7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+3.5 113,+4 118,+5 130

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/31 Tucker AMPS 90;+2 68;+7 115;+9 94; PMPS 115

Nope...you aren't going crazy. :-D :-D :-D

Remember what I said last night about the +2 (probably not because it was late and you were exhausted). If it's close to the PS, you should expect a normal lantus cycle which means he'll probably come down.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Unfortunately, none of us has a crystal ball but when we see the +2 near the PS, we need to watch closely so I'd get a +3, ok? Let's see if he onsets and heads down.
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker AMPS 90;+2 68;+7 115;+9 94; PMPS 115

I'm going to be the housekeeping police.

Remember I said that we're following your tests. If you could edit your subject line and remove the AM numbers. Keep your PMPS, and every time you get a test this evening, add that information to your subject line. I know it's tedious. But it's the best way for us to make sure you've got support if you need it.
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+1 110,+2 107,+3 86

Hi Sienne, Just updated it. Thanks
I printed what Marjorie sai, so I have it to look at by my PC.
Question: Where do you see your updates to a post? I refresh it, sometimes it works. Other times I have to go to the main forum to see that someone posted something. It doesn't always show in my posts. Any idea?
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+1 110,+2 107,+3 86

I'd suggest giving Tucker some low carb food to see if you can get him surfing. Could you get a test at +3.5?

I'm not sure I understand what you mean in terms of updates. Let me know if what I noted below answers your question.

When you edit (either your subject line or the content of a post), the post stays where it is in the list on the board. If a post is added -- either by your or someone else -- the condo moves to the top of the board. That's one way to know.

Refreshing your browser will let you know if something's been added. It can be hard to know just from placement since if lots of people are posting you may not be able to tell exactly if the condo has moved.

You can also look at the last post and who posted.
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+1 110,+2 107,+3 86

Chris

Sienne and I are going to tag team helping you tonight. She's hopping in for the next while so I can take care of Gracie and grab dinner. Then I'll be back. We won't leave you :-D
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+1 110,+2 107,+3 86

recap:

Monday, July 30th
PMPS 349 (1u) - first shot of lantus
+3 165
+4.5 65 (tsp gravy)
+5.5 76
+6 47 (tblsp gravy)
+6.5 57 (tsp gravy
+7 64
+8 78 ate some LC food
+8.5 78
+11 78
+12 78

Tuesday, July31st
(+12.75 or +13?) AMPS 90 (0.25u)
+1 79
+2 68 fed (HC Gravy Sensations 1 foil pack)
+6 109
+7 115
+9 94

PMPS 115 (+12) 0.25u
+1 110 Tucker decided to eat his dinner. About 1 1/2 oz of FF
+2 107
+3 86
+3.5 113



hi chris. there are a couple of unusual things going on here:

  • tucker dropped from red to blue on his own after 4 days without insulin
  • tucker's not bouncing

these two things are enough to make me say hmmm.

it's possible tucker requires only microdoses of insulin to help him along. we could very well find out 0.25u is too high of a dose for him. let's see how things go tonight. depending on how this cycle plays out, you might want to consider skipping the morning shot if you're unable to monitor or shooting only 0.1 unit.

here's a pic of 0.1 unit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/29764149@N02/2783154839/.

please continue monitoring and post your results. there are many sets of eyes watching and ready to jump in to help...
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+1 110,+2 107,+3 86

Hi Marjorie and Jill,
+3.5 is 110 I did give him 1 1/2 oz FF chicken and he ate the whole thing.
Jill- He does seem very sensative to the Shots. Julia was hinting of what you said too.....
Don't forget he was getting 6U of Humulin at the vets for a bunch of days.
He's being a CAT ! I think he likes the attention too....

I don't know if I can see such a low dose! I actually brought out the magnifying glass to see .25!
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+1 110,+2 107,+3 86

ChrisJ & Tucker said:
Hi Marjorie and Jill,
+3.5 is 110 I did give him 1 1/2 oz FF chicken and he ate the whole thing.
Jill- He does seem very sensative to the Shots. Julia was hinting of what you said too.....
He's being a CAT ! I think he likes the attention too....
that quite bump. i'd hold off on food for a little bit now... just in case you want him hungry later.

sometimes when a cat has been over dose for awhile (like tucker's 6u of humulin) or has experienced very low numbers (tucker's 24)... they become more sensitive to insulin. i'm not sure if they're actually more sensitive to the insulin itself or it's because the pancreas has had time to heal and kitty doesn't need as much insulin, but in any case they have a nice response to very small doses.

honestly, we don't have enough data to know for sure. i just think he bears careful watching and erring on the side of caution. this could go either way. we may find out his dose will have to be increased. it may have to be decreased.

it's just this coming down on his own AND the lack of a bounce suggest we should proceed cautiously... to make sure he stays safe.
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+1 110,+2 107,+3 86

ChrisJ & Tucker said:
I don't know if I can see such a low dose! I actually brought out the magnifying glass to see .25!
i use those cheap drug store reading glasses AND a magnifying glass! :lol:
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+1 110,+2 107,+3 86

i use those cheap drug store reading glasses AND a magnifying glass!
Jill, The magnifiers/readers were a given for me!
Time will tell with Tucker!
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+1 110,+2 107,+3 86

yes, time will tell.
i think you can probably hold off until +4.5 for the next test unless you want to test sooner.
we're here...
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+1 110,+2 107,+3 86

Summary for today
Tuesday, July31st
(+12.75 or +13?) AMPS 90 (0.25u)
+1 79
+2 68 fed (HC Gravy Sensations 1 foil pack)
+6 109
+7 115
+9 94

PMPS 115 (+12) 0.25u
+1 110 Tucker decided to eat his dinner. About 1 1/2 oz of FF
+2 107
+3 86 Tucker ate other 1 1/2 oz of FF
+3.5 113
+4 118
 
Re: 7/31 Tucker- PMPS 115,+1 110,+2 107,+3 86

ChrisJ & Tucker said:
+5 is 130
Time for bed?
i think you could give him a snack and leave some food out for him to nibble on before going to bed.

tomorrow --- i don't know what your schedule is/your availability to monitor. err on the side of caution when it comes to deciding if you should shoot 0.25u or less. we know it doesn't take much to pull his numbers down...

hope you get a good night's sleep!
ni-ni...


ps - if you get up for any reason, grab a test. :mrgreen:
 
I'll get some food for Tucker.
So you think I might want to try the .1 dose in the morning, depending on his amps# ?
 
ChrisJ & Tucker said:
I'll get some food for Tucker.
So you think I might want to try the .1 dose in the morning, depending on his amps# ?
eh, tonight looked pretty good on 0.25u, but i don't know if i would have felt comfortable with limited data shooting 0.25u into a 115 if i had to go to work. i don't know where he'll end up at amps. nor do i know your availability to monitor. you'll have to weigh your options in the morning... up to and including skipping the shot. don't be afraid to skip the shot if there's any doubt in your mind. it's the safest route to take.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top