7/4/10 HARLEY PMS 449 - +3 395

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
I am doing a curve today to see what is going on with my guy. Vet wants me to put him on a diet and get rid of the cooked raw food, just sticking with the FF.

He seems to be hungry all the time, and when he cries for food - the neighbors can even hear him.

This is the pattern I have used:

1 am - treat of cooked chicken (he actually wakes me up at this time and 4 am for food)
4 am - treat of cooked chicken
6 am - shot + 1 to 1.5 cans FF (2 K+ pills crushed into food)
noon - 1/2 can FF
4 pm - cooked chicken
6 pm - shot + 1 to 1.5 cans FF (1 K+ pill in food + 0.8ml budsondie mixed in)

Per day, I bet I am going thru a minimum of 3-4 cans FF.

Thanks for everyone's help.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/4/10 Harley amps 315

Good morning Pattie,

I'm including the curve chart example for you to guide you along with your testing, from the New to the Group stickie up above New To The Group....have a look for more info links about Onset, Peak and Duration

A curve can be every two hours or a mini curve every three hours.



Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
How to do a Curve

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number

Good luck with the curve!
 
Re: 7/4/10 Harley amps 315

Thank you. I did read the sticky which is why I am doing another curve. I did one about a month ago. I even printed the "typical" curve and have it in front of me to compare.

Just did a +2 and we are sitting at 263.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/4/10 Harley amps 315

Hi Pattie! My Shadow as ravenously hungry at the beginning too. You might see the appetite taper off when the insulin is regulated.
When you say you give cooked chicken as a treat, how much are giving hm exactly?
As far as giving the different doses...it is consistency that is important here....so as Libby suggested to you, sticking with the 6.0u both in the AM and the PM would be the way to go....

Here is the link to your previous post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18779 (Friday)
Did you post a condo yesterday? I can't seem to find it. If you did post, can you please link it to today's condo as well?
Sorry, I guess keep missing it... :razz:
 
Re: 7/4/10 Harley amps 315

Housekeeping: Please remember to link your previous condo - Harley's 7/3 Condo

Cooked chicken is about 50 cal. per ounce
A can of FF averages around 95 cal. per can. So, Harley is getting between 285 - 380 cal. from canned food.

I don't think the chicken is the primary problem. I put the link to Dr. Lisa's site and the section on feline obesity and her recommendations regarding weight management in your condo from yesterday. To maintain his current weight, Harley should be getting less than 233 cal. per day.

As for a curve, you can test every 2 hrs. You don't need to test hourly.
 
Re: 7/4/10 Harley amps 315

Thank you, but here comes a confession. I do want to do the very best for my boy, since he had such a bad time with DKA x2 last year....the confession is - I am computer illiterate and do not know how to link with previous threads. I had to have serious help with the signature and his spreadsheet (actually it was done for me because I just could not catch on). I will try and find how to link previous condos. Do I link every one that I do?

Pattie
 
Re: 7/4/10 Harley amps 315

.


It's ok Pattie...others will do it for you if it gets missed.

It' s pretty easy once you get the hang of it.
Yup, every day is a new thread/condo for each kitty.
 
Re: 7/4/10 HARLEY PMS - 449 (HELP)

This is a disaster. Harley’s PMS was 449. This is now the 3rd time since the 29th that numbers have been so high. The only thing I can think of is the Prime Taste Treats. The only ingredient was freeze dried chicken but they are going in the TRASH.

What do I do now? I gave his 6 units like always…just ride this out or what?

YIKES

Pattie
 
Re: 7/4/10 HARLEY PMS - 449 (HELP)

Ride it out

...if you can - I'd suggest grabbing at least one spot check tonight thou.


If it's freeze dried - it's actually a really good treat - or even if it was just plain old cooked chicken. I don't think you have to worry about the treat.

By the way - you did great today you know. Good job on the curve!
 
Re: 7/4/10 HARLEY PMS - 449 (HELP)

These numbers may reflect a bounce from last night. I hate to keep carping about the need for PM spot checks, but without them, you are missing half f the information you need.
 
Re: 7/4/10 HARLEY PMS - 449 (HELP)

You ok here?
No beating yourself up right?
This is normal, it happens, and it will pass. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/4/10 HARLEY PMS - 449 (HELP)

I'm ok, but I am feeling guilty...I try to hard to keep stuff away from him. I really do read the labels but did not see a thing on this one to indicate a problem. My neighbor is my pet sitter and we were talking about this and as I was talking, it hit me, that over the last 6 days, that chicken treat was the main one I have been giving. I usually give a freeze dried salmon (no spikes in bg there).

so, do I just ride this out. with it being a holiday weekend I am going to do a partial curve tonight...maybe every 3 hours. That should give me some information on what he does at night or because of this really high bg should I try a different night?

Pattie
 
Re: 7/4/10 HARLEY PMS - 449 (HELP)

It would be good to get at least one check in tonight Pattie.

If you like a +3 and a bedtime check.

Take it easy!
 
Re: 7/4/10 HARLEY PMS - 449 (HELP)

I am hyperventilating here. He is going around crying for food and drinking like he did when he was first diagnosed. I checked for ketones about 3pm and he was negative...is this the onset of DKA again? Do I dare feed him something or just let him cry.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/4/10 HARLEY PMS - 449 (HELP)

awwww ((((((((patti))))))
I so understand the howling and crying for water (not food in our case). It feels so helpless and you know they are uncomfortable. :YMSIGH:

I have never had the problem with the insatiable hunger (we have the opposite here), but I think others have always suggested letting them eat. When they sit in higher numbers they often feel ravenous all the time. Hopefully if someone who has dealt with the hunger before thinks otherwise about feeding, they will chime in. The excessive thirst is also VERY normal.

Did you say you were giving budesonide, as in steroid? If so, it often has less effect on BG's, but can still raise them.

I can tell you are so worried and trying so hard. This is all new and people are throwing this bit of information out...and that...and do this..do that. Sooooooooo Overwhelming. I shed many tears in the beginning out of frustration. Just trust that it WILL get less overwhelming. Things will start clicking and tho may continue to be frustrating at times, it will be easier.

I hope your curve this evening goes well.

hang in there!
 
Re: 7/4/10 HARLEY PMS - 449 (HELP)

It's absolutely fine to feed Harley. If you are going to reduce his calories, it's done very, very gradually. What I would suggest is spreading out his meals more. You can easily divide a can of FF into 1/8s and have him snack on small amounts throughout the day or even divide a can into quarters and feed that way.

I did look up the treats you're feeding. On the surface, they look fine. What I'd suggest, is getting a different brand and see how Harley does with a different brand of freeze dried chicken. The only think I could think of is that maybe they brine the chicken before freeze drying. Brines are frequently a combination of sugar and salt.
 
Re: 7/4/10 HARLEY PMS - 449 (HELP)

Hi Pattie -

Hang in there... this too shall pass...

I'm just going to offer some instructions on how to link to your previous day's condo:

There is a link near the top of the page, next to where it says User Control panel. It says "View your posts" - if you click on that you will see all of the condos you've posted in. Find yours from the previous day (should probably be near or at the top of any list) and position the mouse over the title. Then right click on it and you will see a little window pop up with a list of options. Click on "Copy link location". That will copy the location of your previous day's condo to the computer clipboard (kind like an imaginary notepad in the computer's memory). When you open up a condo for the day, there is a list of things across the top of the text box - you can click on URL and paste in link between the tabs (If you hover over where it says URL on the button it gives you kind of instructions). I don't know how "computer illiterate" you are - do you know how to paste the link in? You can either click on "Edit" on your browser window and choose Paste or you can right click and choose paste. Or you hit the control button and 'V" at the same time (ctrl V). Sorry if I'm oversimplifying, but I'm explaining this the way I would to my mom :smile:

Don't feel bad about not knowing how to do stuff - just ask. I do computer work for a living and the way this board works is completely new and different for me so I've had to ask how to do a lot of things!
 
Re: 7/4/10 HARLEY PMS - 449 (HELP)

budesonide is a steroid. Harley has been on it for about 6 months and has not had this kind of problem with it. Another 1/2 hour and I do a +3 check.

My guy ate, not only his food, but bumped his sister and brother away from their plates (I feed them together - FF)and licked them clean. I found him a comfortable cushion and he is now laying down. No more crying.

I will post what the numbers are tonight. I hope to continue with every 3 hours tonight.

THANK YOU ALL...this really frightened me. The only time he had this high of numbers was in the beginning.

Pattie
 
Just took his bg - +3 is 395. I am taking a sigh of relief with it going down. The treats are gone – took them over to the neighbors dog. From now on it is just the salmon..I know that that has not affected him in the past.

I want (so badly) for his numbers to be in the green and blue’s. Thanks so much for all your help.

Pattie
 
Hi Pattie,
Glad he has been able to feel a little more peaceful for the moment.

My latte is a steroid induced diabetic. She continues to take the steroid, and can often have very wacky numbers.

Forgive me if Im mentioning things you already know, but a steroid makes them more vulnerable to infection. Add the high numbers (dumping sugar into urine) and its always a strong possibility. If this continues over the weekend it might be worth getting a urinalysis and culture done to make sure. The infection and high numbers can also make them more prone to the ketones.

Is the budesonide for IBD?
 
Yes, he was diagnosed with IBD in January 10. Seems to be ok with it...thought he was having a flair up in May but things have settled down.

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top