7/31-Spooky-1 year OTJ!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monique & Spooky

Member Since 2009
Today is Spooky's big anniversary he is 1 year off the juice! This mornings BG was 78 so he is still enjoying his honeymoon :cool: In general he is doing well, a few bouts of something (probably mild CP attacks) which last a day or two. He was never diagnosed with CP, however due to his very young age and lack of other reasons why he would develop DM it seems likely that a pancreatitis was the initiating factor. He is still doing well on canned food (only took a year to get him to eat it! :roll: ) and he still steals whatever forbidden things he can. Both cats are still using the toilet since they were trained over a year and half ago :thumbup

There are so many new kitties here in Lantus Land, for those who don't know us.....Spooky was just 3 years old when diagnosed. It was Christmas time and I didn't give much thought to the symptoms. When it became clear that something was wrong I suspected diabetes and went to the vet. Being a doctor myself the vet didn't give me much information. A quick exam, a standard blood panel, and a spot check with a OT mini glucometer to confirm the glucose result from the blood panel. He handed me a bottle of Caninsulin (Vetsulin) and a few syringes, asked if I had a meter at home and said to test him that evening once he was settled down at home (to rule out stress) and call with the result. Seemed reasonable to me until I got to the front door....then I had to go back and ask "where do I get the blood?" :lol: He laughed and said from the edge of the ear. At home he was over 400 so the vet said go ahead and give him 0.5U insulin and test his BG 3 hours later. The following day I should give 0.5U in the morning and do a curve then call with the result. We kept doing this and increasing his dose by .5U. Eventually there was some progress but his BG was still allover the place (high then low then really high) the symptom improved somewhat but he was still drinking/peeing and eating to much. The vet sugested a "diabetic diet" which was either Hill's D/M or W/D (dry). I had been reading and was aware that a canned food diet was recommended but Spooky wasn't having any part of that! I was a member of the German Diabetes forum which has developed the Lantus and Levemir protocols and recommends using those insulins. Unfortunatley in Germany a vet cannot (and most will not) prescribe a human insulin unless a reasonable attempt with an animal approved insulins has proven inaffective. My vet was not willing to prescribe Lantus and told me that he had one patient who used it and got very poor results. He said I was free to do whatever I wanted, but he could not prescribe it or advise me in it's use. I choose to use Levemir as the "Levemir study" was being compiled in the German forum. It took some time to find the right dose and then everything fell into place. The biggest challenge was getting Spooky to eat canned food which took over a year of extreme measures and lots of blood, sweat, and tears. Once I got him eating half his meals as canned food I was able to get him OTJ. He has improved ever since and currently eats only canned food. He is still a junk-food freak and will steal french frys, ice creme, cake, christmas cookies, and bread or chips whenever he can. His civie roomate (and half brother) Socks is 1 year older, both have been toilet trained for over a year and half which saves me having to buy cat litter! Spooky also loves to go for walks on the leash.

I visit this forum almost everyday and I used to post frequently in peoples condos. I was AWOL this past week due to internet problems and recently I haven't been able to help out here as much (lots going on in the house!) there are so many new people here it will take me a bit to familarize myself with them when I find the time. But right now I have to get going and mow the lawn!

Here is my Thank-you speech from 1 year ago when we celebrated Spooky's OTJ party.

So here I would like to thank a FEW people who have helped make this possible...........First to all of you here in LL you have made this journey far more interesting :-D

To the German Diabetes-Katzen Forum and Kristen who provided a wonderful Protocol that works and answered endless questions from those trying to follow it.

To my Vet (who still treats his own cat with Caninsulin) for NOT charging me for all that bad advice.

To Novo Nordisk and Levemir insulin, for allowing us to finally achive regulation.

To My own GP who generously donated the Levemir to me.

To Bayer Diabetes, Abbott Laboratories, and LifeScan who supplied us with an assortment of free glucometers, and generously took many Euros from me for thier outrageously priced teststrips- Many thanks.

To the Hill's company for teaching me the hard way how not to feed a cat. Same goes to Purina Foods.

To Socks for NOT being the one to become diabetic, I know I would never have survived one ear prick with you.

And most of all thanks to Spooky who put up with all of this, kept me on my toes, and finally somewhat has found his inner carnivore.

And to the few who said it couldn't be done, or was rediculous, well thanks again for nothing ;-)

I love you all, but I am not ready to do this again.

To anyone I may have forgotten....it's been a long hard journey please forgive us, you know who you are :mrgreen:

May you all join us someday here at THE FALLS!!!! cat_pet_icon
 
The advice given here is priceless. My vet is still amazed at how quickly Jezebel went OTJ. Her advice was okay...but the advice here was so much better.
Thanks again to all...
Debie & a most wonderful Jezebel :mrgreen:
 
party_cat CONGRATULATIONS SPOOKY AND MONIQUE!!! party_cat
:RAHCAT HAPPY ONE WONDERFUL YEAR OTJ!! YAY!!! :RAHCAT

This is such a great condo to read first thing in the morning! That is so great that Spooky is a full year OTJ....congratulations and hoping for many, many more for you both! :mrgreen:
I know you had a hard time with the food issues, but you did overcome Spooky's stubbornness....great job!
Thank you for sharing your story with us. You are a constant source of inspiration to Shadow and me...and we thank you so much Monique. :YMHUG:
We will celebrate with you and Spooky now, across the miles...happy Day to you both!!! yay!! drinking24
 
What a great post! And congratulations to Spooky on1 year OTJ - this is fabulous and gives me hope for Jake's continued remission.

:dizcat :dizcat :dizcat

Judy, Jake, & Civvie Boomer
 
Hi Monique,
Wow! Congratulations to you and Spooky on your One Year OTJ Anniversary. I never got a chance to know you and Spooky, but Maggie just went OTJ lately and had her big OTJ Party July 25. Thanks for telling your story; it's such an inspiration and also familiar story with the Vets. It's great your Vet encouraged home testing, even if he did leave out how to do it! :lol: That must be so cute having your kitties toilet trained. I will have to pm you and ask how you did it! I know they have these training kits in the pet stores. Well, sorry for rambling on...and a big congratulations to you and Spooky.

:RAHCAT dancing_cat :YMHUG:

Ann & Maggie
 
HAPPY ONE YEAR ANNIFURSARY SPOOKY & MONIQUE!!
I remember when you came and all the obstacles you had to overcome--But you persevered and look Spooky made a whole year!
Having a good vet is so important, but finding a site to help you with the protocol, was even more important!
You kept working at it and Spooky finally went to the Falls--You are an inspiration to all, and an essential help for all of us!
Happy one year!! party_cat party_cat
 
CONGRATULATIONS SPOOKY (& MONIQUE!!!)

What a great story! Do you plan to celebrate with a forbidden food (like ice cream)?? Monique, I love reading your remarks in Shadow's, Raja's and Pat's condo and we really appreciate your excellent medical advice. Here's to a great new year ahead for Spooky! drinking24 Prosit Neujahr!!

Ella & Stu
 
Happy One Year OTJ!!! Congrats Spooky!​

Uh, Spooky, so glad to see you celebrating your one year OTJ day! This is very good news indeed. Now, I've got a special present for you that I think you will like. It's a very pretty blue speedo uniform, err outfit that you can wear when you come over to clean my pool! Now remember you are only to clean my pool and not pee in my pool. This is not one big toilet!

Signed, Maui the Magnificent
 
lolcats19.jpg
:lol: :lol:

What a great update Monique!
I got a little junk food addict here too, he likes chips and ice cream too :lol:



Happy one year Spooky!!!
party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat
 
Congratulations Moniques and Spooky! I always enjoy re-reading the stories of the Oldtimers and the OTJ kitties. I will always remember your toilet training photos, and I always enjoy reading your posts.
 
Hi Monique! Congratulations to you and Spooky on his OTJ anniversary!! party_cat

Thank you for posting your story. I'm a newbie to LL and I have a civvie that won't give up the dry food and loves people food (tomato sauce is her fav...weirdo cat!) You give me hope that I can get her converted eventually!
 
Congratulations! Even though your vet may have given you some less than desirable advice, I'm glad he was on board with home testing right from the start. Sounds like you had a good partnership going. I remember how hard you were trying to get Spooky completely OTJ before traveling. And what a handsome boy he is.
 
Congrats to you and Spooky for sure!!!! Totally awesome with the 1 year milestone. Cheers!!! drinking24 party_cat party_cat

SpOoKy RuLeS
 
It cant have been a year already!
Time flies and its so great to hear Spooky continues to do so well, congratulations on your first anniversary!
 
Congratulations, Spooky, one year OTJ! You and your momma-bean are always full of fun and fascinating stories. Your thank-you list from last year is a hoot! I'm so glad that my name wasn't on THAT list, hahahahaha!!

One of my favorite stories about the adventure to switch Spooky from dry food to canned involved your dining room chairs. I know it wasn't funny to you at the time, but it cracked me up to read how he would show his disgust of wet food by attacking those poor chairs. :o

Glad you stay on the board when you can, we love to hear more of your adventures as well as your sage advice.

OT... Hannah has a boyfriend?!! Oooh! I see some interesting days ahead for you!
 
Ah Monique! I always love reading about you and Spooky but this is the best one yet!!!! Congratulations to you both for your many many accomplishments! (The toilet training alone would have been enough for me) :lol:

This was a perfectly inspiring way to start the day and I'm very happy for the 3 of you!

Congrats again on Spooky's One Year Anniversary and enjoy the day! :mrgreen:

Love, ♥
Caryl, Alex and Jackson
 
Monique,
Congrats!!!!!! That is great, who knows my "Buddy" may join Spooky at the falls one day. I don't know if you have been looking at his SS but we have come a long way since the mornings when I first started coming here, I was so stressed out in tears and u would sometimes be there to help me out. (THANK YOU for that!!)
So I'm so happy for you and Spooky, good work!!
Take Care
Jan and Buddy
 
Congratulations Monique and Spooky!

drinking24 One Year and Counting to Many More drinking24

Thank you for sharing Spooky's wonderful story and for continuing to visit LL. We all love to read your posts, from chasing Spooky down the hill to Paula. Love the toilet training. I wish!

Heres to many more Years to Come!! drinking24
 
Thanks everyone!

Pat you know Shadow is our problem child, and maybe someday I will get to Florida!

Ann I posted one time on the old board the toilet training guide-I will look for the post some time and copy it.

Roni Thank you for always having such nice things to say and I know you had to overcome some problems with a stubborn cat as well, but you eventually were able to test Moonie

Ella No ice creme (that's for me!) he did get one french fry at lunch though (no idea how many more he stole from Hannah's plate :roll: )

Hillary ? a blue speedo...really Spooky seems more like a bermudas type to me, but he would love to clean Maui's pool (no promises though on the peeing :lol: ) will she be watching and wearing a bikini and serving tunaritas?

Ronnie yea I want fries with dat and a cola too!

Linda
3604221468_e120dda680_o.jpg
Socks

Nina I was really stressed about that trip, thankfully he made it OTJ just 2 weeks before we went away! Don't tell him he's handsome it will go to his head.

Deb time flys? It seems like it's been a very long year to me. How's Pippin? Got any pancakes to share?

CD Oh the chairs! He still goes postal on them once in while, I don't bother to replace them. That was most of the crying, now he just looks at the chairs and I give in!

Caryl Thank you, I hope your boys are doing better, you have done so much for them.

Jan I haven't looked at Buddy's SS recently but I often see his condo and some pretty impressive AMPS numbers etc. (like today) I'll have to take a look and see what dose he is on now (did you switch to levemir?) The one day that really stands out was when your condo read "Buddy- AMPS 80-Do I shoot Monique?" and Pat came along read that and asked "Oh no what did Monique do now?" :lol:

Ann I'm so glad no one saw me rolling down the hill! Paula is still here in the backyard, I kick over her mole hills everyday!


Spooky is taking it easy today sleeping in his favorite spot
3810485665_758d962732.jpg
He was outside for a walk on the leash. He doesn't seem to care about aniversaries and such, I think he was suprised when I came at him with the meter, but didn't forget that a treat comes next!
 
This was a fun condo to read. I missed the AMPS 80 - Do I shoot Monique? condo, how funny :lol:

HAPPY ONE YEAR ANNIFURSARY SPOOKY! party_cat
 
Hello Monique & Spooky I loved your stories I am new here just 2 month and I can not thank these peoples enough..They are AWESOME my Trey is on his 5th day OTJ ...Happy 1 year Anniversary to you both. I would love to have the link for toilet training I have 4 cats 18 years-17-10-& 4 years ....I would love to be here in a years` time to help others..Angels & Prayers to on starting out and getting to the Falls I hear its a great place to Party :RAHCAT bcatrun_gif :thumbup \M/ cat_pet_icon dancing_cat flip_cat party_cat drinking24 Kath & Trey
 
Congratulations, Monique and Spooky! What a wonderful milestone for you both. I am glad he is happy and healthy. :-D Have a great day!
 
CONGRATULATIONS SPOOKY AND MONIQUE ON 1 YEAR OTJ​

I cannot believe it has been one year already. I still miss you daily condo's. Reading them always made me laugh even though you were not always trying to be funny.

Putty said to come visit him sometime. He misses you too. :YMHUG:
 
CONGRATULATIONS ON 1 YEAR MONIQUE AND SPOOKY. I well remember the dry food addict. Miss your daily posts. Always something funny. So nice you are all doing well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top