7/31 Tommy-AMPS 294, +3.15 326, +6 289, +9 253

I can tag a few members for you but you haven't gotten any tests after PMPS which you need tondo that 153 (7-29) and 160 (7-30) at PMPS you should have done another test ,he could have dropped lower , cats usually drop lower at night
On your SS you need to fix your dates you have 8-30-22 and 8-31-22
@tiffmaxee
SS is fixed. Thank you for catching the typo. Will try to do some midcycle point after PMPS. Hopefully the numbers we've gotten today provide some direction.
One more question please -- is it ok to give Tommy boiled fish as another food in addition to FF?
 
I'm not to sure about the boiled fish, I'm sure the more experienced members I tagged can answer that question, how about boiled chicken?
The more tests you get in during the PM cycle the better or I don't think the members here will feel comfortable giving you any advice
Try and get @+3, +6 and the next night @+4 , +7

During the week is it possible for you to get more tests in other than the +6
Doses are based on how low the BG is dropping not the pre shots
You will never know how low your cat is dropping without more tests
in order for you to see if the dose needs to be increased or decreased
BTW can I ask you your name
 
Last edited:
Fish once in a while is ok but not too much. I don’t see that question.
Post #3 in pink
Will try to do some midcycle point after PMPS. Hopefully the numbers we've gotten today provide some direction.
One more question please -- is it ok to give Tommy boiled fish as another food in addition to FF?
 
BTW can I ask you your name

It is Tasha (she), :). We've tried also boiled chicken thighs, and it was well received. Will try to stagger and do some PM tests. If AMPS BG would be a similar # to PMPS BG, should not the AM and PM curves be close? Tommy is mostly sleeping, regardless if it a day or night time. The wake up time is only when asking for food.
 
Last edited:
If AMPS BG would be a similar # to PMPS BG, should not the AM and PM curves be close?
Not until a cat is close to being regulated. Tommy still has a ways to go. If today is your curve, I would increase to 1.25 units tomorrow.

If you can get a PM+2 or PM+3 test (or later) before you go to bed, that'll go a long way to helping us figure out what is happening overnight.
 
If you can get a PM+2 or PM+3 test (or later) before you go to bed, that'll go a long way to helping us figure out what is happening overnight.
Would PM+9 or PM+8 work as well or earlier tests are more important? Tommy's ears had so much abuse today that I wanted to cry.... and let him rest a bit prior to the next test
 
Last edited:
Would PM+9 or PM+8 work as well or earlier tests are more important? Tommy's ears had so much abuse today that I wanted to cry.... and let him rest a bit prior to the next test
Hi Tasha since you want to give his ears a rest I think a +5 or +6 would be ok
Then tomorrow night scatter the times
For his ears you can put some pure coconut oil on them you can probably get it at a health food store or on line
Copied from a member
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)

During the week is it possible for you to get more tests in other than the +6
I went back to some of your older posts and see you work so when ever you get home you can test him
Doses are based on how low the BG is dropping not the pre shots
You can also feed him more than four times a day , I saw you wrote that in your profile

Tommy sure is a cutie , you're doing a good job at testing :cat:
@Tommy_15
 
Last edited:
Would PM+9 or PM+8 work as well or earlier tests are more important?
A PM+8 or +9 is a good start. We don't yet know when Tommy's nadir generally is, though today is was close to that time. Ideally getting a nadir test will tell you how low he's gone that cycle. Once you've been able to do a few more curves like today, you'll be able to be more strategic about testing. With Levemir, the +8 time frame is a "typical" nadir time, so I"d get some of those and adjust the timing as you gather more data. Note, many cats (like mine) didn't like to be typical. :p

With Levemir, the onset is "typically" around +4 and a test at onset can tell you if it'll be a more active cycle, but not everyone is still awake at +4 to get that test. Neko's Lev onset was closer to +5, and I wasn't usually up that late. So I learned to get a feel from earlier tests to see if she was going low. If she was still flat from preshot to onset, it was more likely she'e have an active cycle needing more monitoring. But ECID, each cat is different, in how they use the insulin. Over time you'll gather the data that helps you figure out the best times to test to keep him safe, and tell you how a dose is doing.
 
A PM+8 or +9 is a good start. We don't yet know when Tommy's nadir generally is, though today is was close to that time. Ideally getting a nadir test will tell you how low he's gone that cycle. Once you've been able to do a few more curves like today, you'll be able to be more strategic about testing. With Levemir, the +8 time frame is a "typical" nadir time, so I"d get some of those and adjust the timing as you gather more data. Note, many cats (like mine) didn't like to be typical. :p

With Levemir, the onset is "typically" around +4 and a test at onset can tell you if it'll be a more active cycle, but not everyone is still awake at +4 to get that test. Neko's Lev onset was closer to +5, and I wasn't usually up that late. So I learned to get a feel from earlier tests to see if she was going low. If she was still flat from preshot to onset, it was more likely she'e have an active cycle needing more monitoring. But ECID, each cat is different, in how they use the insulin. Over time you'll gather the data that helps you figure out the best times to test to keep him safe, and tell you how a dose is doing.
Wendy, thank you so much for your comment. We were not able to get PM+8 or+9 this morning, but will do it within this week. Plan also to do some spot checks at AM+5/+7/+8 just to fill in the gaps from our Sunday's run.
Would any supplements/vitamins be advisable to help Tommy with his recovery?

@Diane Tyler's Mom
Appreciate your support and advises. will try coconut oil for sure. We've used Neosporin plus so far. Not sure if this was a good move though.
 
Last edited:
We used to use neosporin until this was found out

The issue with neosporin / polysporin is due to the antibiotic ingredient found in both called polymixin. The concern is primarily if the cat ingests it...which can happen when cats bathe themselves. If ingested in sufficient quantities it can cause a severe allergic reaction. So bottom line, best to avoid.

@Tommy_15
 
We used to use neosporin until this was found out

The issue with neosporin / polysporin is due to the antibiotic ingredient found in both called polymixin. The concern is primarily if the cat ingests it...which can happen when cats bathe themselves. If ingested in sufficient quantities it can cause a severe allergic reaction. So bottom line, best to avoid.

@Tommy_15
Thank you. Will use coconut oil forward. noticed also that with "fat" residues on the ear's hair from Neosporin, blood tends to spread quickly making a draw almost impossible. Would using an alcohol pad prior using lancet be advisable? we've tried Vaseline, but it did not help the blood to stay as a droplet either. A bit frustration here :(
 
Last edited:
Don't use alcohol on the ears. I used a very tiny bit of Vaseline smeared on the ears. That helped the blood bead up, instead of disappearing into that black ear fur. How were you using the Vaseline before hand?
 
Don't use alcohol on the ears. I used a very tiny bit of Vaseline smeared on the ears. That helped the blood bead up, instead of disappearing into that black ear fur. How were you using the Vaseline before hand?
I guess in similar way, just spreading it gently over the area where the lancet would strike. Blood was still disappearing in the "woods":banghead:

Is there any need to watch for ketones and how this can be done?
 
There are two ways to test for ketones. One is a urine testing strip, such as Ketostix which are available in all pharmacies. Tips to catch and test a urine sample
If you have multiple kitties or Tommy is very shy in the litter box, the a blood ketones meter will work. This post contains more on blood ketone meters: Blood Ketone Meters

Maybe you need to rub the Vaseline in a bit more.
 
There are two ways to test for ketones. One is a urine testing strip, such as Ketostix which are available in all pharmacies. Tips to catch and test a urine sample
If you have multiple kitties or Tommy is very shy in the litter box, the a blood ketones meter will work. This post contains more on blood ketone meters: Blood Ketone Meters

Maybe you need to rub the Vaseline in a bit more.
Thank you for ketone guidance.
will try vaseline once again. Would coconut oil work as well or it is only to be applied after the draw?
Just tested at AM+7 and after dose change to 1.25u, BG measured at 130
 
I never tried coconut oil to bead the blood drop. Try it and see.

Nice on the 130. :cool:
1.25u suggestion worked?! Thank you! We were very happy to see this #. Will see what PMPS be. Should we stay with 1.25u or lower to 1u if BG is under 200?
 
If following SLGS, you lower the dose if you see a number below 90. You don't change dose based on preshots, unless that's the lowest number of the cycle, which can happen on Levemir. Any chance of getting another test around +9 or +10 today?
 
If following SLGS, you lower the dose if you see a number below 90. You don't change dose based on preshots, unless that's the lowest number of the cycle, which can happen on Levemir. Any chance of getting another test around +9 or +10 today?
Would not be able to do +9/10, unfortunately. Should be back home only for PM test. Will try to do +8 tomorrow to fill in the gaps. Thank you for your comments
 
Hi Tasha
The reason I suggested coconut oil is because you said his ears had so much abuse and you were using neosporin. I didn't mean for you to use it for the blood to bead up :cat:
@Tommy_15
Hello Diane. I appreciate your clarification. Just wanted to get an opinion if it could serve double purpose versus greasing with vasoline first and doubling with coconut oil second
 
Back
Top