7/4 Gretchen's Trinka: Rest In Peace sweet Trinka

Status
Not open for further replies.
IMG_20170627_123134_362.jpg
 
Good morning Gretchen. Glad to see that you're making steady progress with home testing and that the rythym is becoming easier for you and Trinka. ❤

Glad too, about getting started with spreadsheet (sometimes known as SS)!
Like Sharon, I needed help getting the spreadsheet set up, too. There are folks here who are whiz bang with technology, too! So just give a shout out!
 
Wasn't walking on front paw ate some food with phos bind and zobaline in it. Finished one portion Sheba and 1/3 can fancy feast all except for I teaspoon. Bg was 380 at 5.30 gave 2 1/2 units insulin . Tested at 7.00 was 409 before he finished eating
 
I'm glad you posted here, gretchen . Am Concerned too. How does he seem to you right now while he's resting? I'm glad you got a +1.5 test in (1.5 hrs after pm insulin) and you're keeping an eye on him and will retest ca 8:30/9pm if not sooner if you can.
Others following here: suggestions please?
@Sharon14 @MrWorfMen's Mom @Yong @manxcat419 (if you're online accessible)?
 
Glad he ate some. Front paw could be the neuropathy, or maybe he injured it somehow? How is he doing otherwise?
 
Gretchen, can you upload a picture of the meter you are using please. I want to see if it might be the same as one I tested out but here in Canada, it was under a different brand name. If it's the same as the one I tested out, I may be able to give you a few tips to ensure getting a reading.

The BG readings of 380 and 409 are basically the same given allowable meter variance. I assume Trinka ate when you gave the 2.5u of insulin and then again at +1.5 post shot? I don't find the readings concerning other than they are high.
 
I shared Gretchen's concern when Trinka's bg started back in the 400's after a day or so in the high 200's and she was concerned that he wasn't eating and his front paw and demeanor was as you see in the photo. Thankfully he's eaten more, moved around a bit, used LB to pee and is resting now.

I can't account for why his bg began to resume in the 400's again. Could these be bounces from low midcycle numbers which might be helped by mini meals during mid cycle? Maybe beginnings of constipation if that's a possible side effect of the phos binder? Other?

Once your spreadsheet is set up, Gretchen, and when you can do some mid cycle tests, it'll help a lot to see how he responds to the novalin inbetween shots and with food. One step at a time, you're doing great.

Trinka and Gretchen: you both were great about doing retests tonight and looking after each other. I hope the rest of the night will be smooth sailing for you both.
 
Glad he's walking better now. Gretchen, if you are willing to have a short conversation with me, I have made a Spreadsheet for you and back logged as much data as I could figure out from previous postings. Added a couple custom columns as well. All you would have to do from here on out, is fill it in accordingly :). Just let me know if you are interested. I won't be back on until tomorrow evening, but you can just post here that you want it and I will send you a PM (private message) :cat:
 
Sorry for the delay getting back. Had to take a friend to the airport. :)

I really wonder if the dose of insulin is too high but without more testing data it's hard to judge. I noticed in an earlier post, the dose was 2u and now you've indicated you gave 2.5u. I am curious just when Trinka was diagnosed, what the starting dose of insulin was and how often the dose was raised and by how much. That may have been covered in earlier posts. I'll see if I can find this info but a refresher would be helpful. If Trinka is continually sitting in high numbers because of bouncing, that alone could be making her feel very poorly.

As for the Ever Paw meter, it is indeed the same one I tested but here it is under the Fast Care brand. I found the readings were within a reasonable range of the AT2 pet meter although it read a bit lower at high numbers and a bit higher at low numbers. There were also a couple of pesky issues with the meter.

1. The meter takes a lot of blood compared to many other meters which will make testing more difficult for both you and Trinka. My recommendation would be to get a Relion human meter (Confirm or Micro) from Walmart as they take a tiny drop of blood and will make testing much easier. Even as a seasoned tester with a cat whose ears bleed extremely well, I wasted a number of strips due to the blood bead size required.

2. The meter will turn on and read even if the strip is NOT seated properly in the meter. Make sure the strip is very firmly pushed into the meter and sometimes it seemed difficult to get the strip to seat properly.

Glad to hear she is walking on her paw again!
 
Trinka seems to be having a pretty flat cycle and that again suggests that the dose of insulin may be too high. I strongly encourage you to take Yong up on her offer to get the spreadsheet going (see message # 170 above) so we can see the data you're collecting in a way that will show us the pattern of BG readings in relation to the dose given. That really is the only way we can offer more specific and relevant suggestions to help you help your extra sweet Trinka.:)
 
I admit this is just a guess, but I am going to suggest you back the dose off to 2u tonight and see if that starts bringing the numbers down. The Relion meter being a human meter will not read as high as the pet meter and that would explain the HI reading. I still think part of the problem may be too much rather than too little insulin. I'd recommend taking another reading in about 2 to 3 hours post shot to see how much and how fast Trinka is dropping.
 
Thinking it's a fluke. First I've heard of a human meter reading higher than pet meter. Did you retest with ReliOn?
The 7pm test and I think the 9:30 was relion, gretchen started with it tonight. The am preshot was with everpaw.

Gretchen. Am I remembering this correctly? What's the retest number and with which meter?
 
Had 2 portions since 7 pm when he got insulin. Finished second one at 9.30 read high on relion meter and 468 on everpaw. Will test again when hubby gets up at 1 am
 
Ok Gretchen thank you.
Please update here at 1am test.
If you can reply to the message in conversation section that I sent you so that Yong can finish the spreadsheet setup she's done and what needs to be done to complete the access for you that'd be great.
Also Linda (mR worfmans mom) has some insight and suggestions to consider and talk about re Trinka's current dose. Hope you can re-read and reply/ask questions to these tonight or when it's quiet in the wee hours.
Glad Trinka is eating hearty and being an extremely good sport about home testing!
 
539 on relion meter at 2.45. Had one portion Sheba plus few spoonfulls liver shake with binder and renakare. Retested at 3.30 am on everpaw meter was 436
 
Good morning Gretchen, thanks for posting Trinka's early morning test and food info. How are you both now and what's his morning t/f/s (test/feed/shoot insulin)?
 
Gretchen, please check your Inbox with the conversation with Sina and myself. No offense, but I'm not going to continue to update your SS I prepared. I've kept it updated as possible based on your posts to be helpful and ready for you to take it over but my boy needs my attention.
 
Gretchen, please check your Inbox with the conversation with Sina and myself. No offense, but I'm not going to continue to update your SS I prepared. I've kept it updated as possible based on your posts to be helpful and ready for you to take it over but my boy needs my attention.
Gretchen
please check your inbox here in fdmb for the private message. Please do this today.

All Yong needs is a little information from you to get your spreadsheet up and running for you to use and others here to refer to and help with Trinka.

Here's a screen shot of the top of the fdmb screen. You click on the tab with the 3 horizontal lines (I did that for the screenshot) and then click on "conversations (pm)" ❤
IMG_2127.PNG
 
Hi all,

First: Trinka's spreadsheet is almost a good-to-go. Yong and Gretchen almost there, hoping that SS will be up and running by tomorrow :bighug:

Second: Gretchen and I were in touch during earlier part of the day and again tonight.
Here are today's t/f/s (gretchen please correct me if I missed something, ok?) with some questions to follow:

6/30/17 (r for relion meter, e for everpaw meter)
Test (t):
2:45am 539 r
3:30am 436 e
8:46am 126
11:01am 384
9:40pm 580

Food:
2:45am Sheba & liver shake
3:30am+- food
8:50 am+- food (approx +6 from an fur shot)
11:01am food
4pm food
Food available 4-9:40pm while out
Food 9:40pm

Insulin (novolin):
3:30 am fur shot/partial shot -2.5u
9:40pm late shot (usually ca 4pm) 2.5u

Ok here are immediate question(s) for help:
Pm shot was approx +5 after usual 12-hr shoot cycle that is ca 4am and ca 4pm. What should gretchen do tomorrow about insulin shoot times and dosage amount bc tomorrow morning's regular shoot time would be 4am but with tonight's dosage and shoot time, the dose would be at about +7 hours into the pm dose cycle?

Also what dosage amount would be most appropriate tomorrow to avoid insulin overload/hypo?

Also, gretchen is bringing Trinka to vet tomorrow (1pm) for fluids and weekly b12. My question is and because it's been two weeks since Trinka's CBC. Is it about time to either do a CBC or specific tests to recheck kidney function, anemia, phos and potassium levels (Trinka on phos binder for high phos and potassium for low potassium?

I know it's the beginning of holiday weekend (btw: happy 4th July...where's a fireworks emoji ;)) but your input for gretchen and Trinka asap is much appreciated.
Sina

@Yong @MrWorfMen's Mom @Sharon14 ?
 
I'd typically say to skip but I don't think that would be good for Trinka. Sometimes it seems the insulin works for most of the 12 hours but it's hard to tell. Sorry I'm not much help here.

Spreadsheet was just updated with provided information :). Gretchen has been given ownership of the Spreadsheet. Hopefully, she will use it. I do not plan on updating it further, no offense.
Trinka's Spreadsheet
 
I'd typically say to skip but I don't think that would be good for Trinka. Sometimes it seems the insulin works for most of the 12 hours but it's hard to tell. Sorry I'm not much help here.

Spreadsheet was just updated with provided information :). Gretchen has been given ownership of the Spreadsheet. Hopefully, she will use it. I do not plan on updating it further, no offense.
Trinka's Spreadsheet

Thank you Yong :bighug:

Gretchen, Yong's privided the link to your spreadsheet. Here's a screenshot of where you go to add it to your profile page "signature." This makes it possible for folks to view Trinka's spreadsheet.

To add data, you access your spreadsheet via google sheets or by clicking on the link in your signature (you are the only one who has editing rights in your profile page and the google spreadsheets). It'd be great if you can add the link tonight.
When you open your profile page, clicj on signature and paste the link that Yong highlighted in bold as "Trinka's Spreadsheet". Then save the signature section and it should be there.

Also, I hope we'll get some input about dosing recommendations for tomorrow. So, hold tight!!

I changed the title to this thread tonight to reflect tonight's questions about tomorrow's dosing.

IMG_2128.PNG
 
Pm shot was approx +5 after usual 12-hr shoot cycle that is ca 4am and ca 4pm. What should gretchen do tomorrow about insulin shoot times and dosage amount bc tomorrow morning's regular shoot time would be 4am but with tonight's dosage and shoot time, the dose would be at about +7 hours into the pm dose cycle?

Also what dosage amount would be most appropriate tomorrow to avoid insulin overload/hypo?

The quickest and safest way to get back on schedule, prevent potential hypo and keep this simple would be to move morning shot ahead and have an extended cycle from Friday PM to Saturday AM shot and another extended cycle between the Saturday AM and Sunday AM shots.

Normal Shot time is 4am/pm
Shot given Friday roughly 3:30am/9:40pm

Suggested Saturday/Sunday Shot Times to get back on schedule
Saturday AM - give shot that would have been due at 09:40 am at Noon making Friday night cycle roughly 14.25 hours long.
Mark Saturday PM shot as skipped on SS
Sunday AM - give shot that would have been due around MN Saturday at 4am Sunday making cycle 16 hours between shots)
Sunday PM- give shot at regular 4PM time.

This way, while technically skipping a shot, the amount of time without insulin coverage is reduced for 2 cycles rather than missing an entire 12 hours of coverage. Dose wise I'd suggest lowering the dose to 2u to see if that flattens out the cycles a bit.

I think it would be advisable to do a CBC, and check potassium. I'm not sure if kidney values need to be checked again although with Trinka still not feeling well, it certainly wouldn't hurt.

Happy Canada Day and Fourth of July!
graphics-fireworks-076092.gif
 
@Trinkasmommy : Gretchen, you here? Glad you got the 3:30an test in and posted.

Sorry about the pee. Any idea who?

Have you read @MrWorfMen's Mom 's suggestion above about shoot schedule for today and tomorrow with reduced dose to get Trinka back on schedule after last night's late shot?

Please reply.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top