Re: 7/30 Rocket AMPS 241 PMPS 356-video
replying to claudia's email here:
Not sure you know the latest with Rocket.
Question on dosing
He is now on Baytril at 8 am
Pred has been lowered from bid to sid at 7 pm
Currently insulin at 5:30am/pm
Last night (Friday) his PMPS was 99....with his lack of appy I gave a small token dose of 0.75u from the 4u he was before then tested +2.5=86, +5.5=113
This morning AMPS =241 (gave only 1 u as I've been syringe feeding him)
+6= 311
PMPS=356 (here I gave 1.5u)
Keeping in mind that at pmps tonight he had not yet received his pred which I'm expecting this # to be higher when the pred kicks in
What dose should I give at amps tomorrow? Do I stay at the now 1.5u dose or do I go to 2 u?
He has either a kidney infection or UTI with fever...fever has come down...
I need guidance Jill ....I feel I'm making not sound decisions
Can you guide me? He doesn't follow the tight regulation...do I stay at 1.5 u bid for 4 cycles or go up?
I don't know what to do....tonight his appy wasn't good so back to syringe feeding and also he has peed twice on himself....so obviously the infection is severe and the Baytril needs time to kick in...yesterday he was given an injection of it...this am I gave pill form
(((((claudia)))))
it's difficult to offer dosing advice without an up-to-date spreadsheet. although, i truly understand why it hasn't been done. you must be exhausted.
my biggest concern given recent developments is rocket developing ketones. lack of appetite + not enough insulin + infection + dehydration equals a textbook recipe for developing ketones. unless rocket throws you some low numbers, it's generally suggested to shoot
at least half the regular dose when you're able to test blood glucose at home (monitor).
i'd also suggest you routinely test his urine for ketones if you're not already.
you'll also want to try to get his normal amount of food + water into him everyday even if it means assisting him by syringe or finger-tip feeding.
as far as taking the dose up, in a situation like this it's not a problem to take the dose right back up. in other words, you do not have to increase in increments of 0.25u or 0.5u and hold for the customary 4 - 6 cycles.
however, a word of caution...
on occasion we've seen kitties who are on baytril suddenly clearing the infection. this causes numbers to drop without warning. it doesn't happen with every kitty every time, but we've seen it happen often enough to watch for a sudden decrease in insulin requirements.
hope this helps.
keeping you close in thought and prayer...