7/4 Cooper AMPS 433 +6.25 276 PMPS 373 +3 245

Gabrielle17

Member Since 2023
Good morning! Happy 4th of July to those who celebrate!

Yesterday I was advised that since Cooper has a fairly big drop between his pre-shot number and +2 that I should get a +4 in the PM cycle to be sure he wasn't dropping again significantly. It was suggested that if this was the case, perhaps give a snack around the +1 or +1.5. With this new data from last night, should I be worried and should I give that snack at +1/+1.5? I figured since it stayed within the 200 range that he was okay, but perhaps that was a bad assumption.

Yesterday's Thread:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-03-cooper-amps-345-pmps-404-2-5-254-4-223.279136/
 
Hi Gabrielle,
Thanks for getting the +4 last night.
It looks like he has an early onset around +1 to +2 but doesn't keep dropping fast after that. It would not hurt to check though to see if that is happening every cycle or not. It is all good data.
I would still give the snack at +1 or +1.5 because we want to stop the fast drop between PMPS and +2.
Fast drops can cause bouncing which we want to avoid if possible. Here is an explanation about bouncing
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
With this new data from last night, should I be worried
Absolutely not. It is just showing us Cooper has an early onset. I was just concerned he might keep dropping.
He has not reached the best dose yet and that takes time to get there. Once he gets closer to the best dose the BGs will come down and the duration of the insulin will last longer and you will hopefully see lower preshots. Just keep following the dosing method and you will get there.
 
Hi Gabrielle,
Thanks for getting the +4 last night.
It looks like he has an early onset around +1 to +2 but doesn't keep dropping fast after that. It would not hurt to check though to see if that is happening every cycle or not. It is all good data.
I would still give the snack at +1 or +1.5 because we want to stop the fast drop between PMPS and +2.
Fast drops can cause bouncing which we want to avoid if possible. Here is an explanation about bouncing
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Absolutely not. It is just showing us Cooper has an early onset. I was just concerned he might keep dropping.
He has not reached the best dose yet and that takes time to get there. Once he gets closer to the best dose the BGs will come down and the duration of the insulin will last longer and you will hopefully see lower preshots. Just keep following the dosing method and you will get there.

Thank you so much for taking the time to explain it all to me. :)

I do remember reading about bouncing, so that does make sense! I will start giving a little snack tonight at +1 and test maybe at +3 before bed to see the difference. Also, I work from home tomorrow so I think I can try to get a +2 and +4 in the AM cycle to see where we're at.
 
Back
Top