7/31 Rocket-small update

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/9 Rocket AMPS 437 + 4.75 306 PMPS 99 +2.5 86=???

Dearest (((((Claudia and Rocket)))))

I'm praying so hard for you guys. You can do this. You and Rocket are the strongest, bravest Kitty and Bean I know. I wanted to pick up the phone, but it is late. I will call tomorrow. Praying, praying, praying. And much love too.
 
Re: 7/9 Rocket AMPS 437 + 4.75 306 PMPS 99 +2.5 86=???

Rocket and his teddy bear, copied from Facebook:
 

Attachments

  • rocketteddybear.jpg
    rocketteddybear.jpg
    74.7 KB · Views: 2,208
Re: 7/9 Rocket AMPS 437 + 4.75 306 PMPS 99 +2.5 86=???

((((((claudia & rocket)))))

has anyone answered you about the time for shots? i don't know of any reason why you can't just adjust rocket's shot time from 5:50 to 5:30. . . it's only 20 minutes of change. unless someone else knows a reason why - from the diabetes issue it would be fine - i just don't know about all of the other factors.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241

AMPS 241....but

​ I only gave 1u rather than the 4 u he was at before. Have syringe fed him as he won't go eat on his own yet. I know I may not have given enough insulin but I hope I did the right thing. He has perked up a little bit. I can't take his temp cause he's giving me attitude..​..walking slow still but better than yesterday.​ I hope he is on the mend and will be fine soon. Prayers and good thoughts are helping. Keep them coming. We both say THANK YOU!....I'​ll try to have a nap now...til next round of meds...phe​no now in his tummy...
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241

Come on, Rocket! Keep on rallying.
Claudia, I hope you are getting in a good nap. You need the sleep.
We are continuing to send good thoughts and prayers.
I hope that today will be a much better day for you.

Hugs, :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241

I see that Rocket is on his way to a full recovery. Yes, Tray and I have faith!
Try and get some rest, our continued prayers are with you.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241

Prayers for a full recovery coming your way.
Hope you both get a good rest and wake up feeling better.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241

I hope you are able to rest a little bit Claudia. I like that Rocket gave you a little attitude, his fight has come back. That usually is a good sign and I'm so glad you are seeing he perked up a little bit. Keep going Rocket Man. We love you!
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241

CATTITUDE AND PERKED UP!! That's what we want to hear!! Our prayers here are going strong and our hearts are filled with love & Healing vines going out to Rocket!! Please take care of you, I know how you feel, but he needs you so take care of yourself & take a nap--Love you all-Hugs from us!
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241

Claudia, I'm so glad to see that Rocket is feeling better this morning. The abs must be working. You have been such a wonderful mom to him. Keep up the great work, but try to get some rest too. My prayers are with both of you.
(((((((((HUGS))))))))))))
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241

Claudia, I am so happy to hear that Rocket is doing better this morning! I'm sure it had to do with the incredible care and love you give him. I love that he is showing a little attitude -- what a great sign. Please go get some rest so you can recharge yourself mentally and physically. Lots of love and hugs!
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241

Claudia it's good you didn't give Rocket his full dose last night. You know him best and if he is 240 with 1 U then you knew what you were doing. If a kitty isn't eating, you lower the dose. You still have your senses, my friend. Dose him according to his numbers and how much he is eating right now. Go back to protocol when he is feeling better. He is doing better and I know he's not out of the woods but don't worry too much about his not wanting food yet. YOU don't want food when you're sick. I don't. Alex and Jackson don't. Just keep syringe feeding him every couple of hours probably 2-3 cc's at a time (unless he indicates that he wants more) and give him water. I don't know if you have any available but my best experience has been with Royal Canin Recovery. You don't have to pulverize it. It goes into a feeding syringe easily. it's low carb and kitties seem to really like it. If you can get a couple of cans It might be a good idea.I always keep them in the house.(when kitties are this sick they don't care about Temptations but it doesn't mean they won't when they feel better)

Keep your chin up Claudia. Keep moving forward. You've got tons of prayers for Rocket. I've seen what they can do. I wish I had asked the board to pray for my mom;)

Back to my regularly scheduled crying...will check back later.

love you...
xoc
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241

(((Claudia and Rocket))))

I'm so glad you are getting some rest, and Rocket is a little better. Keeping you in our thoughts and prayers.

My husband and I will be gone overnight, and not sure if we will have internet service, but I will continue to keep sending prayers.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 +6 311

+6=311 :(

I guess I did wrong giving 1 u...now I feel bad....he looks tired. Has not asked DH to go out on the balcony....so he must not be all that well but I hope on the mend....

what should I give at pmps?

He finally ate out of his dish but only if I bring it to him....

i don't know whether i'm coming or going.....

i guess his shed is drained....
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 +6 311

video of Rocket being syringe fed.....it is different than the previous day when i had to open his mouth with my fingers to make sure he got food in.....he looks pretty tired....i took this video last night...

thank you for all your prayer and i'm sorry if i'm not visiting condos....praying for all kitties that have huge challenges....and for those beans who have health issues too...

[youtube]9t0YFZBwfEw[/youtube]
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 +6 311-video

He looks good, Claudia. He is really taking the food from the syringe well. Keep up the good work (((Rocket))).
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 +6 311-video

Claudia: I also think he looks good and seems interested in his food. That's a good sign.

Sending prayers and healing vines!!! He's a tough guy.....he's pulled through before.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 +6 311-video

wow...wish binks was that cooperative when he sees a syringe!

you know we all understand the needing to take care of you and yours, Claudia...
we'll just visit you!

still cyberhugging you...

celi
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 PMPS 356-video

His morning was better. He had eaten from his dish.
PMPS 356..... I gave 1.5 u....I think I'm making irrational decisions with the insulin. We are back to syringe feeding....

Do I stay on the 1.5 u dose tomorrow amps or do I go up? I don't know whether I'm coming or going...some guidance/reassurance would help me stay focused....being sleep deprived is making me feel less confident in the decisions I'm making.

Prior to giving subq this aft I picked him up from the floor to notice he had peed himself...so not out of the woods just yet....
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 PMPS 356-video

I have no idea Claudia - especially now that you are giving the pred only once a day. Bumping also. And hugs.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 PMPS 356-video

I think you know Rocket best so maybe wait until the morning to decide about the dose and see how he is doing. I liked the video of Rocket. He really did seem interested in eating. Sorry to hear that he peed on himself but I'm sure he is pretty tired and weak from the infection and just doesn't have enough energy right now to get to the lb. Prayers to you and Rocket tonight. You and Rocket have been in my thoughts all day today.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 PMPS 356-video

replying to claudia's email here:

Not sure you know the latest with Rocket.
Question on dosing
He is now on Baytril at 8 am
Pred has been lowered from bid to sid at 7 pm
Currently insulin at 5:30am/pm
Last night (Friday) his PMPS was 99....with his lack of appy I gave a small token dose of 0.75u from the 4u he was before then tested +2.5=86, +5.5=113
This morning AMPS =241 (gave only 1 u as I've been syringe feeding him)
+6= 311
PMPS=356 (here I gave 1.5u)

Keeping in mind that at pmps tonight he had not yet received his pred which I'm expecting this # to be higher when the pred kicks in

What dose should I give at amps tomorrow? Do I stay at the now 1.5u dose or do I go to 2 u?

He has either a kidney infection or UTI with fever...fever has come down...

I need guidance Jill ....I feel I'm making not sound decisions

Can you guide me? He doesn't follow the tight regulation...do I stay at 1.5 u bid for 4 cycles or go up?

I don't know what to do....tonight his appy wasn't good so back to syringe feeding and also he has peed twice on himself....so obviously the infection is severe and the Baytril needs time to kick in...yesterday he was given an injection of it...this am I gave pill form

(((((claudia)))))

it's difficult to offer dosing advice without an up-to-date spreadsheet. although, i truly understand why it hasn't been done. you must be exhausted.

my biggest concern given recent developments is rocket developing ketones. lack of appetite + not enough insulin + infection + dehydration equals a textbook recipe for developing ketones. unless rocket throws you some low numbers, it's generally suggested to shoot at least half the regular dose when you're able to test blood glucose at home (monitor).

i'd also suggest you routinely test his urine for ketones if you're not already.

you'll also want to try to get his normal amount of food + water into him everyday even if it means assisting him by syringe or finger-tip feeding.

as far as taking the dose up, in a situation like this it's not a problem to take the dose right back up. in other words, you do not have to increase in increments of 0.25u or 0.5u and hold for the customary 4 - 6 cycles.

however, a word of caution...
on occasion we've seen kitties who are on baytril suddenly clearing the infection. this causes numbers to drop without warning. it doesn't happen with every kitty every time, but we've seen it happen often enough to watch for a sudden decrease in insulin requirements.

hope this helps.

keeping you close in thought and prayer...
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 PMPS 356-video

Hi Claudia, Good advice from Jill.
I think Rocket looks pretty good in the feeding video. We continue to pray for his complete recovery and for strength for you. Please try to get some sleep tonight.

Hugs, many hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 PMPS 356-video

thank you Jill

I have placed a call into the ER vet...as Rocket has peed himself now 3 times....waiting to hear back and see if it's condusive to take him in...

his subq fluids have been upped from 100 cc sid to 100 cc bid....to help with this hydration issue

hard to test him for ketones if he has peed himself....

he tested negative for ketones at the vet yesterday....and his temp was over 41C....

yes it's a mess...i'm a mess i'm not gonna lie....

i've been adding a little more water to his food as well in the syringe...and i give him a little water soon after i finish syringe feeding....he has gone to drink water (with my help as he stops outside the tub so i place him inside and he drinks away)....

i will see where the night takes us...if he goes to the ER or if he stays here....i will try to do what's best for him and yes...ideally i would have his SS updated.....will try to recruit DH to do it again....

thanks Jill....i appreciate it lots....sometimes i think i'm going crazy....i question everything i do lately...
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 PMPS 356-video

oh claudia... i do understand. i came close to losing alex twice last year. it was difficult to think straight and i was beyond tired all the time. there was one time when i was sitting on the floor finger feeding alex and my timing was slightly off... she accidentally bit me. i lost it right then and there... sobbed like a baby. my finger hurt like the dickens... her canine tooth sliced sideways underneath my fingernail... blood everywhere. what a mess!

you're not going crazy. you're doing everything you can possibly do. it's so hard. so many of us have an idea what you're going through.
we're praying for both of you...
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket - OFF to the ER (10 pm MT)

though he has eaten...he is soaked in pee....so something else is going on

OFF to the ER

pray for us

pray for him
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket - OFF to the ER (10 pm MT)

(((Claudia))) sending all the prayers we can muster. You all are in our thoughts.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket - OFF to the ER (10 pm MT)

Oh poor Rocket and his ever lovin' bean. It is so incredibly terrible to be going through such turmoil. We are all sending the best and most positive energy to you and Rocket.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket - back from the ER

We are back from the ER. He didn't stay.....he is home...

i'm to increase his insulin tomorrow (this morning at amps)...vet thinks that the infection is causing him to pee himself...though he has gone to use the LB....

he gave them quite the workout and in turn he gave himself a workout...which to me it's good news...he was shaky as well which means he knew where he was...he starts shaking before he gets all cranky with them....i'm sooo tired....worried still....

the vet decided to send him home rather than being there....he said Rocket would do much better at home...being that he is now more alert...he ate on his own and drank water on his own when we got back...i gave the bupe (sort of late) and he is now sleeping in the spare room...he is wet from his pee....he keeps leaking out but the vet said to now watch for vomiting...if that happens then it is an ER issue....

i managed to test for ketones and it's negative....

prayers are much needed....he is not out of this one just yet....

off to try to nap for 1 hr.....
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket - back from the ER

Claudia, what an ordeal you had last night. I didn't even know you went to the ER until I checked your post this morning and I almost had a heart attack when I saw your post said "back from ER". So Rocket fought them a little? Wow -- that is a good sign even though the peeing continues to be something you are worried about. Nice that he was able to eat a little on his own and drink, too. I can't begin to imagine how tired and helpless you must feel. We are all here for you and praying extra hard. Hugs and more hugs and lots of love.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket - back from the ER

Hi Claudia, I just saw your post about the ER. It's good that you took him and that he was fighting with the vet. It shows that he has lots of spunk. I do hope that you can get this under control today. The antibiotics should begin to kick in soon. We are continuing to send our prayers and good thoughts.
(((((Claudia & Rocket)))))

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket - back from the ER

I'm glad to hear that he's starting to become more himself, and I'm continuing to send prayers. I pray for him to make a full and speedy recovery.

Just a curiousity question, did the vet or ER person test him for UTI issues? I think I remember having this issue with Jr. Mint (one of Blackie's sons) before it cleared up with antibiotics. You could put an old towel under him, and change it out when he messes himself.

Here's a {{{{{HUGS}}}}} for you both. Get some rest when you feel you need it. You need to take care of you, too.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket - back from the ER

Giving the vet a workout, being more alert, eating on his own...this is all sounding very good. Keep up the fight, Rocket!!
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket - back from the ER

Fiesty cars ROCK! \M/ Keep it up , Rocket! Tess has had a few control issues. I put a pee pad inside her folded fleece. The last time the vet suggested Cosequin, it helps w/ the bladder as well as joints. I hope it was just a UTI and the ABS clear things up.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket - back from the ER

what you and Rocket have gone through, I just want to hug you both.

But there is good news in that the ER thought Rocket was well enough to go home. He's a fighter and he'll see himself through this with your love and help.
Hang in there and try and get some sleep.
 
Re: 7/30 Rocket - back from the ER

Thank G-d Rocket is home with you...and that he has spunk again--Praying for his physical condition to
improve as he is the best fighter kitty Ihave ever seen--Praying so very hard--Comforting Hugs & Love from us! Greenest Healing Vines for Rocket!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top