Tara and Scully
Member Since 2014
Previous condo (7/29/14):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122598
7/30/14 Recap
AMPS 376
+6 224
+8 217
PMPS 333
+5 180
Of course Scully isn't responding anything like I predicted she would when we increased her dose back up to .75 U. I expected her to clear her bounce from Monday night and then get back to those low, flat cycles we were enjoying a few weeks ago. Instead, she's camped out in the high numbers with occasional dips in the high 100s. Blah!
I have studied her ss and I think I should continue to hold this dose for several more cycles. In the past, Scully has taken several days to adjust to a dose, and so far we're just starting our 4th day at .75 U, so I know I need to be patient. I've considered increasing her again to 1 U, but I'm reluctant to because she hasn't been at this dose for very long and also she dropped to a low of 38 on 1 U back on 7/12/14. I keep expecting to reach a point where we've found the "ideal" dose that will keep her in the healthy range for the majority of the time, and we won't have to keep adjusting the dose. I know Lantus works best when the dose is kept consistent, but we can't seem to hold a dose for more that a few weeks before increasing or decreasing. Perhaps I should not have reduced her dose to .50 on 7/22/14, but the night before, she tested at 49 at only +3, and I was afraid she would continue to drop even lower. Ever since that reduction, her numbers have been a mess.
If anyone has any thoughts or suggestions, I certainly welcome your input. I'm still new at this and learning every day. Just when I think I have things figured out, Scully throws me a curve. I do want to mention, though, that all 5 P's are still present, even though her numbers are high, so that's good. But her neuropathy is never going to go away if I can't get her well regulated. Her numbers make me want to scream. Instead, I am taking a big deep breath and giving thanks for the positive things, like the good snuggle we had last night while watching TV.
Hope everyone is having a great day! The weekend is almost here! Lots of hugs and healing vines to our sugar kitties and their beans who need them!
Tara & Scully
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122598
7/30/14 Recap
AMPS 376
+6 224
+8 217
PMPS 333
+5 180
Of course Scully isn't responding anything like I predicted she would when we increased her dose back up to .75 U. I expected her to clear her bounce from Monday night and then get back to those low, flat cycles we were enjoying a few weeks ago. Instead, she's camped out in the high numbers with occasional dips in the high 100s. Blah!
I have studied her ss and I think I should continue to hold this dose for several more cycles. In the past, Scully has taken several days to adjust to a dose, and so far we're just starting our 4th day at .75 U, so I know I need to be patient. I've considered increasing her again to 1 U, but I'm reluctant to because she hasn't been at this dose for very long and also she dropped to a low of 38 on 1 U back on 7/12/14. I keep expecting to reach a point where we've found the "ideal" dose that will keep her in the healthy range for the majority of the time, and we won't have to keep adjusting the dose. I know Lantus works best when the dose is kept consistent, but we can't seem to hold a dose for more that a few weeks before increasing or decreasing. Perhaps I should not have reduced her dose to .50 on 7/22/14, but the night before, she tested at 49 at only +3, and I was afraid she would continue to drop even lower. Ever since that reduction, her numbers have been a mess.
If anyone has any thoughts or suggestions, I certainly welcome your input. I'm still new at this and learning every day. Just when I think I have things figured out, Scully throws me a curve. I do want to mention, though, that all 5 P's are still present, even though her numbers are high, so that's good. But her neuropathy is never going to go away if I can't get her well regulated. Her numbers make me want to scream. Instead, I am taking a big deep breath and giving thanks for the positive things, like the good snuggle we had last night while watching TV.
Hope everyone is having a great day! The weekend is almost here! Lots of hugs and healing vines to our sugar kitties and their beans who need them!
Tara & Scully