How's he doing after that low and then the food boost?
He tested 99 at +6 and 121 just now at +8 hours.
So that is what his blood is doing.
As far as how he is
feeling, I don't think he feels swell, but he is laying in the sun in his window, sleeping.
He has never shown any really scary signs when he's gone low, I just know he wasn't feeling right.
He has always eaten higher carb canned or dry food kernels for me so far when he is low, which is a good thing.
Why am I waiting for his vet?
I'm not sure if you are asking why I am bothering to get their input, or whether you are asking why am I waiting and not rushing off to the clinic?
I'm not meaning to sound saucy, just trying to know how to answer your question.
Is he ok otherwise?
He is losing weight...
But he is not eating a whole lot - it could be because something else is going on, or because he doesn't love the low carb food, or because it's been stinking hot here and despite our central A/C, he loves to lay in the open window and sun himself.
I'm not rushing off because I have his blood sugar back up now, and they are very, very, very difficult to get into with their Covid-19 restrictions.
It's bullshit, really.
My friends who work with the public are much more exposed to Covid from total strangers than a vet would be from someone like me who's been a client since 1993.
I phoned, and emailed them a copy of his spreadsheet on Wednesday and am still waiting... I emailed then again today.
The vet who diagnosed him is on vacation but it is a large practice with a lot of vets so surely one of them could find time to look at his chart.
I would simply like them to see what is going on...
Mostly because if I had it all to do over again, knowing what I know now, with him dropping to such low levels so many times, on so little insulin - I would have insisted on a fructosamine test, THEN, if he TRULY looked like a diabetic, THEN I would have started insulin therapy.
This "pre-diabetic" diagnosis from the vet on June 25th, followed up by her assurance on July 9th after a curve in the clinic that he was "definitely" diabetic... I just don't know.
I don't want to doubt this very young professional, but I hate putting Toeby on this roller coaster.
Maybe he does need "just a drop"
I tried that on Sunday the 26th but Monday he gave me normal levels where I thought I shouldn't give him insulin according to SLGS, and then his BG's gradually crept back up over the week...
I truly don't understand and I am getting very frustrated.
I mean, do I still give him just a drop when his preshots are 79 and 99 like they were on Monday?
Which doesn't mean I don't appreciate the input from everyone, I just don't get it...
