7/4 Bob AMPS=283 What do I do with all this tuna???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
Happy 4th LL!! It looks like a hurricane here in central FLorida, so I hope everyone else has some good weather for fireworks!

Good news!!!! Bob ate 1/4 of a can of FF!!! I put a tbs of tuna water on it and he ate it all. Now, my only problem is getting him to eat a decent amount at one time. I think we figured that he needed to eat 2 5.5 oz cans of food, but I just don't see him doing that. The few times he ate wet food, he either licked it or just nibbled and then leaves it. I'm going to try again for dinner and see what happens. I would like to feed him a little dry too so that he doesn't have belly problems, but not sure how to do that.... questions:

1. how long does tuna water last?
2. how long is it safe to feed him tuna water? That may be the only way he will eat the canned food.
3. what do I do with all this tuna??? I REFUSE to eat this nasty brown tuna. Gross.
 
If you have a blender.... you can make more tuna water..... :lol: .... I'd say ice cube trays or other small containers for future use.
You can take a chunk of tuna and put it in your blender with water and make a slurry.... and then freeze it.


I often have to do the same with shrimp. Shadow prefers raw shrimp and that's how I used to give her the insulin shots. She had to have shrimp mixed in with her food.
 
Never thought of that! I will do that. Is the tuna water the same as eating tuna? High in mercury? Should I worry about Bob's kidneys?
 
I am guessing you are using human quality tuna.
I'd be a lot more hesitant to use pet food tuna very often. Simply because it's what's left over on the docks after they take the human quality away.
 
Yes, I froze the tuna slurry too, in ice cube trays and added it to Winks' food. It was one of the things he liked so defrosting a cube and pouring it over the wet food got him to eat it. Then, I started to mix some tuna water directly into the food. He liked that too.

For now, don't worry about the possible mercury content. Once Bob is eating more wet food, you can change so he is eating less fish. Let's get him eating more of the low carb canned first.

Sorry to hear of your lousy weather today for the holiday. Looks like thunderstorms on tap for your area down in FL.
 
Well, I think I got too excited. Bob was very hungry and whining for food so I have him 1.5 oz of ff with 2 tbs of tuna water and he wouldn't touch it. ohmygod_smile I gave him 30 min and then just have him dry. I'm very sad. Don't understand this kitty....
 
Lkldcatlady said:
Well, I think I got too excited. Bob was very hungry and whining for food so I have him 1.5 oz of ff with 2 tbs of tuna water and he wouldn't touch it. ohmygod_smile I gave him 30 min and then just have him dry. I'm very sad. Don't understand this kitty....
Oh don't feel sad! How about a serving of tuna by itself? Or maybe 1 t. tuna (with tuna water) and then some dry? You are doing great. Just hang in there. Maybe offer the FF once per day for now...???
 
If I had only left the wet food out for 30 minutes, Wink would never have eaten it. I left it down for hours. He was a grazer. I had to get him more used to only having food available at certain times of the day.

Have you tried the 'chip and dip' trick? Take a dozen pieces or so of the dry food, dip them into the wet food so there is a tiny bit of wet food on each piece of dry. Leave the dipped pieces out on a plate as the only dry food available to him.
 
Lkldcatlady said:
I won't give up. I'll figure something out. ;-)
I know you will not give up. But Bob is certainly trying your patience. Here are a pair of patience pants to borrow.
 

Attachments

  • rainbow jeans.png
    rainbow jeans.png
    46.4 KB · Views: 210
oooooh.....ahhhhh.....I like those way better than the blue ones. I increased Bob to 4 units because I thought if he still had numbers in the 300's that's what I should do. However, looking at his ss, should I have only done .25 because he has some yellows? I figure the 4.0 will be ok with his high-carb food, but I want to make sure.
 
Hey Deb - I didn't see this until this morning, but I got a +3, +5 and +7. Looks pretty good....nice to see yellow, but that may just be the relion compared to the evil alphatrak!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top