7/31 Taishi AMPS 404, +5.5 264

Taishi_Ci

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-30-taishi-amps-421-3-379-pmps-343-day-10.250623/

(sorry in advance for the longer post today)

More super high numbers from Taishi this morning. Despite the high numbers, he almost always is feeling good in the mornings. Active, alert, vocal, asking to go outside (we take him into the yard on a leash). He even seems to have an easier time jumping in the mornings. Lately, he's been struggling to even jump up onto our low coffee table (his favorite place to lay when he's not feeling good) :-( Seeing the signs of diabetic neuropathy in him makes me panic.

We need to get these numbers down to avoid doing more damage to his little body. Taishi has had a couple major medical issues over the course of his life (surgery to remove 2 inches of his intestines after a thread related incident as a kitten, a urinary tract blockage a couple years ago), so I feel like he's somewhat "fragile". We joke about him being our most expensive cat... My husband and I never had a wedding because we spent everything we'd saved to pay for his abdominal surgery 10 years ago.

We are down to our last test strip after this morning. We ordered more from Amazon and they're supposed to arrive "before 10 pm today" (his shot time is 10 pm). If they don't arrive by the time of his midday test, I will probably bite the bullet and go buy a human meter as backup. Of course, if we switch to a human meter, then we're "locked in" to using that, and I was really hoping to stick with the AlphaTrak for now.

Here's hoping his +6 is a yellow!
 
He even seems to have an easier time jumping in the mornings. Lately, he's been struggling to even jump up onto our low coffee table (his favorite place to lay when he's not feeling good) :-( Seeing the signs of diabetic neuropathy in him makes me panic.
We had the same issue with Bandit. She had stopped moving around because of the neuropathy. Used to even hold her pee in to avoid walking to the litter box. We would pick her up and put her in it. We started her on methyl-B12. That combined with her numbers coming down helped resolve the neuropathy. She is a slow responder so it took a few months. But now she's back to zooming around the house and jumping up on the bed, dining table etc.
 
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-30-taishi-amps-421-3-379-pmps-343-day-10.250623/

(sorry in advance for the longer post today)

We need to get these numbers down to avoid doing more damage to his little body. Taishi has had a couple major medical issues over the course of his life (surgery to remove 2 inches of his intestines after a thread related incident as a kitten, a urinary tract blockage a couple years ago), so I feel like he's somewhat "fragile". We joke about him being our most expensive cat... My husband and I never had a wedding because we spent everything we'd saved to pay for his abdominal surgery 10 years ago.
I can relate. One of my "civvie" kitties, (Sister's brother, Monkeydo) had a $10,000+ surgery last September. (His lazy gallbladder was allowing the common bile duct to store bile causing a major GI obstruction.) I tell my sisters I am spending my daughter's inheritance.
Have you tried Vit B12 Methyl for the neuropathy? Seems to be helping Sister. She is racing around now but still wonky.
 
Our methods were formulated using human meters since vet ones didn’t exist. The strips are so much cheaper. It won’t be so bad to switch. My vet had never used a human meter before me. I keep forgetting to ask him if that has changed.
 
Last edited:
From yesterday and answering @Bandit's Mom request:

I recently saw a side by side comparison of using the AlphaTrak strips vs the Freestyle Lite strips and the numbers the person got were the same, which is why we decided to give them a go. The Freestyle strips appear to be identical to the AlphaTrak ones. My guess is they *are* identical but they repackage some as "pet" strips to milk more money out of folks. Fingers crossed they work. If not, we may switch to a human meter.
They are not and they are not manufactured by the same company. The rule of thumb is you only want to use the strips that go with the specific meter. I see people using FS strips in their AT2 and they are putting their cat at risk. I would not do this and I advise against it every single chance I get. Is your cat’s safety and well being worth the cost of a strip? I always ask this question, too, but never get a response: if you were diabetic, would you put a “look alike” pet test strip in your human meter to test your blood? I would hope not and I bet your doctor would advise against it as well.

There are different methodologies behind each strip technology. They don’t all use the same technology thus it’s important that meter match strips.

No, not all research done on diabetic cats uses an AT. As an example, all the research done by Roomp and Rand (the authors of our TR protocol), together and separately, use human meters. Not only is there no “easy conversion” between the AT2 and human meters, there is no conversion.
IMHO, vets are falling behind by not learning what BGs are acceptable for pets on human meters. If one (not saying yours does) insists on a client using an AT2, I’d ask, “would you like to pay for my strips?”. How much easier for them to expand their experience and learn human meters and there are some out there that do and will. Bless them! It’s not rocket science.

I have an AT2 and I loved it but I used a ReliOn Micro because of the cost. I did comparison testing just so members would understand there is no conversion. But for the frequency of testing we did and the ease in using the TR protocol (and same for SLGS), we used a human meter.
Also, I always try and recommend that every member have a cache of 200-300 strips on hand at all times. This is from experience and seeing members go through 100 strips faster than they thought they would and then being in the situation you are in where you need to test but are down to one meter. I also recommend members buy two of the same human meter as a backup. Most human meters are cheap. I learned this the hard way when one early, early morning after being up all night, I accidentally put my one human meter into the microwave instead of the rice sock. Yeah, that was ugly. It was before we had the AT2, I had no backup meter, and the shot was late while I waited for WM to open so I could get another meter.

I hope that helps. BTW, please remove the “Day 11” from your subject line. Under the Posting Guidelines, we are really just looking for pertinent info and we don’t need that in the subject line. Thank you so very much.
 
From yesterday and answering @Bandit's Mom request:
BTW, please remove the “Day 11” from your subject line. Under the Posting Guidelines, we are really just looking for pertinent info and we don’t need that in the subject line. Thank you so very much.

I apologize. I thought maybe letting the community know at a glance how long Taishi had been on insulin would be helpful. It might help other folks on the same timeline with their kitties find my threads. I did read the posting guidelines and thought it was pertinent info, but apparently not!

We did a control test with the FreeStyle strips today. We tested with the AlphaTrak strip and the FreeStyle strip. The number was only 2 points different.

Everyone here has been pushing so hard for using a human meter that we'll probably just break down and buy one when my husband gets paid. I've gotten the impression that purchasing a human meter will be brought up every time I post until I purchase one, so it seems necessary if I'm going to continue to use the forum for advice/support. We are just trying to do the best for our cat. We aren't perfect and this has been an intensely stressful process and put a great emotional and financial strain on us. While I'm so incredibly grateful to have found this forum and the support and knowledge, I often feel like a failure for not doing things the "right" way. I don't want to go into tons of personal details, but I truly am trying to do my best for Taishi while holding myself together.
 
We had the same issue with Bandit. She had stopped moving around because of the neuropathy. Used to even hold her pee in to avoid walking to the litter box. We would pick her up and put her in it. We started her on methyl-B12. That combined with her numbers coming down helped resolve the neuropathy. She is a slow responder so it took a few months. But now she's back to zooming around the house and jumping up on the bed, dining table etc.

I've heard a little about B12 being used for neuropathy. Yet another thing I'll need to look into! Thank you :)
 
Update at 5.5: Taishi had a big drop from his AMPS to +5.5. It's great to see yellow numbers, but the big drop is a little surprising. We received FreeStyle Lite test trips and tested them side by side with the AlphaTrak strip... the number we got was 2 points different, so I felt comfortable using them. However, there seem to be a lot of people in the forum who are adamant about *not* using the FreeStyle strips, so now I'm an anxious mess. Taishi threw up between his lunch and afternoon meal (we tested right before afternoon meal), so I'm wondering if that contributed to such a big drop in BG. His appetite is good and he's alert/perky. He also loved the PureBites treats we received. We tried them out during his 5.5 poke.

If we switch to a human meter, how will we handle that on the spreadsheet?? I don't want to lose any data we already have. Advice on how to make that transition appreciated.
 
The strips for the human meters are much cheaper. I don’t live close to a Walmart but bought a Relion on line. I often bought the test strips on eBay for less than retail. It’s fine if you prefer to use a pet meter though. Just use the strips that are made for it.
 
Last edited:
If we switch to a human meter, how will we handle that on the spreadsheet?? I don't want to lose any data we already have. Advice on how to make that transition appreciated.[/QUOTE]

@Bandit's Mom can fix the spreadsheet for you.
 
If we switch to a human meter, how will we handle that on the spreadsheet?? I don't want to lose any data we already have. Advice on how to make that transition appreciated.

@Bandit's Mom can fix the spreadsheet for you.
I can also do it for you if you PM me. I am the “gatekeeper” for the SSs & developed the current versions.

We did a control test with the FreeStyle strips today. We tested with the AlphaTrak strip and the FreeStyle strip. The number was only 2 points different.
I’ve given you the valid reasons not to use these strips and I can only tell you from my knowledge and experience of over 11 years. If you choose to use them knowing why you shouldn’t, it’s your decision.

Everyone here has been pushing so hard for using a human meter that we'll probably just break down and buy one when my husband gets paid. I've gotten the impression that purchasing a human meter will be brought up every time I post until I purchase one, so it seems necessary if I'm going to continue to use the forum for advice/support. We are just trying to do the best for our cat. We aren't perfect and this has been an intensely stressful process and put a great emotional and financial strain on us. While I'm so incredibly grateful to have found this forum and the support and knowledge, I often feel like a failure for not doing things the "right" way. I don't want to go into tons of personal details, but I truly am trying to do my best for Taishi while holding myself together.
Use the meter you want to use with the information I’ve given you. Your decision. Members are just trying to save you money because we know the costs associated with using the AT2. If you don’t want to buy a human meter, don’t. There isn’t a “right” way.

Many times new members believe that older members giving them information from their experience constitutes pressure. It doesn’t. It’s more likely the situation that not everyone has read your condos and so they don’t know you’ve already addressed the meters They are just trying to relay what can help save you $$ in the long run. Just say “thank you” and move on. Don’t let this issue stress you.

Also, because our methods of regulation were designed using human meters, it makes some members nervous to offer advice when someone is using a pet meter. But the only difference under TR is, for a pet meter, your reduction point is below 68 instead of 50. If you, at any time, do SLGS, use the same BGs for both meters.

One caveat: with a human meter and for cats who have a history of failed reductions, the CG can use a method of reduction entailing three drops in BG between 40-50 on separate days. Since we have no equivalents between the pet and human meter, you won’t be able to use that method. You will always reduce when the BG drops below 68.

As a further side note, some members read the actual written publication of the TR protocol (all should) and think 50 on a human meter = 68 on a pet meter and then want to use 18 mg/dL as a “conversion”. The fact is 50 on a human meter does not equal 68 on a pet meter. Roomp and Rand determined 68 was the safety margin on a pet meter just as 50 is on a human meter but those two numbers are not equal.

I apologize. I thought maybe letting the community know at a glance how long Taishi had been on insulin would be helpful. It might help other folks on the same timeline with their kitties find my threads. I did read the posting guidelines and thought it was pertinent info, but apparently not!
No apology needed. Anyone who is offering advice should look at the dx date in the signature and the SS. New members have a knack of finding each other :)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top