7/31 Scully AMPS 414 +8.5 328

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Previous condo (7/29/14):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122598

7/30/14 Recap
AMPS 376
+6 224
+8 217
PMPS 333
+5 180

Of course Scully isn't responding anything like I predicted she would when we increased her dose back up to .75 U. I expected her to clear her bounce from Monday night and then get back to those low, flat cycles we were enjoying a few weeks ago. Instead, she's camped out in the high numbers with occasional dips in the high 100s. Blah!

I have studied her ss and I think I should continue to hold this dose for several more cycles. In the past, Scully has taken several days to adjust to a dose, and so far we're just starting our 4th day at .75 U, so I know I need to be patient. I've considered increasing her again to 1 U, but I'm reluctant to because she hasn't been at this dose for very long and also she dropped to a low of 38 on 1 U back on 7/12/14. I keep expecting to reach a point where we've found the "ideal" dose that will keep her in the healthy range for the majority of the time, and we won't have to keep adjusting the dose. I know Lantus works best when the dose is kept consistent, but we can't seem to hold a dose for more that a few weeks before increasing or decreasing. Perhaps I should not have reduced her dose to .50 on 7/22/14, but the night before, she tested at 49 at only +3, and I was afraid she would continue to drop even lower. Ever since that reduction, her numbers have been a mess.

If anyone has any thoughts or suggestions, I certainly welcome your input. I'm still new at this and learning every day. Just when I think I have things figured out, Scully throws me a curve. I do want to mention, though, that all 5 P's are still present, even though her numbers are high, so that's good. But her neuropathy is never going to go away if I can't get her well regulated. Her numbers make me want to scream. Instead, I am taking a big deep breath and giving thanks for the positive things, like the good snuggle we had last night while watching TV.

Hope everyone is having a great day! The weekend is almost here! Lots of hugs and healing vines to our sugar kitties and their beans who need them!

Tara & Scully
 
Re: 7/31 Scully AMPS 414

Scully is likely still bouncing from that 50 a couple nights ago. It had been a week since her last greens, so she might just be extra bouncy this time. I'd hold for 6 cycles after that 50 and if she doesn't show green again, then you could increase by .25U. As a bonus, that'll be the weekend so you can monitor her closely. Often cats just need to go up in dose again to go back down. And I've noticed with Neko that a full .25U increase works best. I only use a smaller increase when I'm just tweaking green nadirs down a bit.

Lantus likes consistency from shot to shot, but you don't need to hold the dose for weeks. The protocol calls for holding between 6-10 cycles when you are seeing green nadirs.
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
 
Thanks, Wendy! That's what I'll do. If we don't have any green after tonight's cycle, I'll increase to 1 U tomorrow morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top