7/31 Radar -he's eating normally!!- pmps 159, 181

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan Radar (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday we had a break through and Radar returned to eating normally.

He was hungry this morning and ate his first and second breakfast like normal. :cat::) His plus 2 number is a food spike because of the timing of the second breakfast. It appears to me that he is not bouncing from those really low numbers on Saturday. I hope Mr. Pancreas continues to be increasingly comfortable with blues and greens as this would be a great way for me to start my new school year.

He doesn't seem to be in pain although he is a master of deception so I'm watching closely. Only 1.5 days to go until his dental surgery.:nailbiting:
 
I think I may have been too eager for him to eat and gave too much of the TikiCat Velvet mousse..... and I may have upset his tummy. :( There has been no barfing and I have not yet checked the LB. I have given 2 installments of SEB to ease the situation so he doesn't stop eating again. He did eat a normal lunch and his +6 was not too bad with a 217. He is now happily taking an after lunch bath under the bed and I'm guessing he will take a nap next.

Ahhhh the life of a cat is so very leisurely...
 
Have you been giving him any bupe or ondansetron? Good to hear he is eating something. T-2 to dental. :)
 
Have you been giving him any bupe or ondansetron? Good to hear he is eating something. T-2 to dental. :)
We have been giving meds to him as it appears he needs it. The 0.2 ml of bupe made him very spacey and disoriented so the next dose will be smaller to see if we can take the edge off the pain but keep him from falling. I'm thinking of trying 0.1 next time which will be in a couple of hours. He has continued to eat well today so he hasn't needed a dose of ondansetron. I just need to keep the eating going and make him as comfortable as possible
 
It's great he is eating without tummy meds. :) Bupe dosing is usually a bit of an experiment.
 
It's great he is eating without tummy meds. :) Bupe dosing is usually a bit of an experiment.
I think the SEB I've been giving him has really helped.:):):) Thanks for the reassurance about the bupe needing experimenting... The vet's original dose was 0.4 which made him really disoriented. I thought cutting the dose in half would be enough. I really didn't mean to overdose my sweet kitty... poor little guy... he just stares into space and looks like he's in danger of tipping over. :(
 
I just did Radar's preshot test and .... he's at 159 which I think is the lowest I've ever shot him... I have NOT fed yet... I'm stalling. Although he is clearly confused. I will test again in a few min to see if he's going up or down.... or maybe a wonky test strip??
 
You've shot in the 180's before, which is within meter variance of 159. On this forum, especially with TR, we say you only need to post for help if you are under 150. If he's confused, sounds like he's interested in food. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top