Caryl and Alex said:
Miriam..I bow to you. I have tried and tried again to say this very same thing. In the same words, in other words, but only to deaf ears.
You can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink, right?
Jay is intent on having his own life and he is not willing to give up several beautiful sunny days or lovely evenings, or sleep to collect data...no matter how much he loves Frankie...and that's okay. But he's using the wrong insulin. Jay, you need to collect data to know how Frankie responds to this insulin. He's been on Lantus since March and you still basically have none. I KNOW that Alex will bounce if he goes too low. I KNOW that his nadir is around 6 or 7 hours but sometimes it goes to 11. I KNOW that it takes 8 cycles for a dose to settle for him which is longer than most cats and unless there are "problems" i should wait it out to see a result. What do you know? I was working for my vet for a month and watched him do a few 'diabetic demos'. I wanted to scream at the antiquity of his methods but his clients were happy. They thought they were helping their kitties and the less they knew the better.....shoot blindly and go (is that what you want, Jay) ?*sigh* :YMSIGH:
Missing shots and changing times and doses with Lantus is screwing Frankie up completely and can cause the exact situations that you're trying to avoid...hypo and/or the very high numbers. YOU never take the shed into account because you don't "get it" (and granted, it IS hard to get at first) but with a bean who can't see beyond your own desires, what YOU want... it's triply as hard.
My suggestion at this point would be to research another insulin. I have no clue which one but if you don't snap out of it and stop carrying this "I'll dose when I think it's necessary 'tude around about Lantus, you're GOING to hurt Frankie. I don't know when, but you will. I hate being a militant ball breaker but I think we've all seen enough attitude at this point when everyone has been trying so hard to help you. Get with the program Jay. We love Frankie and want to see him succeed.
And btw, you've been REALLY lucky with that vial..you NEED to buy a new one..if you can afford to buy cigarettes these days, you can certainly afford a new vial of Lantus every few months. The cigarettes are dangerous, the new vial of Lantus is imperative.(unless you think you know more than the manufacturer). And, for all the times you have emailed me to asked me how my boys are, you would have known if you had read my condo as well.
That's my opinion and I'm sticking to it. Sorry. :-|
Caryl
Do you think any thing here is really going to relieve my frustation with this sh-t
You want data about shooting low. Is this is how this is supposed to work? There comes a point in time that no matter what you do, say, no matter how you plan and agonize over it. It clearly doesnt work for Frankie the way (yeah its clinical, the protocol, in a lab, not with Frankie) this has been described.
Blame me, for testing and shooting. Blame me for missing doses when he clearly doesnt need one (in particular when I'm not here to monitor him) balme me for not giving you enough precious data to yet again blame me for trying to figure out how to make this work when it clearly doesnt, B;lame me for listening to all the advice here about shooting low, when you can just walk away from repsonsibility if I come home one day with a cat that has siezed, leaving me to pick up the pieces. Balme me for shoooting early (if shooting early is a dose increase, and he is moving up and is high, so be it. He needs the insulim)
Nothing here helps!
Whats the definition of insanity.
Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Its time for Frankie and me to leave here.
Here is data for you to rack your brains out trying to figure out why and how to make it right.
I give up with this ****. I'm leaving here. We have taken care of each other for the past 5 years without this board for most of that time. I think we can do fine on our own and try and find something that works for him as this clearly doesnt.
Here
Today
APMS 158, +2 129 +4 181
Very typical of what has been going on.; Shoot low, and he goes sky high. Why then shoot I shoot low to worry about whehter I'll come home to a siezed cat.
I'm outta here
Clearly he is rising, and will be once again high as kite by the time the 12 hours is over.