? 7/31-Post DKA Millie AMPS 129. Just had decrease, numbers still low.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just counted my bg test strip and only have
Will he test BGs and Ketones?
Yes, but he'll have to go to work right after, so probably just once.

Also, I only have 8 strips left for today! I received a new pack last week but used them up with all the recent testing. What to do for today?????
 
I fed and shot. I am going online to find feline diabetes supplies in NYC. I may call her vet and ask if they will sell me some until my Amazon order arrives.
 
My goodness, Sylvia!! Wonderful progress! :D

I suggest that you buy a human meter and 100 strips for it (Walmart ReliOn Micro is one often mentioned here) and have your husband use it while you're away. Everyone here understands human meter numbers. Worst case is that your SS will auto colour a BG number lime green at 68 instead of below 50. He can likely go in and manually change the colour for the benefit of viewers of your SS. Put a distinct divider bar on your SS and label it with the info about the human meter.

Who knows? You might decide you like the economy of the human meter and will save the AT for vet curves!
 
My goodness, Sylvia!! Wonderful progress! :D

I suggest that you buy a human meter and 100 strips for it (Walmart ReliOn Micro is one often mentioned here) and have your husband use it while you're away. Everyone here understands human meter numbers. Worst case is that your SS will auto colour a BG number lime green at 68 instead of below 50. He can likely go in and manually change the colour for the benefit of viewers of your SS. Put a distinct divider bar on your SS and label it with the info about the human meter.

Who knows? You might decide you like the economy of the human meter and will save the AT for vet curves!
I have the Precision Xtra meter and strips (I bought for ketones and they were the wrong strips). Can we use those? He just isn't going to test the way I do.......
 
I have the Precision Xtra meter and strips (I bought for ketones and they were the wrong strips). Can we use those? He just isn't going to test the way I do.......
I think that meter's strips give a human BG result, right? If you have enough of them, why not. I'd still put a divider on your SS to separate that data from your AT data.
 
Last edited:
I think that meter's strips give a human BG result, right? If you have enough of them, why not. I'dstill put a divider on your SS to separate that data from your AT data.
Yes.

I guess my concern was fro today, since I only have 8 strips and I shot low. But I called her vet and they have a new box they will sell me. I'm heading over now so I have the strips for later today to test her. The office is 30 minutes away and I have to get dressed so I'll be off here for a little bit. Jut want to be ready for later!
 
I'm a bit confused with Millie's numbers today. Her AMPS was 129 and I thought I was going to have to deal with low numbers for the rest of the day. I was running out of supplies so I left early to pick up more testing strips to make sure I had them. I tested before I left at +1, she was 172 (she had eaten her regular food of CORE Wellness, some LC and a little lower MC, 10% carb). When I got back I tested her at +3, she was 175. Now at +4 she is 183. I only gave her a small amount of food this morning in case I had to feed to get her numbers up. Normally she has a snack about now, should I wait in case she does go lower?

I am trying to see what her new dose is doing so there are no surprises when I am gone later in the week (leave Thursday early morning); there will be no one here to monitor her during the day when I'm away. Want to leave her in a safe position.
 
Hi Sylvia, Feed her like you normally would. Just make sure she doesn't eat 2 hours before her next shot. Every cat is different, her numbers are actually pretty flat today, which is good. She is probably getting adjusted to the new dose. Let see how her PM cycle is. Nice blue morning that is good.
 
It quiet today, so hopefully there will be more people on tonight. I wish I could help more about when you go away, but since I don't have any experience with DKA it would be best that someone who is familiar with that provide you with advice. Will DH use the spread sheet? cause the colors will help him determine if she is too low or high?
 
It quiet today, so hopefully there will be more people on tonight. I wish I could help more about when you go away, but since I don't have any experience with DKA it would be best that someone who is familiar with that provide you with advice. Will DH use the spread sheet? cause the colors will help him determine if she is too low or high?
Thanks for your concern. The hubs is not going to use the spread sheet or log on. I do have a sheet at home that I know he will fill out the basic info. I'm just wondering if for safety's sake if she continues to drop should we reduce her before I leave. I'm worried about Hypo while I am away.
 
Thanks for your concern. The hubs is not going to use the spread sheet or log on. I do have a sheet at home that I know he will fill out the basic info. I'm just wondering if for safety's sake if she continues to drop should we reduce her before I leave. I'm worried about Hypo while I am away.
I am not sure, because she had DKA in the past. @Wendy&Neko @Chris & China @rhiannon and shadow (GA) Let see what the more experience folks suggest. Since DH may not test as much, let see it it is ok to reduce the dose while you are away. I don't think you will need to reduce it before you go, but you should make sure that you identify a Low Number where DH should not shoot or give half I would think. Let see what others suggests.
 
I am trying to see what her new dose is doing so there are no surprises when I am gone later in the wee
The only way to do that is to get some more evening tests in. It looks like she went a bit lower last night and is bouncing today. I strongly suggest a before bed test each night before you go so you can get a good idea how low this dose is taking her.

The day before you go, post here and ask for a petsitter dose. That's effectively what DH will be for you. What do you mean by DH will only do the basics. Does that include any blood testing or ketone testing?
 
clarify a little more for me and the others here....

will hubby test, shoot and then go to work for 8 hours, less hours?

and if i understand right, he will write the numbers on your page at home.... just not deal with the online part.....
 
The only way to do that is to get some more evening tests in. It looks like she went a bit lower last night and is bouncing today. I strongly suggest a before bed test each night before you go so you can get a good idea how low this dose is taking her.

The day before you go, post here and ask for a petsitter dose. That's effectively what DH will be for you. What do you mean by DH will only do the basics. Does that include any blood testing or ketone testing?
He will do the AM & Pm pre-shot testing and shoot.

Will get the evening +2 and whatever else I can. Good idea to post the day before.
 
my observation for you to write down for him.... or remind him when you talk on the phone while you are away....
is if he happens to catch a black number, then he needs to shave the dose by at least 0.5 u.....

looking at a 7/29 and the couple of days earlier..... Millie goes currently shoots up to the black floor if she visits the green floor.
And with ketone possibilities, insulin is still necessary.

Was there an infection before when she was having ketone issues? And has that been resolved. I see mention of an antibiotic early in the month.
Did they actually diagnose what the infection was?
If they didn't, I would try to convince the vet to revisit that issue before you travel.
 
my observation for you to write down for him.... or remind him when you talk on the phone while you are away....
is if he happens to catch a black number, then he needs to shave the dose by at least 0.5 u.....

looking at a 7/29 and the couple of days earlier..... Millie goes currently shoots up to the black floor if she visits the green floor.
And with ketone possibilities, insulin is still necessary.

Was there an infection before when she was having ketone issues? And has that been resolved. I see mention of an antibiotic early in the month.
Did they actually diagnose what the infection was?
If they didn't, I would try to convince the vet to revisit that issue before you travel.
You're the first person to say to decrease by .5U. Is this usual or is it the 'caretaker dose'? Just wondering......

Millie did not have fever last time she was in the hospital so they never resolved the issue. Unfortunately, it won't be resolved before I leave the day after tomorrow (her vet is on vacation but we do have a follow-up with the emergency hospital the week I return).
 
You're the first person to say to decrease by .5U. Is this usual or is it the 'caretaker dose'? Just wondering......
I think the idea is that Millie will bounce very high to a black PS if she's had a green number previously. Since there won't be any monitoring during the day a dose reduction ("caretaker dose") might be a safety measure to consider. I'm not sure what reduction would be best. @rhiannon and shadow (GA) ?
 
I think the idea is that Millie will bounce very high to a black PS if she's had a green number previously. Since there won't be any monitoring during the day a dose reduction ("caretaker dose") might be a safety measure to consider. I'm not sure what reduction would be best. @rhiannon and shadow (GA) ?
I just posted a new thread, could we continue on that one (don't know how to link them). TY
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top