7/31 Rocky (NS) PMBG 58 +15 67 +16.5 78 +19 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning, I-) , LL,

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122632

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 54 +2 74 +5 81 +7 68 +10 60
(NS)PMBG 59 +13.5 85 +17 74 +18.5 66 +19.5 68

Rocky continues to do well, despite his reductions in insulin each morning and his skipped shots each night. Late last night I updated his computer SS, BACKWARDS,, for the past 5 days, from July 30 through July 26. I was up until 3am working on it-- that was AFTER I was at a woman's house for several hours trying to trap the remaining kitten of a litter of three. I did catch my kitten, dancing_cat, but did not get home until after midnight. I am so very, very tired. So exhausted. I'm going back to bed right after I test Rocky at +2 and then feed him.

Rocky's blood glucose levels have been consistently in the 50s through the low 80s since July 22. (I'll try to update more today if I have the time.) Looking through my notebook, he has not had a blood glucose reading in the 100s since July 21, nor a BG in the 200s since July 18.

I will forgo his shot again tonight, and tomorrow morning I will reduce his insulin dose to .25u, if he continues to do well today.

Thank you everyone for your support and encouragement! :YMHUG: Does it look like we might be nearing an OTJ trial? I'm actually very nervous about it! nailbite_smile I so want him to do well.
 
Re: 7/31 Rocky(reducie s.50u):AMPS 57-- SS UPDATED 7/30-7/26

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Well look at that. . . .solid green as far as the eye can see . . . . :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Thanks for filling in some of the recent picture Tina. Very interesting. . .
Tina & Rocky said:
Does it look like we might be nearing an OTJ trial? I'm actually very nervous about it! nailbite_smile I so want him to do well.
it is nerve jangling when you've struggled for so long. I know ;-)
Take it one cycle at a time.

How is Rocky? what's the FCR?
 
Re: 7/31 Rocky(reducie s.50u):AMPS 57 +2 67 +5 53 +9 69

Hi Sandy, :mrgreen:

I think something good happened for Rocky around July 18. That was the last time his cycle saw a BG in the 200s, to date. When you see the big picture, after I fill in the missing blanks, you'll notice that I did not get heavy handed with HC, and I stopped feeding him the Karo, when he was in the 40s. I DID feed him tiny, tiny portions of the 18% and the 33% carbs, but I knew that the onset (true rise of his BG from those HC carbs) would be about one hour later, for Rocky. His BG might go up a little bit in 15 minutes from the HC foods, but the real affect of the HC doesn't kick in for him until at least one hour later. Sometimes when he was in the 40s I would reduce his insulin dose for the very next cycle, and then bring him right back up the following cycle. Somehow, I believe this made a very big positive turn-around, for Rocky, but I could be wrong in what helped him start to heal. It may have just been the Doxy that he was on that cleared up some unknown infection, besides the pneumonia.

He's still doing great at AMPS +10.5 with 4 mini-meals in him right now. I will not give him his shot tonight, unless his BG is 80 or more, at the PM shot time.
 
Re: 7/31 Rocky (NS) PMBG 58

I am not having much success in getting him to eat tonight, but he's not sick at all. He ate about 1/2 of the NVIV, so I thought maybe he didn't like it and wanted another flavor of food. I then fed him the 2% Merrick Purfect Bisto Chicken and he ate about 1/2 of that one too. So, all and all, he did eat 1/4 can of food for his PMBG. He actually gets hungry and wants to eat closer to midnight, which is about 7 hours from his AM last meal.

I noticed that the past couple of days that he is not very excited about eating at his PM mealtime, especially if I have just fed him 1/4 can of food at about +9, and that amount will make for 5.5 oz. in the AM cycle. I think Rocky is trying tell me that he prefers to now eat about (1) 5.5oz can of food, and then just 1/2 of that for his evening meal. Or, I can feed him vise-versa, offer him the bigger meal at night and then the lighter meal during the AM cycle.

I'm heading out to feed the ferals. Will do another test at PMPG +14 or +15. :cool:
 
Re: 7/31 Rocky (NS) PMBG 58 +15 67 +16.5 78

Thank you Sandy, you know, I really should do that!!

I would like to get some sleep tonight, but the kitty litter boxes in the foster room are screaming my name. I'll be cleaning those for at least 2 hours. Up until 2am, at the very least.

And as for Rocky's behavior, he's very happy and sprite! What I'm concerned about is that he's not eating tonight, or rather, he's eating only about 1/2 of his meal and leaving the rest. I tried to feed him 1/2 can of the Fancy Feast Classic Chicken 4% at +15, and even that, he would only eat about 1/4 can of it. I cannot figure out why he won't eat. I am surmising that this a revolt, and now he is going to start DEMANDING the MC and HC. NO!!! ohmygod_smile

I'm even thinking I might not give him a shot tomorrow morning, if his going to eat barely anything overnight.
 
Re: 7/31 Rocky (NS) PMBG 58 +15 67 +16.5 78

It could be due to all the :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
With his BG in the normal range for the past 10 (possibly more) days, it's safe to say his body is now more efficiently metabolizing the calories he eats.

When the BG is high due to not enough insulin, carbohydrates are not metabolized properly and all energy derived does not make it to the cells.
It ends up excreted in the urine. This is the reason many kitties are ravenous in the early stages of treatment.
BK was one - for a while he was eating 15-16oz per day. Now he eats about 7oz per day.

As long as he is consuming enough calories per day to support a healthy weight and all Ps are in place, don't worry. :cool:
 
Re: 7/31 Rocky (NS) PMBG 58 +15 67 +16.5 78

Tina,

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Rocky is doing FANTASTIC. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

This just makes me so :razz: :razz: :razz:

Way to go you two!!! \M/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top