Lisa & Oberon
Member Since 2020
yesterday's convo
Pretty sure last night was a furshot; I didn't smell anything but it just didn't feel like it got in, and it doesn't seem like numbers dropped overnight at all. This morning was fine, though, and at +4 he's right about where he was yesterday at this time.
The vet finally called back today. I told him that yesterday I started giving 0.5 U twice a day to see how it would go. What he'd like me to do instead is test every morning, and if BG is over 300 give 1 U. If BG is under 300, skip the shot. Test in the evening if he got insulin. He thinks I may end up only needing to give insulin maybe 2-3 times per week. Realistically, though, Oberon has been at or near 300 nearly every day, so he'd probably be getting it just about daily, and I've read that 1U once a day is a (maybe less preferable) alternative approach to 0.5 U twice a day, so it may really kind of all amount to the same thing. And since my syringes are marked in units, not half units, it would be easier to be consistent about the amount. Thoughts?
Pretty sure last night was a furshot; I didn't smell anything but it just didn't feel like it got in, and it doesn't seem like numbers dropped overnight at all. This morning was fine, though, and at +4 he's right about where he was yesterday at this time.
The vet finally called back today. I told him that yesterday I started giving 0.5 U twice a day to see how it would go. What he'd like me to do instead is test every morning, and if BG is over 300 give 1 U. If BG is under 300, skip the shot. Test in the evening if he got insulin. He thinks I may end up only needing to give insulin maybe 2-3 times per week. Realistically, though, Oberon has been at or near 300 nearly every day, so he'd probably be getting it just about daily, and I've read that 1U once a day is a (maybe less preferable) alternative approach to 0.5 U twice a day, so it may really kind of all amount to the same thing. And since my syringes are marked in units, not half units, it would be easier to be consistent about the amount. Thoughts?
