some honey on Trinka's gums or add some honey to the liver shake if Trinka will take it that way. We need to make sure she doesn't go any lower. Please do this and then get another test of BG in about 20 minutes.
 
You need something with a high sugar content to push the BG up quickly and I doubt Nutrical would have that much sugar in it but I'm not familiar with the ingredients. I'd stick with honey, karo syrup or maple syrup as they are very concentrated sugar content and will work quickly to bring BG up.
 
Just checked the Nutri-Cal. Since it has some corn syrup in it, it may help push BG up but I'd still rub some syrup or honey on Trinka's gums for a quick boost. Then if Trinka will take some Nutri-Cal, give him a bit. We don't want to fill him up with a lot of stuff to the point where he won't eat or drink anything in the next few hours because he's full.
 
That's fine. It's not needed right now but you may want to pick some up for future use just to ensure you can get enough calories into Trinka.
 
Gretchen, did you rub honey on Trinka's gums? I suggest you do so again immediately or get him to lick some honey off a spoon. Trinka is teetering on the edge of safe now and we can't let his numbers drop any further. Give honey or karo and test again in 15 minutes., If BG has not come up or stayed steady by then, you may need to take Trinka to the vet to get his BG up and keep him safe.

Just saw your last post. That's good that he is eating but we need to be careful not to fill him up with stuff right now because you are going to have to keep his BG up for a few hours and he may need to eat more through that period of time. Please give him some honey or karo and just a bit of the Sheba if he's already had the liver shake. Do you have any food with gravy on it?

The 51 now is far too low and we need to get that up ASAP. Please test again in 20 minutes after some honey or karo is either rubbed on his gums or he takes some off a spoon.
 
Gretchen, If you were saying you didn't have karo, honey, or syrup can you ask a neighbor? In a pinch I think you can mix some white sugar with warm water to a syrup consistency. We don't want him going any lower, especially with his eating difficulties.
 
@Yong will you be around to keep an eye on things here later today? I am going out later this afternoon and will not be available until very late tonight or possibly tomorrow morning and I think we need to seriousy reconsider the 2u dose at this point. I suspect Trinka might have dropped very low last night too so he's going to be more insulin sensitive now. I'm thinking dropping the dose to 1u tonight if pre-shot is high enough. Thoughts?
 
I should be around for a couple hours to check in. Yes, I was just thinking about dose to either 1.0 or 1.25U depending on his PS.
 
Just seeing these recent updates. I will update thread title to reflect today's and add 911

Gretchen, yes bg far too low for him. In addition to the nutri-cal and getting some Karo or honey from neighbors: Do you have some maple syrup? If so try that in same way would do the honey etc. try not to load him up with too much food all at once. Needs the protein gradually to help offset the fast action of syrup stuff.
 
Wonderful to see the BG up now. Don't give any more food or other sweet stuff and check BG again in 30 minutes. We need to see if Trinka can hold the BG up there on his own without any more food/carb influence added.

The nosebleed is concerning. Is this happening when Trinka sneezes or spontaneously? How long till it stopped bleeding? You could try an ice pack on his muzzle but I doubt he'd tolerate it well.
 
The next time you go to the store, I would buy a few cans of wet food with gravy in it, and some syrup or honey, and stash them in a separate corner of your pantry along with a printed out copy of the hypo instructions for the times when you need it. You don't want to be stuck in the middle of the night needing them immediately.
 
Is he still on antibiotics for the URI or are they finished? This is something you need to take up with the vet. It could just be dried out nasal passages but better to have the vet check especially if he is still sneezing. I don't think straining to poop should make his nose bleed. Maybe the URI didn't get completely dealt with by the antibiotics.
 
Ok thank you gretchen. Good that Trinka's bg up.

Til others weigh in here, I'll note:
It's fast rise bc of the sugary stuff so you need to give him some food, little bits at a time to stabilize the fast drop from the syrup. You need to keep rechecking his bg at time intervals Linda and others suggest. Keep the syrup or nutrical handy bc you may need to periodically apply a bit to his gum if he starts to dive again into low numbers.

I'm concerned about the coinciding nosebleeds and the runny poo and ask you to be ready to bring him to vet or er should situation not stabilize within the next few hours.

Also please don't automatically dose the 2units tonight. Post here first and then wait for input.

We'll evaluate dose at this afternoon's pm bg reading and based on how he does today and what his bg is throughout the day. What Linda and/or Yong wrote about the possibility of him now being insulin-sensitive makes a whole lot of sense. He may need a lower dose than this morning's dose was.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top